We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible management”
Review of Charmant

Charmant
Ranked #3,212 of 16,954 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Description: Awarding winning full scale dine-in restaurant serving authentic Taiwanese cuisine. Outlets in Shanghai, Wuhan and Hefei.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible management”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Came here for takeout was seated to wait for my order with a view of the kitchen window where food comes out. The man working behind the window was visibly drunk and disgustingly flirting with the waitresses. I saw two women handling food picking their teeth with their fingers and then carrying food to tables. This restaurant used to be of the better in shanghai but seems to have slipped into the normal lackadaisical poor management that this city is known for... Avoid this place and stIck with places without drunks in the kitchen and dentally challenged waitresses delivering food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank idahuazhouren83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Tasty & Healthy Taiwanese Cuisine”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very authentic taiwanese dishes I must say..been watching taiwanese food show and can't wait to savour them! Great to know there is such an authentic taiwanese restaurant in Shanghai...yum!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8003999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Choose the right courses”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been there 2 times. The first time we ordered a lot of dishes to try different things. Some were very good while other were actually not that good. The second time we only ordered the dishes that we liked. Gong-Bao Chicken, Sichuan Style Beef and Shrimp fried rice with pineapple are our favorite dishes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank European88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not seen at its best?”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

After reading the reviews we were quite looking forward to this. At 220 Rmb for two it is difficult to be overly critical but overall we were a bit disappointed. Brocolli came steamed rather than stir-fried but was good. Deep fried oysters and the rice dish were good. Duck very disappointing. Staff seemed weary. Great flowers!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fobury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I was taken here while visiting on business by a family friend, a 10 year resident of Shanghai, and was very impressed. Generally I am not a fan of Taiwanese food, but every dish she ordered was light and tasty. Perhaps the pancake wraps were a little on the fragile side, but once you had shoveled them into your mouth with the yummy filling, they performed well! Three of us had an excellent early Friday evening dinner, with about 8 dishes, a bottle of reasonable wine, a few other drinks and two monstrous ice cream desserts for a grand total of 625 RMB. Very satisfied.
No doubt it's the sort of place that long time ex-pats will tell you isn't as good as it used to be, but for a visitor it could easily be one of the highlights of your stay in Shanghai.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boguespierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charmant also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Charmant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing