We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent rooms, nice cafe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
Ranked #35 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at more mingtown hostels. They seem to have a formula where they offer decent rooms and a good cafe for affordable prices. The atmosphere is relaxed. But maybe most important of all, the shared fascilities are clean. At the bar you get 3 big Tsingtoa's for 20 yuan.

The have "special rooms" which are probably the most value for money. Especialy with an HI card.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jasper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 126 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Overall, this is a fairly average hostel, but in an excellent location.
The hostel is right in the middle of things - both the Bund and East Nanjing Road are within easy walking distance.
The rooms are fairly small, and a little dark. For some reason, the ceilings are outrageously high - it is possible to stand on the top bunk of the bed and still not be able to touch the ceiling. Each bed has its own locker, reading light and plug socket. The rooms do have a window that looks out into the corridor, but it lets in too much light during the night, and too little during the day.
Communal bathrooms are okay. They are clean, but the cubicles are fairly small. Hot water is advertised as being on at certain times of the day - even during those times it is warm at best.
The communal areas in the hostel are excellent - there is a great bar area downstairs, with a pool table, tv and plenty of places to sit. Food is pretty good and the prices are reasonable. There are also a few guitars lying around for anyone to use.
Wifi is available throughout the building, but it is very slow. Only really good for email and Facebook.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas but there was very little festive atmosphere! The hostel didn't provide any kind of activities so the place lacked life. Staff were friendly enough but weren't very eager to help us or recommend anything.
We stayed in the luxury room which was very nice and good value. We had a huge four poster bed, flat screen tv, couch and a bath tub. Only problem was that the water was no where near hot enough to use it and it was always very cold when you were in the shower. Our shower flooded everywhere when we used it which was a nightmare to clean up! Also, they turn the hot water off between 12-5pm and during the night.
Really good location though- 5 minutes from the Bund and the main shopping street.
They have a microwave so you can cook some food (which I would highly recommend over eating at the bar!)
A good place to stay in the city centre for a decent price. Just don't expect very friendly staff or a hot shower!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed in a private double room near the front of the hostel. It was clean and spacious. Despite a air con unti it was a little cold. The bathroom was shared again clean and presentable, hot water took a very long time to come once tap was started but was hot nonetheless. Only qualm, I could not receive the wireless signal from in my room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halberd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A common problem with many Chinese hostels I have encountered, is the lack of the human touch. I stayed here when I was travelling alone because I enjoy the warm, friendly environment in a hostel. But the counter staff are cold (thought not impolite), and my stay feels like a mere business transaction. (Perhaps I expect 'too much'?)

In any case, Hiker has a fantastic location, nice bar cafe, 24-h hot water, comfortable rooms; and I met nice people here. it is also quite clean because I see cleaning women working quite hard. If I stay here again, it is definitely for the location and facilities and nothing personal.

Room Tip: Book over internet to find better deals. (Guess I can't mention website names here!) If you sta...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicnotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

An excellent place to stay for those looking to live on the cheap. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Above all, the location is excellent. Although tucked away in a rather dusty street, it's at a prime location - right behind the bund, located near Nanjing Road. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japanwafuwafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

What a fantastic hostel. This was our first time as a family staying in a hostel. WHAT A SURPRISE!!! Clean, comfortable, close to the subway, the Bund and Nanjing Road friendly staff and great cafe. We book two rooms that were organised to be across the hall from each other. One was large with a bathroom and the other just a bed, desk and cupboard. The breakfast was so big we ate two between the four of us and at a price you cannot beat. The decor was lovely you real knew you were in China and especially in the British concession of Shanghai. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff who assisted us in everything from making calls finding somewhere to photocopy and scan and good places to eat. They made us feel really welcome. Laundry on the third floor and TV in the room. Great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventurefamilyCragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#11 of 322 in Shanghai
226 reviews
The Bund
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Qipu Road
Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel
The Bund
Shanghai Fish Inn East Nanjing Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel

Address: No.450 Middle Jiangxi Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing