We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
Ranked #26 of 293 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was one of the best places I have ever stayed!
Though I have to mention that we stayed at the stylish VIP suite. Accidently because all rooms were full.
And eventough we were travelling on a budget it was very reasonable priced and we could afford to sleep there for a couple of days.
And as the name says it, it is a very stylish souite. Very beautiful decorated. With an amazing shower and an amazing bath. A big bed, and a big TV screen, along with a sofa, and also you have a fancy control for your fan. (so you can just sit in the sofa and open the lights and fan with the control.)
We didn't expect this quality in a hostel, but was fantastic.
And downstairs we really enjoyed as well the cozy bar-restaurant, and there's pool table and many more things.
Location is great, too. Can't ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasanatasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    67
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
31
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hostel is very well located, staff are friendly and most importantly - they speak English. Rooms are nice, clean and with nice bathrooms. Our room was overlooking the small street on the side of the hostel, but above the next building you could see the Pudong skyscrapers, which is a nice contrast. Might be a bit nosy in the night, as it is a big hostel in a big city. A bit pricy.

Room Tip: Look for a room on floor 2/3. This way you will not climb too much and you will have a view above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuareg_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for 2 nights in Shanghai and had a double room with shared bathroom. The room was very dark as the only window led onto a corridor. The room was fairly small, but big enough. Toilets and showers kept very clean, showers very powerful.

Staff not particularly helpful when we asked about getting train tickets to hangzhou, they said they didn't know where it was...and neglected to tell us about a place 5 minutes around the corner where we could book tickets!

The hostel is in a fantastic location, 5 minute walk away from the bind and easy access to the subway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leoben, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

not only is it very close to the metro station (about 5 min walk) and it is easy to find! staff is helpfull and the breakfast is really good! :) there is also a massage shop in the same street a bit south (1 min walking). massages are really good and inexpensive!! :)

Room Tip: my room was in the 1st floor (2nd in chinese) and i paid 65yuan which is for one with a window. main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktoria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Mingtown is everything you want in a hostel in China. The location was excellent, both close to transport (you can catch the train everywhere, saving $), and close to beautiful buildings and Nanjing Rd, which is the Times Square of Shanghai. You can walk to the Bund in 5 minutes.

We started in a private room, and it was 240RMB per night, with high ceilings, natural light, neutral walls and nice small details like hanging areas and coffee and tea cups.

Finally, I felt the service was excellent. As someone who has travelled extensively through China, it is rare to find a place where the staff speak such good English, and are so willing to help. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

420 RMB/night for a double with window with private bathroom (2 nights) and 220 RMB/night for a double without window with shared bathroom (2 nights)
Located near the Bund and Jinshanling pedestrian street. The hostel is huge and clean. Ambiance is very friendly, you will meet lots of backpakers. They don't offer tours or activities. The food served was'nt really good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllonsNousPerdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights. Overall I liked the place, although it wasn't exceptionally nice. But what do you expect, this is China!

Pros:
Very cheap!
Showers are hot (except one night was lukewarm)
Easy to find
Beds are comfy
Lounge and bar area is a great place to meet people.

Cons:
-Staff is clueless. You will not get any travel advice from them. If you want a guided tour of Shanghai to to www.synotrip.com and you can find great travel guides ( i recommend Miki).
-Food isn't all that great.

Room Tip: Stay on the bottom bunk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#14 of 293 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Qipu Road
Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel

Property: Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
Address: No.450 Middle Jiangxi Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 293 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing