We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pretty Decent Place that Lacks Warmth” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Ranked #34 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
manila philippines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“A Pretty Decent Place that Lacks Warmth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The place is decent and who can complain for this space for less than 500 pesos ($11) per night. Its proximity to The Bund is also also a plus factor. If you are to take the subway heavily though (as we did) walking back and forth for approximately 10 minutes to the nearest station day after day could be a headache.

Overall, it was okay with me but if there's one thing I am very particular about CAPTAIN YOUTH HOSTEL Shanghai lacks warmth. I didn't feel the friendly environment I experienced in other hostels. Here, it was almost like strict business at all times. The lobby is like a dead spot where not so much socialization goes on and the receptionists seem to have that stiff mood all the time. Maybe it's a Shanghai thing where people are too busy they don't even have time to care so much even if it is their business to do so. Yeah, it is a pretty decent place overall but indeed lacks warmth.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pusangkalye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    122
    78
    11
    13
See reviews for
6
24
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Didn't stay at this hostel. Was struggling to find a bar with a great view that was within our price range and had no set amount to spend or dress code. This place was excellent, affordable and amazing views of the skyline. Relaxed atmosphere. Had drinks and dinner really recommend it as a budget option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Like it has been said before, the views at the rooftop bar is just stunning. I did not stay here but I came here specifically to visit the bar and get a drink and dinner. Totally worth it. I would have gone again twice, but it was too cold in April 2014. The food is just so so, but hey, I'm not a foodie and I don't pay attention to what I'm eating when there's such a beautiful view in front of me.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Frankly, it is very hard to find such an inexpensive hostel at such a perfect location in Shanghai!
I loved my two-night stay at this hostel. 70RMB for a big bed in the Sailor Room (mix dorm with 8 beds), hot water in public bathroom (very clean and big!). Wifi signal is weak inside the room, but I didn't come here to surf, did I?
It is 5 minutes to walk to the Bund, 20 minutes to Yuyuan Garden. I rose up early at 7am and walked my way to Yuyuan Garden and found I was the first tourist there!
The only downside is, there is a pub across the street and would play live music (not my type) till 3 4am in the morning... It was not a problem for me as I slept like a log but it would be a nightmare for a light sleeper.

Room Tip: 1.The room at the east side (when facing the Bund) is far away from the pub, better for light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggielv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The place is really basic, and expensive compared to what you get elsewhere in China - but in Shanghai everything has a high price incl basic accommodation. The hostel is in a very convenient location for exploring the area lining Huangpu river. The place also have a rooftop-bar with skyline view of the city, but be prepared to pay top price for anything you buy up there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrManOnTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This place is actually a good place to stay, especially its location so close to the Bund (incl. a roof top bar with an amazing view onto Pudong Skyline!) is perfect for Tourists in Shanghai. The quality of the rooms is totally okay for a Hostel. What made us a little unhappy was that breakfast is only available after 11am and that its even for a Hostel much too noisy (extremly loud music from the bar unitl around 4am and much traffic on the street next to the Hostel). So for people who want to party all night and after it have a short way to bed, this Hostel is the perfect place, everyone else who wants at least have a little bit sleep should better consider this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The view and the location are excellent at this hostel. The lobby is also very nice as well. Wifi is a bit questionable in the rooms but not terrible, and the rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is very cold and showers are in a separate room. The windows are also always open in the hallways so bring warm clothes to walk around! The people are nice but it is a fairly large hostel so groups tend to stick to themselves. They will hold your luggage for you if you are checking out as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apesanteur92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Swatch Art Peace Hotel
Swatch Art Peace Hotel
#327 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#13 of 290 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)

Property: Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Address: No.37 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 290 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing