We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, great location and amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #94 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked this hotel knowing that it would be in a convenient location, and with the reputation that the Swissotel chain carries internationally. We were not disappointed. The facilities are extremely great and the location is just a short cab ride or subway ride to the Bund (the subway is under the Jing'an Temple, which is a must see). There are plenty of mid to high end stores and plenty of places to eat.

But most importantly, the concierge service is a must see to be believed. I've never met a group of concierge staff who are so well connected and willing to help as the ones at this hotel. Having had our flights cancelled due to a typhoon in Hong Kong, Iris managed to have the agent refund our money and have us booked on an alternative flight. Without her language skills, charm and her patience (she managed to do everything with a smile on her face which included talking on two phones at once) we would have been in a very difficult position. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Jonathan T,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to submit your impression of your most recent stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our location, and thank you for your highly compliment on the service from our conierge team, especially Iris, and it will be surely shared in concerned team then.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. We are looking forward to your next visit and our team will provide the unique personalized service you come to expect of us.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Swisshotel is in a great location near Jing An Temple, really perfect for a business stay.

The rooms and bathrooms are fantastic, and the breakfast selection vast - keep looking, I didn't realise quite how much there was until towards the end of breakfast. Good room service too, quick and hot; with the food to a really high standard.... everything you need if you've just flown in and need to get stuff done.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Cathbarr,

I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for your wonderful feedback on your most recent experiences with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay at Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, in particular we appreciate your positive comments on our room, bathroom and room service.

Please let us know if you have any additional comments you may have about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is located right next to large shopping district and malls with close proximity to Metro Station and Tourist attaractions. If you are a tourist, this is the location to stay. There are many hotels, nightclubs and eateries of all varities close by. Shopolholics can indulge in forigen goods however most of them will be expensive than that in yoru home country.
Plenty of places to roam around by foot and metro, so thats a real saver on pocket.
The hotel itself is a newly constructed building in 2012 and has different views and category of room. The front desk staff are typical Shanghanese Check In staf with a little attitude which they think gives but professional look but actualy seems rude to guests.
Good buffett breakfast spread in Swiss Cafe as i found to fill my stomach even when i am a vegetarian. The Buffet Lunch was not fit for vegetarians.
They have excellent quality of bread which is somewhat difficult to find in shanghai hotels as most cater to Chinese taste which is different then European and like the salt in our bread.
the rooms are most modern ( i stayed on 8th floor- with rubbist view). Try and take rooms with city view on higher floors. Become a member of Swiss Club Gold which is free and you can enjoy 30% off on your Lunch and Dinner bills, which is substantial if you are eating at this location.
Rooms have everything you need, the bathroom walls are made of glass and tiny rooms, but they have privacy even when sharing with someone as they have wooden doors in bathroom ... i like the idea and its better than all glass bathrooms which some hotel boast.
All normal facilities are availble and bath and bed are clean and comfortable.
The hotel itself does not give you a feeling of large property as it is surrounded by many houses across the street which seems to make you look like staying at your home rather than a hotel, but this is restricted only to lower floors.

Room Tip: Higher fllors and City view towards Pudong will be much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tntdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear tntdubai,

We are very happy to hear from you for your high esteem of Swissôtel Grand Shanghai.Thank you for taking your time to share with us such a detailed review, highlighting our ideal location, buffet breakfrast, inparticular our bread and our room facilities.

Swissôtel Grand Shanghai opened in 2008 and our team members make great effort to provide good servcie and good facilities to our valued guests. Our loyalty program is now upgraded to Swissôtel Circle, besides the special offer for dining at our hotel, guests could also enjoy various benefits at other Swissôtel properties.

We look forward to your back in Shanghai soon.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am a fan of Swiss Hotels so bear that in mind. I like the efficiency and general cleanliness I finde wherever I am in the world. If book 14 days in advance I rarely pay more than £100.00 a night for the Swiss inc breakfast which is the BEST on the planet. It is situated in the now very stylish Jing An area of the city, just off the Nanjing Road for shopping and Fumin Road for great cultured night life. Believe me, give this a try, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Nick P,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to submit a review of your stay in August with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and highly recommendation our hotel. In particular, we are pleased to know you are a fan of Swissôtel, and you enjoyed your stay with us and that my colleagues served you well during your stay as well as the central location of the hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any additional comments or concerns, as we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 6 nights here in April and really loved it. The hotel is in a great location at the end of Nanjing Road (for the shoppers) with excellent restaurants in the vicinity, and only a couple of minutes walk to the metro lines. The service was great, as was the food - the only niggle I have was the level of the music in the lobby bar. Why does it always have to be so loud??

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Rick M,

Greetings from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback with regards to your stay in April with us. I greatly appreciate this opportunity you have given me to be able to recognize our colleagues for providing outstanding service to you during your stay. In addition, we are pleased to know that you find our location fit your travel arrangement.

As to your concern of music level in lobby, we try to create nice, lively atmosphere for our valued guests to enjoy.

I certainly hope that you will plan a return to Shanghai and our colleagues would greatly appreciate the opportunity to show our warm and heart-felt hospitality once again.

Warmest Regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I just spent 1 week in Shanghai and stayed at the Swissotel GRAND. What a great hotel and what a convenient location. Great service and I loved the Club Lounge on the 27th floor. I booked an Executive Room and was very well worth it. Breakfast each day was included as well as the snacks and evening drinks. The hotel was very busy so it was nice to enjoy my breakfast in the club lounge where it was much quieter. Nice bedrooms and very nice bathrooms. Service at the hotel was very good – club floor (I think his name was Min) was exceptional and the hotels front desk and concierge team was great too. I recommend this hotel to all travelling to Shanghai/Jing ‘An – great quality at a very reasonable price. I will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear 84Dan,

Greetings from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a nice review of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your perspective towards our improvement and understanding what our guests value most.

We will take great pride in recognizing Min and our Front Desk, Conceirge Team for providing outstanding service and attention to you during your stay. We are also happy to know you enjoy our location, room facilities, and Executive Club Lounge.

Please feel free to contact us further with any additional comments of plans to return, as we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications

Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Swissotel for 4 days and really found it to be a top hotel. The location was perfect for what we wanted – brilliant access to Metro/Subway lines 2/7, located next to Jing ‘An Park and right on Nanjing Road. The service in the hotel was excellent and cannot fault the concierge team for their hospitality and great support. Iris and Martin are highly recommended in terms of Concierge service and if you need anything they can help you. Bedrooms were about the average size for Shanghai, but the bathrooms were great…especially having a separate shower and separate bath (where other International hotels that I have stayed in close to the Swissotel do not have this). Overall I rate this a great hotel with great facilities and staff and recommend this to all looking for a good solid 5 star hotel in an excellent location of Shanghai.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJB_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#21 of 5,138 in Shanghai
607 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#59 of 5,138 in Shanghai
2,490 reviews
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,138 in Shanghai
2,697 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,138 in Shanghai
1,487 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#180 of 5,138 in Shanghai
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#89 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#174 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $134 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing