We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of Ou MaLi Restaurant - CLOSED

Ou MaLi Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went early on a Saturday. They were setting up for a private party so sat us upstairs in an empty room with 3 tables and a tv, where they ignored us for about 15 minutes. Finally got a Kilkenny - excellent. Menu was eclectic - irish, mexican and indian (samosas), but we decided not to stay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Pretty but disappointed”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went on a Friday night to experience a good Irish Bar , the atmosphere was good , the Guinness was fabulous great quality and taste BUT the Irish music was American country and western and this was disappointing and let the whole feeling down!! I am sure there are some good Irish musicians in all of Shanghai.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, lots of nooks crannies”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is interesting bar, sports bar, band nights and food. First off, the decor is beautiful with hard wood foolrs and exposed wooden beams. Then there are all of these littlle, almost private rooms that are extremely cozy and great for a date. Also, there are about five different bar areas. A good beer selection. In addition there is a nice, spacious courtyard dining area at the bound level and also a few deck tiers for outdoor dining.

Finally food and service. Although the menu is small the food is good and has generous portions. This is a restaurant where every dish is brought out when it is prepared. So, sometimes people are finished eating and others have not received their meal. Very typical in Shanghai. Usually we leave happy and full.

Now, for my one big compliant. We have all been there. The wait staff that pretends they do not see you signaling them for ketchup, a drink refill, a simple dining request. The wait staff at this restaurant is brilliant at this.

We will eat here again. Maybe tonight. It is cold here today. The thought of their cozy rooms has me thinking.......

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good sports bar”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here with friends for sandwiches and beer. I had a black and blue burger with fries and a pint of guinness. My friends had burgers also with a local draft and Budweiser. Plenty of sports on TV and other varied foreigners like me.

Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice sport bar”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

well, been in town for ages, O'malley stay one of the best sports bar, with live all sort of sports programs and good happy hours drinks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ou MaLi Restaurant also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing