We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well prepared food, excellent service, great decor”

ShangHai Ye ShangHai (Xintiandi)
Ranked #92 of 16,926 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Xintiandi
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well prepared food, excellent service, great decor”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

great restaurant in Xintindi for business lunches. Fairly quiet and service is excellent. The food is well prepared

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsbmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    121
    42
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dining out in Style”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Spent a few days in Shanghai recently and ventured out looking for restaurants in the Xintiandi area. Stumbled upon Ye Shanghai. Warm welcome. Great selection of food. Not cheap but worth the premium

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeeBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Much better than before”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

7th or 8th trip to this old faithful spot, they have cleaned and shined it up nicely. We sat right across from a gracious Shanghai lady next to her piano , bursting out local hits. Food was a strong mixture of Shanghai favourites with some Peking Duck to please the visitors. Very fresh ingredients and the attentive service that it didn't have 2-3 years ago. To survive this long at Xintiandi, you have to do a few things right , and they are ,.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asia6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We ended up ordering way too much food, but we enjoyed every single bite and the red wine I had was amazingly good too,

My friends/colleagues drank Chinese beer, but as I don't drink beer I was worried that the wine wouldn't be good but it was and it complimented the food we had ordered.

We ended up being the last customers to leave the restaurant, this is how much we enjoyed the food.

All the stories I'd heard about being warry of Chinese food, disappeared, I can only say - try everything!!! There's for sure great food in Shanghai.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank genocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A small taste of Shanghai”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Located in Xin Tiande with dishes that reflect Shanghai cuisine but adapted to be more western in style. Might be a good starting point for first time visitor to China to get your pallet on the right track for what is yet to come but for an experienced Shanghai restaurant diner it will be a disappointment. I ordered a bottle of wine which they brought to the table already OPENED! When I tasted it, it was clear the bottle had turned and it was garbage. I asked for another bottle and was told if they open it I must take the bottle, good or not. I refused and just enjoyed the so-so dinner cuisine with a cup of tea. So beware when selecting wines, insist they open it at the table and you are given an opportunity to taste it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_warriorXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ShangHai Ye ShangHai (Xintiandi) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to ShangHai Ye ShangHai (Xintiandi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing