We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Location”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We got a 650+tax deal through Booking.com. It was a complete steal. Large, clean, modern room (my wife commented on the bathroom tiling...not something she normally does) with a comfortable bed, washing machine and cooking facilities as expected in a serviced apartment. There is a lounge on the 6th floor where you will also find coffee plus an Element Fresh for western and modern Asian cuisine at not exactly cheap prices plus Fat Olive for something a little more relaxing. Gym is small but adequate.

Location on Shouning Lu gives you ready access to the centre of Shanghai with the night food street across XiZang Lu from the hotel, Xintiandi not 10 minutes walk away and the Bund a 5 minute taxi ride away.

A really pleasant surprise. Not often I can say that.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always going to give better views but you are likely to find they are more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldtravellersPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear WorldtravellersPlus:

Thank you for taking up your valuable time to write and share with us your experience for your stay in Fraser Residence Shanghai. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our property (including the location, our apartment and service) and enjoyed your stay here.

Look forward to your next trip to Shanghai and Fraser.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    220
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
121
41
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a great serviced apartment for business travellers, clean, comfortable, functional. One suggestion is for the restaurant to be quicker during the morning peak hours as most of the guests are rushing off for business meetings. Having to wait 15mins for breakfast is just too long in the business sense.

Walls are kinda thin - I could hear my neighbours slamming the doors when they return or leave. Not too much of an issue though.

Walking distance to Huai Hai Road - Taxi ride only costs RMB15 if you don't feel like walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinny83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Pinny83:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

With regards to the breakfast, we will be discussing your comments with the third party operator of the restaurant.

We look forward to your next trip to Shanghai and to Fraser Residence Shanghai.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The traveller photos tell the truth: nice, very spacious and clean rooms.We booked a twin room at 75€, breakfast included, a very good price considering its location ( 5 min walk from the nearest metro station ) and the room condition. There's really nothing to complain about except that the breakfast could be a bit more generous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minoshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Minoshag:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

With regards to the breakfast, we will be discussing your comments with the third party operator of the restaurant.

We look forward to your next trip to Shanghai and to Fraser Residence Shanghai.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Three best things about the apartment is location, location and location. Very conveniently located near to Dashijie Metro Station on line no. 8. Offering direct connectivity to all places of business importance, touristic significance or connecting to the airport. In case, you are not in group and traveling for first time to Shanghai then you should absolutely rely on metro for transfer. As the stations are conveniently located and also have English signboard. The hotel apartment is very close to metro and also to people's sqaure, short walk to bund and shopping street of nanjing road. Despite of having English speaking front office I would say that capabilites are only basic. The studio apartment have a nice bureau with free wifi, small dining area and a kitchenette with laundromat. Bathroom and WC area are seggregated. Bed are comfortable, all the five nights I stayed I had a comfortable sleep. Windows are sound proofed for outside noise with heavy black out curtains for a good late morning sleep. There is
limited room delivery menu.
Though the towels were smelly and one of the day, no housekeeping was done and had to lodge a complaint. As it was Saturday, as per hotel the housekeeping staff left early, so they could only do a limited cleaning job. Which was one annoyance which I
would like to post.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_Mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Amit_Nittal:

We value your feedback and appreciate your taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Fraser Residence Shanghai.

With regards to the housekeeping services, please accept our sincerest apology. We are investigating the lapse of communication concerning your room as our housekeeping staff is on duty until 10pm nightly. Please be assured that we take your feedback most seriously and further training and supervision will be enhanced. Regarding to the limit menu, we will be discussing your comments with the third party operator of the restaurant for improvement.

Look forward to your next trip to Shanghai and to Fraser Residence so we can demonstrate to you the level of service you expect.

Best Regards

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I spent a week in this hotel on business in Shanghai. The location is fantastic with shops and restaurants a matter of a few minutes walk away. The subway station is a few minutes walk away too. Rooms are spacious and well appointed with plenty of live/work space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonlesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Jonlesg:

Thank you for taking up your valuable time to write and share with us your experience for your stay in Fraser Residence Shanghai. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our property (including the location and apartment) and enjoyed your stay here.

Look forward to your next trip to Shanghai and Fraser.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Real nice place, helpfull staff, good value if you book the studios or 1 bedrooms. Staff is professional and well trained. Help from Monica in particular was great. Location very close to premium shopping malls. Premium shopping though in China is very overpriced if you are used to US prices. Easy to haul a cab to everwhere from this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stranger371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Stranger371,

Thank you for taking up your valuable time to write and share with us your experience for your stay in Fraser Residence Shanghai. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our property (including the location, our apartment and service) and enjoyed your stay here.

Look forward to your next trip to Shanghai and Fraser.

Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Location : Great next to peoples square and Xintandi
Rooms: Excellent
Kitchen : Sparce but adequate
Gym: Adequate. No Steam but sauna yes.
Residence Lounge: At 6th floor and lobby 24hrs coffee free of cost was a very thoughtful arrangement and good.
WiFi: Fair in Rooms
Staff: Helpful - rather excellent.
Breakfast: At "Element Fresh" was adequate and healthy but could be considered limited for long use as menu is fixed
Housekeeping: Only until 18.00 hrs, should have extended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adharadhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Z, Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Adharadhar:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We are delighted to learn that your overall stay was enjoyable.

With regards to the breakfast, we will be discussing your comments with the third party operator of the restaurant. We would like them to offer more breakfast variety in order to meet the needs of our guests.

Once again, thanks for your feedback!


Best Regards,

Leslie Zhou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#29 of 5,105 in Shanghai
893 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Shanghai

Property: Fraser Residence Shanghai
Address: NO. 98 Shouning Road, Shanghai 200021, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fraser Residence Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently redesigned and refurbished, and in Fraser Residence Shanghai has also installed an air purifying and water filter system to ensure that every guest will enjoy a better quality of air and water in their luxurious apartments. Situated on the Puxi side of the Huangpo River, Fraser Residence Shanghai is just a block from Huaihai Road, Shanghai's bustling hub for business, shopping and entertainment. Xintiandi, with its iconic boutiques, bars and restaurants in historic Shikumen houses is nearby, as is the famous Dongtai Antique Market. Fraser Residence Shanghai features 324 Gold-Standard, contemporary apartments and excellent facilities. Minimalist in style, with airy rooms, subtle colours, Fraser Residence Shanghai is a relaxing, tranquil sanctuary in a vibrant, busy location. Guests will appreciate the greatly enhanced meeting facilities, high speed Wi-Fi throughout, tempting new F&B options, wellness spa, gym and indoor heated pool". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Residence Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frasers Residence Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Fraser Residence Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing