We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
Nearby Hotels
$363
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$248
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$155
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
$158
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$181
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$173
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$247
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
306
187
53
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
187
53
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantoutdoor poolclub millesimeresort hotelnice getawayfamily staycationgolden weekf b managerthis lovely hotelbasic amenitiesexecutive floorduring happy hourvery pleasant stayfront officemain lobbybig hotelan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 578 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We came here during the 3 day holiday weekend in China. We paid for an upgrade to the executive level and with it comes the use of executive lounge and breakfast and it was worth it. The location is good, an hour drive away from Shanghai city center and hustle and bustle of a big city. What impressed us the most is the HUGE outdoor pool. It was too cold to swim outside when we stayed, but we're definitely coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sdekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear An,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Sheshan during a short weekend break out of Shanghai, it is a beautiful luxury hotel. We got the chance to meet the Front Desk manager Javier, who is doing his best to make all the guests'experience as enjoyable as possible, and indeed we had a very pleasant stay. the hotel has good facilities (especially swimming pools) and even a small beach to enjoy during the summer time. the VIE restaurant has really delicious food with a great choice between Western/Chinese/Asian kitchens. All the staff in the hotel is very welcoming. Transportation from Shanghai is convenient, the hotel is 10 min walks from line 9 Sheshan station (1/2 hour subway to downtown Xujiahui area).

Room Tip: Pool view is better. In case you don't have the great "Sofitel MyBed", just ask for it, the housekeeper can arrange the additionnal matress for you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear WYQ,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one evening while on business travel in shanghai area. This was a wonderful hotel! I need to get back here and stay for a few days, or over a weekend while traveling. It was a very grand hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear TJ Ohio Cleveland,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comment, your satisfaction is always our pursuit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Shenshan soon.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm right now spending my second day in this resort. Although its winter time and I would recommend people to come here in spring or autumn, I must say its quite comfortable and nice. The ambience is quite relaxing and I would definitely come back with better weather when I find a good promotion.
The construction quality is above chinese standards but still lower than European ones... So let's see how the hotel ages. The morning buffet is not a ShangriLa but still quite good. All day dinning is a little small though and you may notice this when you see they had to take the public area in front of the restaurant to add more chairs.
Staff is really nice and polite.
Like I said, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Javier C,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your pleasant feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

I really appreciate that you enjoy your stay with us and your kind comment with your fully support drives us to do better and better.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for 3 times at weekends (and the 4th time is coming up soon) and I need to say we have a love-hate relationship with this hotel though it is getting slightly better with the new general manager. First the upside: The resort is located in Songjiang, a suburb of Shanghai about 15RMB by taxi from metro station. It is huge and I quite like the mediterrainean style architecture. One does feel relaxed here and it serves best as a weekend escape away from busy Shanghai. We have been staying at various rooms including Superior Room (so so), Junior suite (nice), Opera suite (very huge and very nice) due to upgrades from my Accor membership. The Superior room is relatively small and a bit worn down (probably due to high traffic). The suites are impeccable! The Junior suite is probably the right size for a couple and the Opera suite would be more suitable for family with kids. We always enjoy the executive lounge. One can have breakfast, afternoon tea or happy hour here. The selection is quite limited, but delicious. They serve wines, hot and soft drinks and warm/ cold snacks. Mostly it is very quiet here (except in summer when there are lots of families with kids) and one can enjoy sitting there and reading some foreign newspaper (very good!). There is also a restaurant at basement where they serve a wide and very good range of breakfast. The gym and the swimming pool are good sized and well equipped too. However, it is quite expensive to play table tennis or billard. In summer one use the outdoor pools and the sandy beach, but be aware of the crowds and the kids!
Now the downsides: Service. Being a 5 star hotel and Accor's top brand (and we have been to many Accor hotels such as Pullman, Grand Mercure, Mercure, Novotel, Ibis) and being a platinum Accor member one does expect some reasonable service here. Upgrades: The first time we have been offered a free upgrade and a late check-out (very good). The 2nd and 3rd time we have to negotiate with lobby staff and the managers. Also during our 2nd stay the hotel staff do not even know what the benefits of my membership are (such as free upgrades, fruit plate, late check-outs). We have been discussing this with their various staff (for over 1 hour!) until the Duty Manager (Thank you!) stepped in. Since our first stay we are not allowed to have any late check-outs (bad/ check-out time is 12 noon), while official check-in time is 3pm in the afternoon. In the Opera suite they have a coffee machine (nice!), but no coffee creamer (bad). We called house keeping several times, but it took them 2 hours! to get it delivered to my room! Another downside is the departure. Since the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, one needs a taxi for transportation and there are a lot of people using it after check-out. However, the concierge does organize it badly. There is no queue as such and people after us get in the taxi first?!???
Overall, nice hotel, but needs serious improvements on service. Hope it gets better upon next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crobbie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Crobbie2000,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your valuable feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

We have passed your comments to our management team and the concerned department, then, more professional training and relevant care will be developed, we try to improve our service and quality to ensure guests satisfaction. For more details If you do not mind dropping me a quick mail via H6329-GM2@sofitel.com, so that I can contact you personally, that would be highly appreciated.

I would like to apologize again for your unpleasant experience; we truly appreciate your patience and understanding. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve and achieve the best standards. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan soon again.

Best Regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews