We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our stay in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
Ranked #26 of 293 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Made our stay in Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Mingtown is everything you want in a hostel in China. The location was excellent, both close to transport (you can catch the train everywhere, saving $), and close to beautiful buildings and Nanjing Rd, which is the Times Square of Shanghai. You can walk to the Bund in 5 minutes.

We started in a private room, and it was 240RMB per night, with high ceilings, natural light, neutral walls and nice small details like hanging areas and coffee and tea cups.

Finally, I felt the service was excellent. As someone who has travelled extensively through China, it is rare to find a place where the staff speak such good English, and are so willing to help. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    67
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
31
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

420 RMB/night for a double with window with private bathroom (2 nights) and 220 RMB/night for a double without window with shared bathroom (2 nights)
Located near the Bund and Jinshanling pedestrian street. The hostel is huge and clean. Ambiance is very friendly, you will meet lots of backpakers. They don't offer tours or activities. The food served was'nt really good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllonsNousPerdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights. Overall I liked the place, although it wasn't exceptionally nice. But what do you expect, this is China!

Pros:
Very cheap!
Showers are hot (except one night was lukewarm)
Easy to find
Beds are comfy
Lounge and bar area is a great place to meet people.

Cons:
-Staff is clueless. You will not get any travel advice from them. If you want a guided tour of Shanghai to to www.synotrip.com and you can find great travel guides ( i recommend Miki).
-Food isn't all that great.

Room Tip: Stay on the bottom bunk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed at Mingtown Hiker with my elderly mother for about 3 weeks. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a private room for the first 3 days and a 2-bed dorm for the remainder of our trip. Because I didn't know how long we would travel in Shanghai and surrounding area, I booked 3 nights in the beginning to give this hostel a try. But as soon as we stepped into our private room, we knew we had to book additional nights. Our room had high ceiling, hardwood floor, a double bed, bathroom, ceiling fan, TV, plenty of hangers, one large but narrow window overlooking the alley way where street vendors sell pan-fried green onion pancakes made fresh each early morning, and the aroma of the street food awoke us nearly every morning :-)

Since we were visiting during high season--Christmas and new year, we couldn't extend our stay in the private room, so the staff moved us to a 2-bed dorm instead. The public shower stalls (if I remember correctly, there were six stalls) are located across from the public toilets (all except one or two are seated toilets), and they are cleaned very frequently as we saw the laborers wiping and sweeping throughout the day. The common seating area on floors 2 and 3 are very bright during the day and are great for reading and eating, but there are only 2-4 public seats on each floor, A sink and the fridge are located on 2nd floor. The lobby/first floor common area has several large sofas that could seat up to a dozen people. But there are only three desktop PC and we had to wait our turn on some days. The PCs are situated in a very tight space behind one of the sofas, where I squeezed between other users to get to one of the bar stools; surfing speed is quite fast. They have wi-fi and I've seen many people use their own laptops throughout the hostel.

One improvement Mingtown Hiker can make is adding more washing machine and dryer. There is only one washer and one dryer for the entire hostel and they are regulated to operate between 8 a.m.and 10 p.m., which is the time most visitors are out wandering about town and not doing laundry. We didn't enjoy rushing back early in the evening to be the first in line to start the washer, but it was the only way to get your clothes clean if you don't want to hand wash your clothes in the middle of winter. We washed our clothes every other day during our stay and that meant we returned at around 7 p.m. to race with other hostelers to be the first one in line. Other days we came back in the middle of the day to do laundry and after it's done, we left for dinner and did some night time sightseeing, so we didn't need to rush back early to beat the crowds.

Overall, this a very good hostel located near major attractions and it is super convenient (Bund, Nan Jing Road, public transportation) with reasonable rates with HI membership. I would stay at Mingtown Hiker on my next visit to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Skip the hostel's bar that sells high priced western food. Do get up early to try the pancakes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ami_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The location of the hostel is good. Near the Bund and Nanjing E.Road. The room was clean and spacious just there is some problem with the toilet flush. Anyway, it has meet my basic need.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engratia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I had the most amazing experience at this hostel. The great common area makes it easy to meet other travellers (made a very amazing group of friends here), good location near Nanjing Rd, The Bund, metro lines 2 & 4 etc., cozy rooms (definitely get one with a window) and clean bathrooms. I felt at home after just a few days here, it was really perfect. Can't recommend it enough, especially if you're travelling on your own.

Room Tip: Get one with a window!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskatiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Verry nice hostel, good price for a large beer. Helpfull staff. Outside they have a nice smoking area with terras. Clean and nice rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#14 of 293 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Qipu Road
Shanghai SOHO International Youth Hostel
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel

Property: Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel
Address: No.450 Middle Jiangxi Road, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 293 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingtown Hiker Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing