We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and clean rooms at the Captain Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Ranked #32 of 353 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Reviewed May 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days during a brief trip to Shanghai.

The hostel is in a fantastic location which is about a 5 mintue walk to the bund. It is also reasonably close to Nanjing road (for shopping and food) and the Nanjing Road Metro Station.

There are a range of facilities on offer. There is a washing machine for 5 yuan but no dryers. There are clothes horse on level 4 to dry your clothes. There is internet but in my opinion quite expensive compared with other internet cafes.

There are 5 showers (for each gender) in the entire complex. There will probably be a small wait at busy times. The showers have good pressure and good heat. There is a bar serving food until late with a great view of the city skyline.

The rooms are large for a hostel, there are 9 bunk beds in each room but it does not feel cramped at all. The rooms are clean and the sheets changed everyday. The decor is new and tasteful. The rooms are secure and each bunk has a good locker which can easily fit a large rucksack as well as a small backpack.

The staff are indifferent in my opinion - not nasty or anything but not friendly either. They speak English though.

I would definately come here again for stay in Shanghai.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank k0liver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2007

We found this hostel through the LP guide and thought the location was promising. We booked into a 8 bed dorm to save money.

Positives:

The location really can't be beat. It is right off the Bund and walking distance from many sites. It is one of the most central hostels we stayed at in Asia.

The desk staff spoke English and were helpful.

There was a nice area to sit in near the desk. Internet was also available in the lobby but a little expensive.

Negatives:
The hostel needs to put some limits on the messiness in the dorms. We walked into our room and it was so full of junk, garbage, clothes, that every flat surface in the place was covered except our beds. A good European hostel would not stand for that nonsense and would have thrown everything away. There were lockers but no one used them. It turned out to be a large German student group who were friendly but thankfully flying home the next morning. We told the staff to clean everything and they did. The Koreans who came the next night were much cleaner. The room was also on a major street and the honking outside started about 6 am and went on all day. Bring earplugs.

The bathrooms for the dorms were located in a separate building in an outdoor courtyard. We were there in the winter and they were FREEZING. They weren't all that clean either.

The bar was nice enough but the service wasn't that great and it was all incredibly expensive western food and expensive drinks. There are some nice places to get great, cheap Chinese food(recommended by the LP guidebook) so don't waste money eating here. The view is fabulous, though, so getting a drink to enjoy the view is a nice idea. Otherwise, the same beer can be bought at a fraction of a price elsewhere.

Overall we would recommend this place, especially if you are splurging for your own room. The location is so great for the cheap price we would definitely stay here again and hope for clean roommates.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank The_Tembas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We arrived in China, and found this Hostel in the Lonely Planet guide, the rooms were clean, we stayed in a roon right opposite the bar, which had amazing views, and a happy hour! The breakfast was a little rubbish but the food in the restraunt/bar was good!
We found the front desk service excellent, in advising on train tickets to other destinations and for directions and other general advice!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HastingsSuz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

There are several categories of rooms here. You can stay in a hostel on floors 2-4 and the 5th has hotel rooms. 6th floor must be the best price for the view bar in town. I stayed in a room on the 5th and it was OK. Bathroom was showing age, room was somewhat modern, stainy carpets. Elevator is small, they don't take Visa. Internet and food are cheap and good. For the location and price, it was a good deal and I was satisfied. I probably won't go back though, I'll spend a bit more and go to a real hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raveman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Like another reviewer said, this hostel is for everyone. There were students, family with children and older people during our stay.

We had one of the "first class rooms", which means private room, with a double bed and private bathroom. It was big and confortable, the bathroom was also big but the shower was not very clean. Room in general needs an upgrade. But at 400 yuan per night and half a block fron the Bund it´s a great deal.

The staff was nice and helpful, with pretty good English. Breakfast at 25 yuan for fried egg, ham, toast, juice and coffee is a good deal.

The only negative thing I have to say about the hotel is that we left our airplane tickets on the dresser drawer and a day later they were gone. Were they stolen? We don´t know.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank msague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2006

This youth hostel has also hotelrooms. We had a very large double room with a private bathroom of high quality. On the toproof there is a bar where you have a splendid view over Pudong which is great at night because of the lights (lights go out at 11pm).
The breakfast wasn't much and the personal at the servicedesk and breakfastservice weren't always too friendly.
This hotel is only 2 steps away from the Bund.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Femke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gras107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
#12 of 353 in Shanghai
231 reviews
Changshou Road
Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)

Address: No.37 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 353 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: $10 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing