We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST HOTEL I EVER BEEN IN ASIA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
Ranked #73 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been 3 days in the hotel and I have to say how amazing is!! The staff is outstanding, specially at Front office, Concierge and restaurant/bar.
There's an amazing gym with heated swimming pool, outdoor swimming pool and beach, ping pong room, billiard room, tennis court, jacuzzis, sauna, etc...
Incredible place located just 20 minutes from Shanghai where you
can breath fresh air and disconnect of everything. The rooms are spacious, perfectly set up with all kind of amenities and extremely cleans. If one day I'm going back to Shanghai, I have no doubt, Sofitel Sheshan Oriental will be my hotel, the only place in long time someone made me feel like in home.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Pikemaster84
Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience while recently staying at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.
I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for your most kind comments regarding our hotel facilities which were to your expectations.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with us and we hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sheshan.
Best Regards,
Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 596 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed overnight, arriving mid-day, where we checked in without any problem. Our room was very nice; spacious, light and very comfortable. The hotel is like a resort but with the bonus of it being half an hour away from downtown Shanghai by metro.

We stayed mid-week as we wanted a quiet get-away from the noise of the big city, and quiet it was. There were not many people around at all and there were times when it seemed we were the only people in the hotel! The staff were friendly, helpful and made our stay comfortable. It is clear that they are well trained.

The whole point of staying here is to sit on the (artificial) beach; it was very nice, with lots of running water around the place to make up for the lack of waves. All in all, we had great time; recommeneded if you want to go somewhere to recharge your batteries.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Luxury King Room; well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedig_1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Pedig_1791
Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience while recently staying at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.
It’s my pleasure to see that you were satisfied with our facilities and services and enjoy you stay.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental. I wish you a pleasant stay in our hotel in advance.
Best Regards,
Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for a week on business travel August 2012.
Quite a way from the city, but lovely hotel and grounds. Very resort-like atmosphere.
Rooms are large and well appointed. I was on the ground floor, had a nice patio overlooking the winding river portion of the pool. (Don't forget your bathing suit like I did...the pool is superb looking!)
Nice gym facilities. Meeting rooms are nice & large and fully staffed.
Breakfast buffet is outstanding with a fabulous array of choices, western and Chinese options.
Overall a great hotel. Only 2 minor complaints - 1) service for breakfast is quite slow, hard to get coffee & refills. 2) No on site shop, limited to water bottles from housekeeping - and no where close to walk to purchase anything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferRose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear JenniferRose8,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience, we have also taken note of your comments and the shortcomings you have mentioned are certainly not acceptable.
I have raised your concerns to the related department heads so that more care will be taken and the staff better trained. We try to improve our service speed and quality to ensure guest satisfaction.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

Best regards,
Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week and was very pleased. The room was very spacious, restaurants have a good selection of both Asian and Western food and the buffets were exceptional. Internet speed was great. Pools, beach, spa, playground for the kids, nice lounge area with bar as well. Geat place to stay for a resort type vacation but far from downtown Shanghai for those looking at sight seeing options. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear PatrickSD,

Greetings from Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental!

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for your most kind comments regarding our hotel’s staff services and facilities which were to your expectations. The hotel team certainly works very hard to keep all our guests comfortable and happy and you may be assured that nothing please us more, than to receive such kind comments from our guests and I shall be delighted to share yours with the team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

Best regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Last weekend I stayed 2 nights with my wife. The room was great; the staff was very welcoming and friendly. But we were so disappointed by the restaurant the service there.

How come the food was so bad?

First night we would like try the Mediterranean restaurant, but the staff told us that we have to wait for at least 45 min to have the food. Because of only 1 chef was cooking now. (But there were only 2 tables customer). So then we went to the Japanese restaurant. When we made the order, half of the menu was out of order. Ok then, fine! But what we got was not what we ordered and the quality was not expected. How ridiculous that the staff even asked me to pay 20 RMB for one glass of hot water.

Second day we try a la carte on the main restaurant, Croque-monsieur was the worst one that I have never had (looks like BLT but untoasted). The pasta bolognaise was from the buffet!!! The meat was too dry and hard.

In the evening, we tried the Chinese restaurant. Personally I think it was the "best meal" in 2 days, but no cold beer!!!

For this level of hotel we was expecting better quality food.

I hope they will find a decent chef SOON!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philmo0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Philmo0605,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience and we have also taken note of your comments and the shortcomings you have mentioned are certainly not acceptable.

I am most concerned that you are not satisfied with some of our services and facilities. We are working hard on improving the culinary foreign section. The specific matters that you have pointed out, I have raised with the concerned department heads so that more care will be taken and the staff trained accordingly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

Best regards,
Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masami_fujiwara
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Let us tell you a fairytale:

“Two young women arrive in Sheshan and enter an outstanding palace. Their host warmly greets them and escorts them to their wonderful room. The two young women stay dumbfound for a few seconds, run to the window and discover an amazing swimming pool. Wow! Orchids perfume and decorate the room. Small pastries are here, on the table, arousing their weaknesses for the sweet things! Their host wishes them a Magnifique stay, experiencing the life in the palace like two princesses…

A few steps further and the two friends jump into the pool for an evening swim under the stars. Wow! All these emotions make them hungry so the young women dress up with their most luxurious dresses to go and enjoy a wonderful evening…

They arrive at a traditional Japanese dining room. They sit, look around them and discover a lovely place, view on the swim pool on one side and view on the Chef cooking tasty shrimps, on the other side. They savored delicious homemade sushis freshly prepared with passion by the Chef, tasty scallops cooked to perfection and enjoy a full-favored cabernet sauvignon from South Africa. The evening goes well for the two young women. They talk, talk, laugh, feel already like princesses and enjoy a wonderful time in the Sheshan palace.

Tired, the two young women go back to their bedroom, fall asleep on the most comfortable bed, feeling like a cocoon; such a peaceful place to relax and rest, dreaming about this fantastic evening.

The sun rises up into the blue sky, perfect moment for the young women to enjoy the most amazing breakfast, seated on their terrace, contemplating the view on the quiet pool, feeling like two princesses in paradise... Warm croissant, warm crispy French baguette, delicious jams, egg, bacon, sun, blue sky, quiet… what’s else is needed? A swim and a relaxing sun bath! Noon, perfect moment for it!

The two young women jump into the pool a couple of meters away and then sit half in the water reading their favorite love stories. The place is very peaceful; no one is around. It is exactly what they were looking for, ideal afternoon resting and forgetting the other details of their life, like if they enter another world…

The sun sets on Shanghai, giving another opportunity to enjoy the life in this palace. The lounge is the best place to get the evening off to a beautiful start with fancy cocktails. The two young women continue the evening visiting the palace, amazed! Marble, gorgeous art frame, high ceilings, terraces, patios, all worthy of the most famous palaces… they finish the visit at the Mediterranean fine-dining room, relishing tasteful al dente pastas, mouthwatering desserts and macaroons.

After their last night in this heavenly palace, the two young women leave back to the downtown Shanghai, their mind full of Magnifique memories and a remaining feeling that they were two princesses for 2 days… Wow!”

This is not a simple fairytale. This is actually REALITY! This is Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental!

Room Tip: The pool rooms are amazing, definitely the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank AurelieSWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear AurelieSWF,
Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience while recently staying at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.
I am very pleased to see that you and your friend were satisfied with our facilities and enjoyed your stay. It is my pleasure to share your comments on our hotel employees’ efficiency and working attitude with the team, who exemplified the standard of caring, personal service for which we are striving.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.
Best Regards,
Beat Klarer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Sofitel Shanghai Hongqiao
#87 of 5,159 in Shanghai
118 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#62 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,351 reviews
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#74 of 5,159 in Shanghai
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental

Address: Crossing of Jiasong South Road and Sichen Road | 3388 Sichen road, Sijing Town, Songjiang District, Shanghai 201601, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#71 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $108 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 15 minutes drive from National Exhibition Center and 20 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport, the elegant Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is located conveniently in the Sheshan Mountain National Tourism Resort. Elegant Mediterranean architecture nestles amidst a lush landscape and meandering lagoons. Just a short drive from the city centre sits one of the ultimate Shanghai luxury hotels in a setting that eases guests into tranquility. An international hotel that blends French hospitality standards with Chinese influences Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental accommodates business and leisure travellers in 368 luxurious rooms including 53 suites and 7 opulent three- to five-bedroom villas. The resort and conference hotel features the most amazing swimming pools in the city including 4400 sqm2 of freeform outdoor pools and 2 man-made beaches. Guests in the resorts Luxury Room Pool Terrace accommodation enjoy direct access to the pool from their terrace. Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is a desired conference and event venue with a total of 3500 sqm2 meeting space including a 1200 sqm2 pillar-less ballroom and 16 meeting rooms. A variety of outdoor event options are as well available. The resort is also is a favorite weekend getaway for Shanghai residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing