We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Only if you're there for business in the chemical park...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Sino Bay Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Sino Bay Shanghai
Ranked #1,657 of 4,320 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only if you're there for business in the chemical park...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A hotel I've stayed at 3 times already in the past year. The hotel probably used to be very nice. You can tell it was catered for those on short term assignments at one of the companies in the chemical park (the lobby has a wall covered with the company logos!), therefore if you have any business in the area and don't want to commute 1hr each way everyday, this is the place. Place has 3 restaurants, a gym and a golf course. No wireless Internet in the room or in public areas, it's all wired and its not included in your room rate. Breakfast is ok and the top restaurant (chinese) is ok as well. Staff is friendly.

Downside of my most recent stay, my floor had no water!! There was a note stating the water would be back on, but it was obviously delayed, so I woke up to no water, had to call reception, and they offered me another room, just to take a shower. Water worked in the new room, but questionable cleanliness...
Another note, the hotel takes a deposit on your credit card like most hotels, however they won't provide you with a void receipt when you check-out. Deposit is refunded but I have to say I was not comfortable leaving the place not knowing what they exactly with the 8000RMB they charged as deposit for 2 rooms....

Conclusion: ok stay, but be warned that even though you won't need to commute, you'll have so much free time to kill with nothing... Charge up your iPad with movies or kindle...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huyennette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just my luck that this has happened to me again! See my previous review! There is no hot water supply since I arrived in this in-the-middle-of nowhere hotel!

I have to resort to showering in the gym and swimming pool shower rooms on the two nights that I was there - although it was March in Shanghai but the temperature was still below 10 deg.C!
I made a quick check-out by the second day morning!

Apart from that, the room was quite large, clean and acceptable.
TV programs are crap - they must fix the antenna - the signal was intermittent - back to the stone age.

Breakfast selection was below average.

It's big and empty - i feel like I am the only person staying there...

Room Tip: Stay here if you are on business trip and your client or local office is nearby - otherwise avoid at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vernon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you don't like crowds or people, this is the place for you. It is a VERY nice hotel and nice golf course, but the place is a ghost town. The only people that stay here are Chemical business travelers for the SCIP.. This means it is nearly empty. The rooms are SUPER NICE, large and clean. Shower is great. Nice tub and room refrigerator. Views of the course are good- if you can see thru the smog. I have spent about 10-15 nights here and slept well every night. There is a very quiet sitting area down stairs for a drink after work that has free wifi. No wifi in the rooms, only wired. The breakfast (only time I ate there) was average. After several days there in a row, the staff will know your face along with the few guest at breakfast. It is kind of sad that this nice of a hotel is not busier.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We went to Sino Bay for the solar eclipse, and the hotel was booked full with tour groups for the event.
Since we were members, we got a free upgrade to a HUGE executive suite, with a spectacular panoramic window facing the golf course.
Staff went out of their way to accommodate every wish of the eclipse watchers. They carried charis out to the parking, cold water and snacks was for sale outside during the eclipse. And then rain started to fall, staff holding umbrellas escorted guests with cameras. Much appreciated!
Large indoor play area for kids - free of charge. Large circular domed swimming pool - free, but you must wear swim cap! Bring your own, or buy on location for 40RMB or so (we didn't).
The restaurant was lavist, but slightly overpriced. The hotel is in the middle of an industrial area, so no other food or shopping options at all within walking distance.
Cabled internet was free but patchy, lots of dropouts during a thunderstorm at night. Satellite TV also lost the signal because of the bad weather.
No public transport whatsoever nearby. The only way to reach the hotel is by taxi. If you're on a budget, you could take a bus to Jinshan and taxi from there.
Going back to Shanghai, note that local Jinshan taxis are not allowed to enter the Shanghai city limits, but will drop you at the South Railway Station, where you have to shift to another cab. Pretty annoying if you have a baby and lots of luggage, but I can't blame the hotel for that.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Palm Beach Resort Shanghai
#2,417 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Yue Hua Hotel
#222 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Great Tang Hotel
#2,413 of 4,320 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Jinqiao
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Oriental Shanghai
Sichuan North Road
Mingde Grand Hotel Shanghai
Mingde Grand Hotel Shanghai
#216 of 4,320 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Sino Bay Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Sino Bay Shanghai

Property: Ramada Plaza Sino Bay Shanghai
Address: No.9 Huanhua Road, Chemical Industry Park, Fengxian District, Shanghai 201507, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,657 of 4,320 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Sino Bay Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ramada Plaza Sino Bay Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing