We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveler rating
250
515
307
77
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
250
515
307
77
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station rooms are big speak english exit toothbrush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Located very close to the railway station, the Holiday Inn Zhabei was convenient, inexpensive and was a very high quality hotel for the money. The complimentary breakfast was nice, but usually VERY crowded. It was not truly "western" as advertised, but certainly had enough to sustain you until lunch.
The staff was VERY friendly and helpful and many spoke English.
While the closeness to the railway station/subway station was nice, it can be deceiving. Getting to certain lines on the subway required a LOT of walking, and if you came out of the wrong exit, it was easy to get disoriented. Our first night we wandered around trying to get to our hotel for 20 minutes. We could see it, but there were walls and barriers preventing us from getting to it. We finally went back down in the subway, came out a different exit and found our way.
For roughly the same price as many Chinese hotels, this was a very welcome upgrade.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms were really nice, bug and comfortable beds. The location wasn't the best and was quite dirty. Food was also really bad, but if rating only on the room, it was worth the price. Expect the walk o take taxi/train if you want to get anywhere.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Massim0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by someone who lives in Shanghai and thought it was a good location. Personally I believe there are much better locations then this one to spend a couple of nights in Shanghai. The area around the Shanghai Railway station is dirty to say the least. There is really nothing to do in this area and unless you are just spending the night in the hotel, there are no opportunities to walk in the neighborhood and discover new sites and sounds. The rooms have the appearance at first glance that they are up to standard, but it did not take long to discover that items that needed repair were not tended to. As others mentioned the breakfast was pretty poor. Although I never stay at a hotel for the breakfast. Carpet on the floor of the room was stained and had a dirty look to it. The price was reasonable so I suppose one should not complain, as I have stayed in worse.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detroit_wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good value for money, its an express hotel, so services are limited. The rooms are excellent, bathrooms basic, but ok. WIFI not yet on all floors. LAN connection is free and working well. Reception staff and inhouse manager are helpfull with problems. This hotels caters mainly for Chinese travelers, but foreigners are more than welcome. Breakfast is simple, mostly for Chinese taste.
They should improve and offer more Western choises for the buffet-breakfast.

Room tip: Rooms in the back have a nice view at the Shanghai Railway station (double glasses, so limited noice). Rooms in the front, has open view.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for two nights and bed was comfortable and everything very clean. Good location only 200 meters to Shanghai Station and Metro. Front desk manager Clarke was very helpful and spoke good English. Helped with tickets on bullet train by writing out our requirements in Chinese, to show at the railway station. Only negative was the breakfast was fairly ordinary and most items where cold.
Would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews