We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
Nearby Hotels
$188
$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$436
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$301
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$122
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$101
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
65
125
82
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
125
82
11
13
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 296 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is an excellent budget hotel in a wonderful location a short walk from the Bund and views of it from rooftop bar. We have stayed in both the Bund side hostels several times. Quite large double and family rooms, quite basic but adequate and typical Chinese in carpet cleanliness etc.
Excellent restaurant opposite, not the jazz bar, haven't tried that.
Wifi available if you buy drink at rooftop bar. Bandwidth of thisnon-existent, don't try emailing photos!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank shbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Well my first impression about the hostel was really bad, the receptionist was not friendly, the room (i took standard double bed) was smelling bad.... but then i came to understand that the receptionists are very busy and at last i was sad to leave them since they were very helpful. My guess is that, they seem unfriendly because they can't speak english well and they are trying to avoid talking to much in English. Once you are more kind and show them its alright , they are really good people.

I didn't like how they clean the room though, but the location, the view from the top bar, is amazing, it worth to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilutopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Despite some setbacks, Captain Hostel is a great way to stay on Shanghai's riverfront Bund without paying hundreds of USD for a luxury hotel.

Just as a heads up, we did have some problems. I booked ahead online for the Yan'an Rd. branch, to make sure our rooms were secure. However, on the day our group of 10 arrived at the hostel, we were told that they had no rooms available. Strange, I booked in advance. Sorry, there are no rooms available, they said again. Our group was exhausted and we had a pair of 70+ folks with our group, so began to make a bit of a stink. They then told me that there were some problems with the water. Or electricity. No rooms available sorry, but you're going to have to go to the Fuzhou Rd. Branch. I was angry because we booked this Bund front branch for the view AND because it was newer. Based on an earlier recon visit, I saw that the rooms were clean and satisfactory enough for such a large group. Even though they paid for taxis to take us a couple blocks to the Fuzhou branch, I was not pleased with this. What's the point of pre-booking?

The Fuzhou Rd. branch was passable. The woman at the front desk, who I assume is the manager on duty (the underlings deferred to her for everything) was very rude. Always frowning, ignoring people who were waiting for service, and overall not a pleasant lady to be around. The rest of the staff, especially the cleaning ladies, were great, however.

Here, you are basically paying for the view. The rooftop bar/lounge sells drinks for exorbitant prices, but you have an unhindered view of Lujiazui. It is stunning, if you don't want to spring for a meal at any of the Bund restaurants OR a 80 RMB cocktail at M on the Bund. The rest of the hostel is barely passable. The beds in our rooms (on the 5th floor) were made of plywood and it felt like sleeping on a bench. The floor would have been more comfortable, but the carpet is filthy. The bathroom was tidy enough, but the creeping black mold is unsightly. The TV has cable, so that is a plus if you need to watch television during your stay. Wi-fi is only accessible in the aforementioned exorbitantly priced bar on the roof.

Note for those traveling with people who don't manage well with stairs: staying on the 6th floor requires that you get off the elevator on the 5th floor, then hike up with your luggage. Also, the noise from the lounge/bar is very annoying at night. You can get a bit of the wi-fi if you're staying on the 5th floor, but it is a very faint signal.

In summary, I'd recommend this place only for the view and location. If you simply must stay on the Bund, then this is affordable and passable. You're a 10 minute walk from Nanjing East Rd. Station (Line 2) and a ferry ride away from Lujiazui and Pudong. There's a convenience store and ICBC atm near the entrance, a jazz club across the street, and frequent taxis. In Shanghai, you could do a lot worse than this.

Room Tip: If you're picky with cleanliness, you might ask to see the room first. I did not stay in the dorm rooms, but if they're anything like the private rooms, I'd check first. That is assuming the staff are willing to even help you. They can be quite rude.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neil_Yeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Well, overall, it's quite a pleasant stay in captain youth hostel. I stay in room 401 and the room is around 250 sq ft with 8 beds, one big table in the middle and when the time I checked in, it was only 3 or 4 ppl staying there. toliet and shower room is avaerage clean, the rest public area looks kindly old and not so tidy. however, the lobby looks nice with a coffee shop

obviously the rooftop bar is a highlight to your trip. You re able to enjoy the great view of skyline in shanghai. one mug of beer cost u 40-50 RMB which is similar price compared to other bars, but much more expensive than the one sold in mini market...(same beer costs u less than 5 RMB in mini market)

walking distance to ppl's quare, NanJing Road and other place of interest, around 15mins away from subway station.

it would be a great choice if you re travelling on budget...not recomm for couples or business trip or family tripppp...

Room Tip: if u are female, try to get room 401, bigger than others.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juliet1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hostel is in a fantastic location-right near the bund and Nanjing road, there is a metro there which makes everywhere else easily accessible.
We had a private room which was great.
This hostel is really let down by the staff who are reluctant to help with anything and some in particular were extremely rude to ourselves and other guests.
The bar on the roof has a great view and that's about it...the food is terrible and everything is overpriced (£3 for a sprite!!) the hostel claims to be separate from the bar and so everytime you want to use the wifi (only available in the bar) they try to force you to buy one of their ridiculously priced drinks. The wifi is then very poor,sporadically turning off and not strong enough to support skype.
Shanghai was great and this hostel was in a perfect location to explore it, that was the only thing going for it and the staff would stop me from staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muggsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews