We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well upkeep hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and well upkeep hotel”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My first trip to Shanghai and i chose this hotel as i like the feel of a residence in a hotel.The room will clean & newly furnished with nice furnitures.I request for a high floor but the hotel didn't put up the request and i ended on the 8th floor which i am unable to see the beautiful night view of Shanghai & its a pity though.Its not a big hotel with lavish lobby but i felt is a great hotel with all the facilities provided in the hotel.The area near the hotel has many shopping malls like Lane Crawford.However the metro stations( train station) is not very near the hotel.We take about 20 -25 mins to walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We will conduct relevant trainings to enhance our service standard soon.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    219
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
121
41
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I have always enjoyed staying at the FR Shanghai. The staff are fast and responsive to needs, and the property is always kept looking its best. The few days when I was in Shanghai, the city experienced record breaking pollution levels. FR Shanghai had invested in new air filters that were installed in every room. The difference in the air is really remarkable between being in the room and outside the property.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollandVBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have been to Frasers many times, and they all have the same look and feel.

This one is no different and I feel at home.

I dont really bother about room views on business trips and my office is the next building so I am contented.

Breakfast is not buffet style but the menu is enough to get you started. Mostly Continental style.

Room has everything you need including washing machine, mini kitchen, iron. English TV Channels was in abundance that you start channel surfing. Internet speed is superb so work can be done at magnificent upload and download speeds.

Staff is very helpful and spoke English. Check In and Out took less than 5 minutes. Taxi drivers tend to not know this place so bring along the hotel card with you.

There are many food places around, only if you speak Chinese. For more English speaking type, take a 10 min walk to Xintiandi where you get your Paulaner and Starbucks and many other international choices. Just be aware of touts there, and by touts I mean the pimps as well. They will harass and walk with you everywhere, just ignore them.

Or you could take a cab and head to the Bund 15 mins away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShahrilHarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear ShahrilHarman:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel and great location. Would recommend highly. Looking forward to the next visit.
Centrally located for business and leisure. The staff was very helpful and the room was very comfortable. We were especially pleased that the room had a kitchen and laundry machine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Jmloh:

We thank you for your valuable feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Situated in a very convenient location with shops, food and subway within a short walk. The hotel is extremely clean and since it was recently refurbished, everything is new. The rooms are bright, spacious and makes for a very comfortable stay. The beds are also very comfortable with high quality linen. Service is not 5 star but decent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Julie C:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I think this hotel/serviced apartments represented excellent value. We arrived quite late, which wasn't a problem for checking in. I was pleased to see that not only was the room very large but it came with a kitchen, now there are lots of hotels that might provide a kettle and microwave but this had a washing machine/tumble dryer combo, in addition to decent hairdryer, iron & ironing board, kitchen table & chairs etc and a filtered water tap.

The rooms are very modern and decorated in calm tones, with flat screen tv and sadly something I didn't take for granted was the air purifier, which was great, as was the air con. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well- no noise from outside. There was only the one thing letting the room down, I did notice that the rug could have done with a hoovering, not sure if that's down to the rug being new and shedding though.

We ate at the Fat Olive, which thankfully is open late and has great Greek style food. I can't remember the name of the other on site restaurant where breakfast is served but I like that chain and it has good breakfast options, which range from fruit and yogurt to a giant sandwich as well as massive fresh salads etc for lunch. I would advise that the breakfast voucher you get from the hotel needs to be brought with you for breakfast and entitles you to one of the breakfasts on the menu, if this does not come with coffee/juice, you will have to pay for the coffee/juice. I did not rate the coffee. It also backs on to a nice outside patio area.

I can't comment on the area as I just went from the hotel to meetings, so no idea what's around unfortunately but I liked the hotel very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairelybelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Clairelybelgian:

We thank you for your valuable feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place. I was looking a mid-priced hotel near the French Concession area and I'm really pleased I chose this one. Clean, fresh slightly scandinavian crossed with asian feel to the place and staffed by friendly, confident, experienced and English speaking staff. I wish I could stay longer...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Mike C:

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Shanghai

Property: Fraser Residence Shanghai
Address: NO. 98 Shouning Road, Shanghai 200021, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Residence Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently redesigned and refurbished, and in Fraser Residence Shanghai has also installed an air purifying and water filter system to ensure that every guest will enjoy a better quality of air and water in their luxurious apartments. Situated on the Puxi side of the Huangpo River, Fraser Residence Shanghai is just a block from Huaihai Road, Shanghai's bustling hub for business, shopping and entertainment. Xintiandi, with its iconic boutiques, bars and restaurants in historic Shikumen houses is nearby, as is the famous Dongtai Antique Market. Fraser Residence Shanghai features 324 Gold-Standard, contemporary apartments and excellent facilities. Minimalist in style, with airy rooms, subtle colours, Fraser Residence Shanghai is a relaxing, tranquil sanctuary in a vibrant, busy location. Guests will appreciate the greatly enhanced meeting facilities, high speed Wi-Fi throughout, tempting new F&B options, wellness spa, gym and indoor heated pool". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Residence Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frasers Residence Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Fraser Residence Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing