We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not too bad for the price i paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong
Ranked #1,125 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“not too bad for the price i paid”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

First off, i managed to get a very good rate through booking.com. Only at 239 RMB per night, which as it turned out was a wrong rate (apparently the hotel had increased its rates but the website hadn't). But i just so happened to be checking out with the person who appeared to be the manager, this wasn't a problem, though she did make a couple of phone calls to clarify the rate. AND it helps that i speak enough mandarin to steer my way out of such situations. So at such a price, i thought that the accommodation was quite a steal. Yes, the room was rather small (i might have been better off in the Ibis in the Old City in terms of size), the bathroom definitely flooded a fair bit after each shower, and my room did have that musty mix of wet wood and stale smoke smell. But at least it was a clean place, and they met my booking request for a room that is quiet and has a window (note not all rooms do). I liked that it was near enough to the bus terminal and metro stations from which you could get to/from the airport and hongqiao train station (to get those "gao" trains to hangzhou) because you are backpacking then it is but a short walk. also french concession area (luwan) is just a short 20 min walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portugal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
4
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

It's clean and cheap. My single standard on the first floor had no window. Maybe the rooms on the higher floors have windows? First floor very loud. Wooden floors in the hallway mean guests can hear everything. When the phone rings in the lobby, new guests arrive, someone comes in late --- can hear everything!! Very clean. Would stay again if needed but still looking for a cheap place to stay with a window.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WorldWalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable and the place has an appealing feel for the price. I booked online and had no problems with reservations and checkin even though I arrived quite early. Great location off Nanjing Rd for quick overnight shopping trips - I used to stay at another nearby hotel which has a separate "new" building with rooms around the same price as here, but it was much shabbier. This will be my new easy choice. Attractive entrance area with friendly/efficient front desk, breakfast buffet (nothing special, but cozy setting and good strong coffee!), 5 min walk to metro. To find the entrance, locate the well-known "Big Bamboo" bar at 132 Nan Yang Lu - across the street (Nan Yang) enter a small alley, the hotel is on the right side.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed 2 nites here in Sept 2010. Good location as near to the Jingan Metro Station (10min walk) which is also where the City Terminal Bus Station is located. Airport buses to Pudong and Hongqiao Airport from City Terminal are cheap and convenient. Small hotel which is more like motel, rooms are small but clean and shower is good. Avoid staying ground floor as can be noisy.
There are a few bars in the area so would avoid area if travelling with children. Otherwise area is convenient and staff speak fairly good English and are pretty helpful. Only grouse was they refused to let me leave luggage there for a few hours aft checkout = apparently this was due to the Shanghai expo that they were not allowed to accept luggage aft checkout (according to hotel staff).
As it is off a small street, it can be quite difficult to find and many taxi drivers dont know where it is. Its in a small lane next to entrance to JingAn fitness club (Jing An ti yue guan).
It is good value for location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHELLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Pei Mansion Hotel
Pei Mansion Hotel
#704 of 5,082 in Shanghai
62 reviews
Jing'an
Shanxi Business Hotel
Shanxi Business Hotel
#571 of 5,082 in Shanghai
111 reviews
Jing'an
Ruitai Jingan Hotel
Ruitai Jingan Hotel
#1,527 of 5,082 in Shanghai
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#168 of 5,082 in Shanghai
201 reviews
Jing'an
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Henglong Plaza)
Life Hub DANING
Baolong Homelike Hotel (Shanghai Zhongshan)
Baolong Homelike Hotel (Shanghai...
#2,170 of 5,082 in Shanghai
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong

Property: Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong
Address: No.125 Nanyang Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,125 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing