We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tongji Reception House
Nearby Hotels
$365
$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$147
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
$151
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$183
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$182
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$237
$207
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
6
13
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
13
7
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 29 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Basic and functional rooms near Tongji University. 5-10 minutes to the subway (which takes about 15 minutes to the center). Cleaness and furnishing of the room was okay. Unfortunately no Wifa and broken lan cables. Restaurant is good (only tried breakfast).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eric_weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed for three nights at the end of a ten day business trip. The room furnishings were adequate, even a little spartan, but the wired internet connection was free and fast (once I got the connection protocol sorted out). There is not really a place to keep clothes, and the safe was difficult to figure out. The highlights are the bathroom (the walk in shower was fantastic) and the air conditioning, which can cool the room to freezer-like temperatures. The bed was comfortable, minimal noise from other room and outside, so I slept great. I stayed in the main building, so I don't know if the other buildings are different. The breakfast buffet was rather limited in its selections, BUT they had a chef on hand to cook eggs to order! An omelet isn't quite what we think it is, but I appreciated the effort nonetheless. Coffee was good, too. Servicing of the room was minimal - basically pulled up the bed cover and put in a clean towel.
I think the value was pretty good for what you get - about $80-$90 per night for an executive king in Shanghai sounds like a deal to me. I saw mostly westerners staying here (lots of US exchange students and German tourists) as well as Chinese businessmen. I will definitely consider this place for my family if we go to Shanghai for vacation.

Room Tip: Recommend a room in the main building - not sure if there are other buildings with rooms or their quality.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have stayed here several times for Tongji University programs. The rooms have been remodeled in the last year or so, and are OK. The beds are excellent (after our last stay, we decided we needed to get a new mattress in the US to be as comfortable). Free internet speed is good. The Chinese alternatives for the breakfast are excellent, the Western ones are so-so. The staff's grasp of English varies, but is pretty basic (disclaimer, I speak Chinese, so I didn't need to rely on it).

This area is not close to downtown Shanghai, so it is best for those who have business with Tongji or Fudan Universities or in the Wujiao Chang area. There are a lot of good cheap student-oriented restaurants near here. OTOH, there is a line 10 subway stop a few hundred meters away with good connections for downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al7jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with 招商银行出行易旅行者
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews