We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tapas in Shanghai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ElWilly

ElWilly
Ranked #30 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Bund
Description: “el Willy” cuisine focuses in Spanish traditional, contemporary tapas & rices with a fun twist. The structure of the menu follows the Chinese Yin Yang structure of a meal. All the food is designed to be shared family style & to be eaten comfortably with chopticks.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas in Shanghai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Located just off the Bund, El Willy's was a good option for a business dinner. Dark and atmospheric - the set menu we opted for had a bit of everything and the ingredients seemed excellent. Service was a very attentive. Recommened

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    112
    37
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“2 out of 2! My favourite Spanish restaurant .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We love Movida in Melbourne and El Willy's makes my mouth water just thinking about the food. It's fresh, its tasty, it's clean and well presented, its quirky and Willy is character worth meeting. WE had lunch there in April 2013 and pre booked way ahead for dinner in October 2013. We took a fried with us and it did not disappoint. We all left satisfied. The oysters are divine as are the Garlic prawns served in a sardine tin, the sardines are excellent and leave you wanting more as does the special mini toast served to us. The mixed dessert was a great tip offered to us by our waitress. look do yourself a favour and pre book a table late in the afternoon and eat your day away watching the barges cruise down the river. We will return and recommend to everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went to El Willy's with a group of 8. The restraurant is lovely inside and has a fantastic view of the Shanghai Pudong skyline across the Bund and river. The staff was attentive but not overbearing. The food was excellent. We ordered many dishes and all shared them. The steak dishes and the calamari were my favorite. They have an excellent wine selection of varying costs. It is not cheap but you should enjoy the experience if you choose to go...we did.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank badmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful scenery, and lovely atmosphere. Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is one of the most popular Spanish restaurants in Shanghai.
Because it has moved to Waitan, along to the HuangPu river, it has newly acquired the beautiful scenery from the windows other than good food and lovely atmosphere which it already has had.
So, this restaurant is almost always crowded by American, European and Asian people. You should make a reservation before visiting there. The staffs on the phone speak English.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food - quite expensive for the city average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The place is great, with an amazing view enriched by beautiful big windows. Food is excellent for quality but do not expect big portions. Excellent for a cozy dinner of a couple of small group of friends. If you are 5-6 persons or more, you have to order every Tapas double otherwise there is not enought for everyone to taste, but it worth. Select 3-4 of them in double portion and then go for a main. If you choose wine be ready to have a bill more than 600RMb each. Main negative note: if you pay with credit card it is possible Bank of China does not work and waitress are not very good in using POS and its issues. We were 9 people all paying with cards and we spend almost one hour waiting there becasue their POS did not worked with Bank of China ( and we are in CHina actually......).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ElWilly also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to ElWilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing