We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Well-equipped Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location and Well-equipped Apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

With the very good location near many famous and wonderful places like Xintiandi,Nanjing Road,as well as its well-equipped Apartments and great facilities, This Fraser Residence is worth trying. Breakfast is very good but could be with more options. the outdoor sitting areas on 6th floor is very comfortable and relaxing for friends gathering or just doing some reading.

Room Tip: I stayed in a One-bedroom apartment (bedroom facing Golden Bell Plaza)on 28 floor..the view was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Echoooo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Echoooo C:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

With regards to the breakfast, we will be discussing your comments with the third party operator of the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    212
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
79
118
37
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Good central location within walking distance of Xintiandi. Spacious comfortable rooms and good facilities (on site Fat Olive restaurant well worth a visit). Also reasonable price vs. other equivalent hotels in the area. Service could be friendlier.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on side facing main street (noisy street market opposite runs throughout the night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jon39:

We thank you for your valuable feedback, and we shall incorporate this into our ongoing service improvement initiatives.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked their Studio Deluxe room with no breakfast. Room was very spacious (on 23rd fl) facing SWFC in the distance. While the door to the bathroom was awkwardly positioned, the actual shower and bathtub area was the size of a single bedroom itself! The shower had great pressure and it was simply wonderful to have so much space to wash oneself. The room also had a big flat tv screen (around 40" at least), a kitchen area with laundry machine and dryer, fridge, microwave, and all necessary paraphernalia that goes with all these things. Many reviewers on Tripadvisor gave damning comments about their housekeeping service but we didn't have any such experience with the cleanliness of our room every day. It was always immaculate and our towels were always changed daily even though we hung them up (to be more green conscious). There is even a water filter beside the kitchen tap and also an air purifier in the room! Shanghai's air quality is not good so it's wonderful that this hotel has invested in air purifiers for their guests. In fact, we feel we have to mention something that happened to us during our stay. On our 2nd day, we carelessly left our room safe opened with the bulk of our holiday money inside and other valuables but did not realise this mistake until we returned in the evening. To our amazement, nothing was stolen! The whole holiday would have been ruined had the money and/or valuable items disappeared from the safe. We cannot express how grateful we are that this hotel have such honest people working for them. So to all those potential patrons of this hotel, we have only praises for their housekeeping staff! As for other hotel facilities, although we didn't use them, we did check them out. The gym equipment looks good with drinking water and towels provided, and the pool, while not huge, it's big enough for a good swim. And we have been told that there is a sauna inside each of the men and ladies' changing room area. All in all, it's good value for money and very helpful staff around, most of whom can speak decent English. We totally enjoyed our stay there for 6 nights in Oct 2013.

Room Tip: Request highest floor possible as drivers in Shanghai honk their vehicles all day any all night long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miscel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear miscel2011:

We thank you for your valuable feedback.

Ever since we have further improved by installing water soften system and water purifier in all apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Residence Shanghai soon.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Noticed hair on the floor right upon check-in, so called guest service to have the room cleaned again. On my second day, I ran into the housekeepers after coming back from swimming at around 4pm. They finished quickly so I could shower, but floor was only half clean, as if they mopped without vacuuming and the residue was sticking to the floor. So again, I had to get them to clean for a second time.

The room was huge and equipped with full facilities; hotel has an indoor pool, gym and complementary breakfast at elementfresh. Location is great as well; walking distance to Line 10 (Lao xi men) and Line 8 (Da shi jie), less than an hour by train from Hongqiao, and The Bund, Xintiandi, French Concession are all within close vicinity.

Would've really enjoyed my stay much more if it weren't for the poor housekeeping. Will not stay here again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uspork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Uspork:


Thank you for sharing your experience including the unpleasant one while you were staying in Fraser Residence Shanghai so we are able to make specific improvement.

With regards to the housekeeping services, please accept our sincerest apology. You may rest assure that we take your feedbacks in the most serious manner and further training and supervision will be enhanced to avoid from having such inconvenience issue happening in the future to our guests.

We are looking forward to have you back so that we may have a second chance to serve you better.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a studio deluxe room on the 24th floor, facing the river. Room has a small balcony and the view at night is breathtaking (see my pic). I believe hotel renovated their rooms 2 years ago but my room looks like brand new. The washing machine, fridge and induction hob looks brand new and room smells fresh, zero cooking smell. What I really like is the filter tap provided which saves me the hassle of buying water. From the literature in the room, I learnt that some rooms are equipped with a master filter which soften the water (better for skin and easier to later) and another filter to give drinking water.
Rooms are renovated in soothing greys and neutrals and generous provision of power points for the modern road warrior. Bathroom is gorgeous with overhead shower, bath and shower and great toiletries from PETERTHOMASROTH :). Love the gym, did not try the pool which is inside the Spa. Breakfast I appreciate as it is ElemFresh which a mere few years ago was the only place one can safely eat their salads and fruits. Good variety for western but just one choice for chinese which is unfortunately for me who happens to like chinese for breakfast. Breakfast I think is till 2 or 4pm which is really great.
A lot of reviewers complaint about the honking from across the street a night. Across the hotel is a row of street famous for BBQ seafood, particularly the yabbies - looks vile, didn't eat and at night there are some honking. Personally, I am more amused that bothered by the noise which I wouldn't have paid attention to if not for the reviews. My view? -I am in Shanghai with 24 million people and it only takes a small percentage of serial honkers to make this a noisy city. I just wonder where else one can one stay to avoid them - passed by Four Seasons - It is surrounded by massive construction which will bother me more considering the prices they charge. Liked the hotel so much that if I ever return to Shanghai, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Katzip:

Thank you for taking up your valuable time to write and share with us your experience for your stay in Fraser Residence Shanghai. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our facilities & service and enjoyed your stay here.

For the noise from the street, we will consider a few options such as installing double glazed window to limit the noise from the street.

We look forward to your next trip to Shanghai and Fraser Residence.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Im rating this 3 stars based on the other business hotels ive stayed in. So, it is not being compared to in the same scale as a 4 or 5 star luxury hotel. I would consider this more of a serviced apartment.

Good part - decent facility. clean and efficient. Separate shower stall and bathtub. Delivered 2 bottles of water everyday. Had free breakfast at Element Fresh every morning. (basic menu). Bed was comfortable. Wifi was fast and free. Had a small safe in the closet. small washing machine but didnt get to use it. Our room was a one bedroom suite...and it had a balcony you can walk out on. (which is cool)...but it was too small to do anything else but go out for a cigarette or just enjoy the view.
Location not bad....it was what i would consider the outer edge of xintiandi..so, it was about 3-4 blocks..,maybe 15min walk to the center of xintiandi. (shanghai tang store/fountain/haagendaz stores is what i consider the center). It was also across the street of what i call.."crawfish central" ...its a street where they sell boiled crawfish, mantist shrimps, oysters, crabs. Boiled in spicy sauce. So, it was great to buy a bag full and just take it back to the apartment so you can eat in messy privacy. The apartment is also adjacent to a popular shanghai style restaurant called Shanghai Number 1. Its a somewhat highend style restaurant with good shanghai food selections. If you are in singing..there is also a big KTV facility next to the restaurant.
They have a spa, but i didnt get to use it. I found it a bit expensive side. The pool was decent..again, for a business hotel....not bad.

Bad part - well..even if its 3 blocks away from xintiandi....i would say, classifying it as in xintiandi is not quite accurate.. You dont quite feel like you're IN xintiandi...and even if walking is fun....sometimes, after a big meal...you just wanna or have to go back to your hotel....3 blocks feels like 10 blocks. :) Especially if its raining too. So, this isnt really all that bad....its just less convenient. I found the 1 bedroom a bit smaller than what i had hoped. Although it was adequate, i felt a bit crammed in. But again, for the price...i think it is still a great value.


So, nothing really bad....except i wish it was closer and bigger...but i guess if it was closer and bigger, it would cost more too....i really like the price point of Fraser. For what you get, it is actually really good value. i would recommend this place and even stay here again if im on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neversummer1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear neversummer1911:

Thank you for taking up your valuable time to write and share with us your experience for your stay in Fraser Residence Shanghai. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our property (including the location, service and apartment) and enjoyed your stay here.

Fraser Residence is a Serviced Apartment managed by Frasers Hospitality as you mentioned, apart from 1 Bedroom Deluxe we also provide 1 Bedroom Executive with a lot more space especially in the bedroom.

We hope you will try it next time when travel to Shanghai again.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Was there for a month and a half. No double glazed window, in a location close to one of the most popular place of Shanghai to eat (good) crayfish at 3 am after a good ktv (karaoke), the Frasers residence is certainly not the best location one should stay for a long period. Believe me that it can be pretty noisy when 20 taxis are queuing and honking their horns down the street. I asked for a change of room after few nights with (too) short sleeping time. I went from the 11th floor to the 17th floor, but still a lot of noise. Have to recognize that Frasers residence did a gesture by offering a bottle of red wine to reduce my frustration. Nice, but not enough to have a good rating. The place is running renovation, however the quality is still so-so. The wooden floor in my two rooms apartment was far from behind perfect... I am enclosing a picture.
In a nutshell, Frasers Residence is well located in Shanghai (close to Xintiandi), the place itself needs to be upgraded with double good glazed window...and if you still decide to go there, ask for a room not facing Xinzang Road, nor Shouning Road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hardyshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Hardyshanghai:

Thank you so much for sharing your staying experience in Fraser Residence Shanghai, and also bringing your concerns to our attention so that we may have this opportunity to take notice of the relevant areas of improvement.

With regards to your unpleasant experience about the noise and room, please accept our sincerest apology. Please be informed that the installation for high quality double glazing & improvement works for wooden floor has been proposed.

We are looking forward to have you back so that we may have a second chance to serve you better

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Shanghai

Property: Fraser Residence Shanghai
Address: NO. 98 Shouning Road, Shanghai 200021, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Residence Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently redesigned and refurbished, and in Fraser Residence Shanghai has also installed an air purifying and water filter system to ensure that every guest will enjoy a better quality of air and water in their luxurious apartments. Situated on the Puxi side of the Huangpo River, Fraser Residence Shanghai is just a block from Huaihai Road, Shanghai's bustling hub for business, shopping and entertainment. Xintiandi, with its iconic boutiques, bars and restaurants in historic Shikumen houses is nearby, as is the famous Dongtai Antique Market. Fraser Residence Shanghai features 324 Gold-Standard, contemporary apartments and excellent facilities. Minimalist in style, with airy rooms, subtle colours, Fraser Residence Shanghai is a relaxing, tranquil sanctuary in a vibrant, busy location. Guests will appreciate the greatly enhanced meeting facilities, high speed Wi-Fi throughout, tempting new F&B options, wellness spa, gym and indoor heated pool". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Residence Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frasers Residence Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Fraser Residence Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing