We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$188
$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$436
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$146
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$154
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$101
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
33
67
20
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
67
20
5
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 126 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a double room. Although a bit pricey, we were pleasantly surprised with one of the best room conditions we had during our trip to China: spacious room, nicely decorated, very clean, new bathroom. Location is also great, 5 min walk from the Bund and Nanjing street. Staff is ok, but not the friendliest I've seen. The only drawback: they close the kitchen at 9pm, which is a bit too early compared to other places.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here in November 2011 so hopefully this is still relevant (I did write a review earlier but it has disappeared...)

This was the best hostel experience I've ever had. I admittedly probably did get lucky and happened to stay at a time when a heap of other solo travellers were there, as the place was incredibly sociable and I made some great friends during my stay (never had to spend a night alone!). Just to give an idea - One night it was one of the guests birthday, so the whole hostel put on a party for him downstairs then we all went out afterwards.

The place is spotless with a nice decor, great bar and perfect location. The beds were better than many hostels... I had a room with a window, though while it was noisy from early in the morning (not fun after going out the night before...), the windowless rooms seemed a little claustrophobic. The staff were also super lovely and helpful. Can't rate it highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsKatiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent location right next to the Bund, the staff spoke good English, and the communal bar/cafe area was relatively inexpensive. Each bunk had a locker along with a light and plugswitch but the rooms were very cramped, there was air-conditioning but it had been locked to a very weak level so the place was hot. Despite these issues it is hard to expect much better for such a cheap price, and considering that I would say that Mingtown hiker was excellent value. Would certainly recommend for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here on 3 separate occasions whilst living in China, it has a great location- literally 3 minutes away from The Bund. The staff are all lovely and smiley, often remembering us each time. The food is tasty- very handy for breakfasts. The sofas downstairs are class for meeting everyone, we would often just chill downstairs whilst having a drink.
I stayed in both the dorms and privates, which were both very comfortable, in the dorms, you have your own light and plug by your bed.
The showers are clean, and have hot water.

When I next get back to Shanghai, I'll definatley be staying back at Mingtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmac92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

In the days of Shanghai being the most dreaded of sailor ports sailors were recruited by getting them passed out drunk. They awakened to a working gig on a ship bound for Shanghai. From Western China I booked a flight from Shanghai back to Kunming and got on a sleeper train to Shanghai, thinking this trip was rough and the only way I would come back is if I hadn't seen Shanghai. Woke up in Shanghai to discover the return flight was cancelled because C-Trip wanted all kinds of passport/visa info within 24 hours that there was no way of getting to them while on a train. Arrived and left 2 days early, but that was mostly because I had to take a hardseat train back to Kunming. The Bund is tourist ridden, bride photo territory. Asked hostel staff and roommate if there was a light show tunnel on the Bund. Yes but hard to describe exactly where. Asked a cop on the Bund beat. "Mayo." No such thing. Not allowed. The light tunnel is a light show under the river in a tram type car but you know that. It is one of the big attractions. Plus I was used to seeing other Westerners, one a day. Suddenly the place is swarming with them and forget a quick info exchange. Food mall has good vegetable steamed buns. Lots of fruit stands. Lit up heel wheels can be had for 20 yen. Hostel was fine. Clean showers, comfortable upper bunk bed, crowded room, easy location, watched the staff quickly get a couple with a sick baby a taxi to a hospital, good street food, street toys, but do not imagine you have to see Shanghai, 2 days were plenty. China was smart to herd the masses of crazy, lost tourists into one neighborhood.

Room Tip: You are here because it is cheap and the location is easy. Accept it for what it is.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mothnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews