We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fake Indonesian Food”
Review of Bali Laguna

Bali Laguna
Ranked #256 of 16,891 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jing'an
shanghai
1 review
“Fake Indonesian Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

As an indonesian that just come to work in shanghai 5 months ago, i have tried 2 indonesian restaurants in the city before coming to bali laguna. have read all the reviews, bad and good. went there last week. wow...what an experience! the location was great but overcrowded. the service rushed and untrained (i was served a main dish before the appetizer), the price...a joke. as expensive as a 5 star hotel. but that one i have prepared myself (900RMB for 2 persons) but most of all : fake indonesian food. it is basically bad chinese food sold as indonesian food. there should be a law forbidding poeple to claim this kind of thing! as an indonesian, i am quite pissed as we may not have the best food in the world, but we have good food and original. but my review may not change a thing. it still will be a crowded :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koki388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    55
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious and Exquisite”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Bali Laguna is around the corner from my apartment, and I go there all the time. It's a great place. The ambience is perfect (especially the first floor), and the food is excellent and cheap (by western standards). I enjoy the stir fried wok noodles and the spring rolls. It's recommended to get a reservation, just to ensure that you'll get a good table. The staff is all very kind and professional, and mostly everyone speaks english. The menus are in english and in Chinese. It's a beautiful restaurant tucked into Jing'an. Enjoy it! I wish they delivered.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGabtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing setting, fantastic food”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location and design of the restaurant are spectacular. The food was lovely and the wine was good too. Try to get a table near one of the windows, as it i well worth looking over the lake.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tianjinfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic place by night, fantastic indonesian cuisine”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

A one of a kind in Shanghai, with exceptionally good food.
WAiters speak good english and the food....wait for it....EXCELLENT!
Many dishes available and pictures showing the delicious food. The park where it is situated is also a visit worth espescially at daytime

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chr-Stender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location is lovely, in Jing An park. However the service and food were disappointing for the price. The drinks are expensive, even by Shanghai standards. Went here for the last night of our trip, a special treat, but disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lonipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Laguna also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Bali Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing