We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good finding ....”
Review of ElWilly

ElWilly
Ranked #32 of 17,009 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Bund
Description: “el Willy” cuisine focuses in Spanish traditional, contemporary tapas & rices with a fun twist. The structure of the menu follows the Chinese Yin Yang structure of a meal. All the food is designed to be shared family style & to be eaten comfortably with chopticks.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good finding ....”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Pleasant ambiance. However, it could be a little too noisy.
Food is very good, with a great selection of tapas.
Reasonable prices.
Recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaCammisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    124
    37
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
1,200 reviews
932 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,421 helpful votes
“Happy Spanish cuisine”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our fourth visit this year, but this time was under the banner of Restaurant Week.

The soup starter was okay, but we liked the Catalan canneloni with truffle, though the cheese was quite strong. We both had the egg on toast, which was excellent. My wife had the oxtail stew, which was a nice interpretation of the traditional stew and was not too heavy. I opted for the BBQ Atlantic blue fish and regretted it - the fish was mackeral-like and tasted fishy. The dish was also very salty.

Service was good throughout. It was quite noisy as there was a big group of mothers with babies nearby, but it was bearable. The restaurant was a little hot, and perhaps they should have kept a few windows open.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing dining experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service was great, awesome view of the pearl tower at night, great food and drinks too. The prices are a bit high, but definitly worth the price. Looking forward for the next chance to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDNbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too expensive for average food and service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I visited El Willy during a vacation in China and i was a bit disappointed. Although the place at first looked very nice, food was average, service extremely slow and inattentive (maybe also due to the fact that the place was extremely crowded), place very loud and expensive for the quality of the food/service. The following day my boyfriend and I tried Mr and Mrs Bund and had a far better experience which I totally recommend (see my review there).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food!! Terrible service!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Came in and immediately had bad service. Sat us in the smoking section without even asking. Then, manager walks by without even acknowledging that all my cups were empty, wine and water. Servers were inattentive. They moved us to a non-smoking table but the server forgot to tell us where the table was, left us wandering around with our wine in hand. The food on the otherhand was phenomenal. Cam out at a good pace and was of the utmost quality. So beware that the service is terrible, including the management but the chefs in the kitchen make this place a must visit. Try the wet paella. Will not regret it. I probably will not return due to the horrible service but worth trying at least once for the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ElWilly also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to ElWilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing