We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shanghai Food”
Review of Dragon Phoenix

Dragon Phoenix
Ranked #140 of 16,926 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: The Bund
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Shanghai Food”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We tried a few classics like dim-sum, including a variant of Xiaolongbao (Shanghai Dumplings) with crab meat that you would eat with a straw. We had Eel as well which was very good. The setting is very nice straight from the 20s.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean-marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    28
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
306 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner with the best view of The Bund!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Get a table by the window to see the lights of The Bund while you eat wonderful Chinese food. Our favorite was the twice cooked pork and cabbage pancakes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lulupearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
207 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An amazing taste of Shanghai food”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Located in a exclusive venue, the restaurant has en amazing scenery. The view on the river is great and we were happy to be seated on a table next to the river. Everything is up to an extremely good standard, We didn't have to wait long for the food to be ready and it was really delicious. The experience was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Price is fair, so is the food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

For a restaurant of its class, the pricing at Dragon Phoenix is very fair. For a full dinner (without wine), we only spent less than 20 quid per person. Food was not bad, nor was it very outstanding. The most exuberant charge, in my opinion, was the tea- it costs $50 per person and it's impossible for you to order just one pot, since the pot is extremely small. Other than that, the portion of other food was fair.

What we like most is the view- the Peace Hotel was once Shanghai's tallest building, and it's amazing to view the Bund from the 8th floor. Remember to go early and grab a seat by the window!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overlit, not brilliant food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I think I've had better food in NY's Chinatown, at less cost. The eel dish I had was heavy and too salty. The restaurant was over lit; it felt like eating in a showroom. The views were lovely and the service was pleasant. For better food and atmosphere in this area, try M on the Bund.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaroldandScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Phoenix also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Dragon Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing