We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean room and quite well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #2,391 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice clean room and quite well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel and the room was clean and quite big. Didn't had the occasion to use services. The room had a balcony and a lovely view on the city.
Only one negative point: the elevators (once we had to wait 15min to be able to go down !)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supermoumou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    134
    113
    39
    39
See reviews for
26
49
34
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very Dirty (hairs on the floor, dirty spots on the carpet, on the sofa blood spots)
Very rude personnel
I asked 7 times the bellboy to help me with luggage, and at the end the receptionist came to scream at me that i did not check-out, because my luggage was upstairs in the room.
Slow elevators; One waits around 10 minutes each time;

They said to the reservation agent that I can extend my stay, but in they LIED. In the same time they tried to send me to another hotel of their chain, while the only thing I was begging was not to change the room, because of the enormous quantity of luggage I was caring with me; I would have understood "sorry, we do not have the availability", but not "you should go ?!"
The worst experience ever in a hotel!
Receptionists so so rude!

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalenaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Service:
The hotel staff are generally approachable in the reception. We asked them to help us buy high-speed railway tickets to Hangzhou and they were efficient in doing so. We also voiced out our concern with the poor toilet flushing in our room, concerns heard but nothing seemed to have done. A bit disappointing to be honest.

Room:
Personally speaking, the room is better than I expected. Comfy, spacious and tidy. The shower's good too. With that said, I am extremly disappointed with the toilet. Its flushing system is very poor to the extent that you need to give it at least triple times of flushing to make way for the next user.

Location & amenities:
The hotel is very well located with only 5-10 minutes walk from Dapuqiao Station where a very big shopping mall is located just above the station. The hotel itself has a cafe but we never tried that.

Room Tip: Higher floors seemed to quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent hotel and really great value for money. Despite the low price, the room was modern, clean and well-equipped.

The hotel location is also excellent near central Shanghai and just a short walk to the nearest metro station.

Helpful?
1 Thank JasonL4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a group tour. What a noisy room. The sound of the water tap in the next room is deafening. Tiles on the floor of the shower were missing. Also the hook of the shower itself was missing. A lot of dust on the mirrors in the room. Balcony really dirty. When the hotel is crowded it takes you 15 minutes to get from floor 20 to the breakfast room in the basement. No free wifi. Staff is not hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good location
The hotel is centrally located between the 2 metro: Dapuqiao Station and Jiashan Road Station on No. 9 Line, it's also a 5-10 mins walk away from the SML center which is a huge grand mall that offers basically everything. There are numerous of restaurants to choose from, and they generally close until pretty late at night. Tianzifang is also close by.

Room:
The room was clean, nice and quiet, definitely well worth the price I paid; only comment I would make is that the toilet doesn't flush very well, and it hasn't improved after voicing out the staff.

Service:
Service is yet to be improved and they are not very helpful, I speak Mandarin so it wasn't much of a problem as I can ask others for help but it took me several attempts in order to get my questions answered.

Room Tip: There is no wifi (room or lobby) Request non-smoking rooms on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caszse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is fine overall, especially for $40/night. It was comfortable and location is central, walking distance to Tianzifang, very close to subway, and across the street from Costco.
But there were two major drawbacks that I can't overlook. First of all, I booked this particular hotel because it advertised a swimming pool. And they have a swimming pool, but you have to walk through a street to a separate building to get to that swimming pool. I believe the use of it is free, but they won't give you a towel and they require a swimming cap. Seriously?
Second, they make you pay for wifi. Even in China, this isn't a normal practice, so a self-respected hotel should just make it free for their guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
#2,355 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#158 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#369 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#756 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Old Town
Yun's Paradise Hotel
Yun's Paradise Hotel
#2,111 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Jing'an
Shanxi Business Hotel
Shanxi Business Hotel
#652 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai

Property: Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.7 Zhaojiabang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200032, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Dapuqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,391 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 1330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing