We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #49 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Riihimaki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice rooms, clean and most of all working desk where you could actually work. Staff was answering all my questions and gave good hints & directions for the nearby locations. The hotel itself is quite nicely located and has several shopping possiblities nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkoS795961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear MarkoS795961,

I do appreciate you for submitting this feedback of your recent stay at Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. This will allow us to recognize our team members for a job well done.

We are happy to know that you had a great time enjoying our excellent location, room facilities and heart-felt services in particular.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    455
    101
    32
    21
See reviews for
91
131
81
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

First time to this hotel and stayed at the executive club level. It is well located near metro line 2 - about 3 mins walk from the hotel.

The room is good and bed comfortable and the indoor heating system is good. The TV channel selection is good with channels like HBO and Star movies.

Food served is not up to standard considering it is a 5-star hotel. Went to the second floor for breakfast and found that the food was either not replenished or if they were, the food was cold. There is a lack of variety and flavour too. I think they are short of staff and the supervisors (in black jackets) seemed to be more interested in walking around, talking to each other and scolding their staff. None as observed bothered to help their own staff to serve. The last thing a traveller wants is to hear or witness scolding scene early in the morning.

Service staff are friendly and helpful, but they are more eager to serve the Caucasians and those who speak English - although I can speak Mandarin, I was able to speak fluent English too and thus was able to get things done (but only after switching language - from Mandarin to English).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylviagckoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Sylviagckoh,

On behalf of all the colleagues here at the Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, I would like to extend our most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay with us for the very first time.

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoy our Executive Club Room and convenient location with 2 metro lines next door, however we will certainly look at your comments for opportunities to improve our service.

We certainly hope that you will be looking at a return to Shanghai in the future and we would love to be able to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
194 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I think my overall evaluation doesn't really reflect about the Swisshotel, but I am staying in so many hotels and this one had just nothing special. Overall everything was fine, but somehow steril and I missed a warm atmosphere. The breakfast buffet is good, you will find all you need, the rooms are clean, bed was nice, free wifi...and still there was nothing for me that I would long to come back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank doritg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear doritg888,

Season’s Greetings - thank you for taking the time to submit a review for us here on TripAdvisor for your most recent stay with us here at Swissôtel Grand Shanghai.

We are pleased to read that you found the breakfast buffet good with everything that you need, as well as noting our bedrooms being clean, comfortable bed and free wifi. We are disappointed to read that there was nothing that you would long for to return.

If you wish to review this in greater detail with me please feel free to connect with me on tate.husband@swissotel.com. We are always interested to hear guest feedback, as this helps us as a hotel to improve and better ourselves for our guests and their expectations for our property.

Thank you again.

Tate Husband

Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November/December 2013. The was great, with a good sized bed, great bathroom, and all the facilities you could hope for. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, giving us directions when needed, ordering taxis, and any assistance required. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear helen_joe,

Thank you for sharing your impression on Swissôtel Grand Shanghai with us and other travel fellows.

It was so nice to hear that you enjoyed our bed, bathroom and all the other facilities, breakfast as well. In particular, we are happy to read that our team members offered prompt assistance whenever you needed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai soon in future.

Warmest regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Spacious rooms, with good bathroom facilities with shower and bath. good wifi internet access. Excellent breakfast with big variety of food.
Hotel rooms at the back are noisy due to exterior noise from airconditioners outside so window can not be left open. Also interior airconditionin is noisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Peter H,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards.

Thank you for taking the time from your schedule to share your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you are generally satisfied with our room facilities, Wi-Fi access and breakfast but sorry for the back noise which caused you uncomfortable.

Please know that we would be eager to hear from you directly with any additional comments, questions or concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

this is really a value for money 5 star hotel in Shanghai with very good sized rooms and easy access to popular shopping destinations in shanghai. the best part is their concierge can speak very good English and is very helpful in guiding you to your destinations, their executive lounge is again very good with quite a good selection of beverages but they really need to add some vegetarian food in their buffets

Room Tip: Stay at premier or high floor rooms as they are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gargarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear gargarun,

I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere appreciation for your good feedback on your most recent experiences with us. It is always so rewarding for us to hear from guests like you.

We are pleased to know that you enjoy our room and our ideal location. Swissôtel Grand Shanghai locates at city center of Jing'an District with metro line #2 and #7 stations underground to most of nice places you might be interested and decent shopping malls, restaurants, city attractions just nearby. Especially, we are happy to see our Concierge team members provide you excellent service you prefer. In addition, thank you for your comment on the vegetarian option, and I will share this with our F&B team for consideration.

We are looking forward to your next visit and I am confident that our team will provide personalized service you come to expect of us.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights during a recent business trip. The hotel is very conveniently located and the Executive Club rooms are exceptionally comfortable and very clean. We had an excellent meal at Moon's Steakhouse at the lobby level and the Executive Lounge offered wide selection of drinks and food during the "happy hour". Hotel staff were very helpful and considerate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltraViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear eabakke,

We do appreciate you for sharing with us about your recent stay at Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. Indeed, your comments of appreciation on our great location, Executive Club room and Lounge, dining experience etc will be surely shared in our team.

Please feel free to contact us further with any additional comments of plans to return, as we would be grateful for another opportunity to serve you better as always.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#38 of 5,059 in Shanghai
575 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#57 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,404 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 5,059 in Shanghai
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#163 of 5,059 in Shanghai
201 reviews
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Property: Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#108 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing