We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
$365
$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$147
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
$183
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$182
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$237
$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
303
230
27
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
230
27
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinefiltered waterthe mexican restaurantone bedroom apartmenthuaihai roadwalking distanceair purifierkitchen areaserviced apartmentfull kitchenxintiandi areahome away from homepeople's squarelocation is greatsmall kitchenfront desk staffbreakfast was included
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 578 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Plus:
Definitely fantastic location with all the high-strung shopping and nightlife actions within a stroll.
High-rise offices bring to live the modern architectural skyline marvels and the fast-paced business ambience.
Old historical buildings still scattered in tiny clusters to relive the rich heritage of a great city.

Room Tip: Newly renovated room may smell a bit if you mind.
Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoutBanning, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Jason W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We are indeed fortunate to be in a great location where you can enjoy the best of the old and new city of Shanghai.
Looking forward to welcoming you back,
Wouter Banning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at FR Shanghai once before the renovation. Then, the furnitures were way past their lifespan and rooms were pretty outdated in finishing. But after the renovation, everything took a 180 degree turn for the better. For a while, I thought that I had booked myself into Fraser Suites, the upscale Fraser brand, instead of Fraser Residence.

The only drawback was that breakfast was at Element Fresh and not buffet style.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollandVBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoutBanning, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear HollandVBoy,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you you have seen the turnaround we have all worked hard to achieve. We are continously working together with Elements Fresh to increase their offerings to our guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you back,
Wouter Banning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

When I go to a big city I always have a look if there is a Fraser and if they have a good rate. I like thise long stay places, feel more at home than in a normal hotel at sometimes they offer real good value. This time in Shanghai I booked a studio in Fraser Residence just off Huaihai road and close to People's square, Xintiandi, etc. I got a one bedroom apartment. Not very big but still an apartment with all the conveniences.
Welcoming receptionist facilitating fast check in. Room has good wifi with dedicated router, separate (small) bedroom with second flat screen tv and if you want you can cook in the fully equipped kitchen (not me).
Compared to the rest of the apartment the bath room is relatively big and has a cabin with a big rain shower and a big bath. All very comfortable. The only comments I have is that it took quite a while for the hot water to arrive and the guy putting the tiles in at the last renovation really must have had a bad day.

Breakfast was included in the rate and was served at the Element Fresh restaurant in the same building. As it is not a buffet you have to make a choice for a limited breakfast. I prefer a buffet.

So if you can get a good deal at Fraser's I really can recommend it. If you are with a bigger group you can also consider a 2 bedroom apartment. Great value.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have the best (city) views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBObackNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoutBanning, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear JBONanjing_China,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences in Fraser Residence Shanghai. With so many dining options in and around our Serviced Apartment we do see that like you,not everyone uses the kitchens we have in all apartments.
For the later than expected arrival of the hot water, we apologize. We have been working with the water system supplier to balance the system as our occupancy has increased strongly since the reopening.
Best regards,
Wouter Banning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

It is new renovated, but no bad smell as well. Located in central down town, very convenient to go shopping and other activities. Staff in Frasers are friendly and willing to give help. Room is clean and quiet, we have a good rest in this trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoutBanning, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Linda S.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience in Fraser Residence Shanghai. We are glad you had a good experience and are looking forward to welcoming you back .Best regards,
Wouter Banning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I'm taking 1 bedroom unit. The location is just great. Very central and easy access to all public transport. Just beside Shanghai Times Square. Staying there for few weeks (almost 1 month). The hotel offer montly package and daily package. Since the location is very central, the price is also abit high. However, if you need a good and great hotel in central business district, then this is one of your option.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosokul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoutBanning, General Manager at Fraser Residence Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Mosokul M,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay experience in Fraser Residence Shanghai. Guest feedback is reviewed every day in our management team and communicated with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Wouter Banning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews