We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #51 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Conference trip”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Although it took more than an hour to get here from Pudong airport it is in a great location. The staff could not be more attentive, fabulous facilities, functional meeting space and varied menus. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast. My room had a Nespresso machine, mini bar, bath and separate corner shower, although some of my colleagues didn't have these facilities. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have experienced.
I'm not a fan of "lobby bars", and this one had the usual tinny music from Bose loudspeakers and no bass unit. The local draft beer was £8 a pint and a cheeseburger was £17 on the bar menu - outrageous!!!

Room Tip: Dont get a room at the back of the hotel as it overlooks a shopping mall goods entrance and truck qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    467
    103
    32
    21
See reviews for
92
133
81
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

second time staying at this hotel and cannot recommend it high enough. Def. recommend staying in one of the club rooms. service impeccable. the attention to detail, not only from the staff but the rooms itself- simply amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear travelbug0811,

I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere appreciation for your experiences sharing at Swissôtel Grand Shanghai.

I will share your wonderful insight with our colleagues, and also in particular happy to know that you like our club room and services from team members which making a positive impact on your stay.

We truly hope that you will plan to be back in Shanghai and we look forward to showin you our heartfelt service once again..

Best regards,

Michelle Chong
Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Overall good. The breakfast cafe's have more choice will be better. The location is very good, but it was very difficult to have taxi outside anytime. The room's lighting can be lightly near the working desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Jolene Yuk Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Located in downtown Shanghai this hotel makes possible getting a great feel of this great city.

Hotel staff is professional; outgoing with every effort to please.
Restaurant is priced competitively and offers a bang for the buck.

Concierge service, in paricular, is outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Basil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Mr. BRBhan

Many thanks for your review. It truly gives us great pleasure to read your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us.
From your comments, I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed our hotel rooms ,location as well as high compliment on service part. It will surely shared with our team members and will encourage us to continue carrying on great service at all.
I and my team members will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back upon your next visit to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beograd
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

excellent location. very good English speaking staff. Pool is very good. Cleanliness in on high level.
Room is very spacious, toilet is very clean.
Hotel lobby has very low temperature, it can be changed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Mira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mira S

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and full points of your most recent stay with us.

From your comments, I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed our hotel rooms accommodation, location as well as high compliment on service part. It will surely shared in service team and will enourage us to continue carrying on great service at all.

Best Wishes,


Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very well located in Puxi, close to Jing'an Temple, this hotel is a great base for business (what few remain outside of Pudong). Swiss efficiency translated to Shanghai, despite the cultural and linguistic differences, this hotel could easily be a more pricey property elsewhere. As it is, it is great value for money in Shanghai, nestled between 1000 USD a night hotels.

The rooms are well designed for a business hotel, with huge bay windows. This allows for a lot of natural light into the room, making for a nice change from other business hotels. The toilet too is massive, and felt a little daunting for a single person! Not sure if this a China related problem or one for the hotel, but there didn't seem to be too many non-Chinese channels on the television, so I had to make do with the quite-fast-wifi.

Didn't eat too many meals at the hotel, other than breakfast, which had a huge variety (do try their bircher muesli though). The only other time we ate there, we were not too impressed with the dessert we ordered and the drinks we had asked for took some time to reach us. Minor deficiencies in service though, from what is otherwise a very attentive and helpful staff. The concierge team speaks very good English and is happy to give directions in English with details in Mandarin, making it easy to take taxis.

One observation though - the lobby area is large and well appointed, but hardly has any seating! Given that they have space enough for ATMs, the lack of places to sit was a little odd. Anywho, this didn't trouble me much, and I certainly would recommend this for anyone looking to stay in the heart of Puxi. It's a stones throw from a large number of malls, sightseeing points and easy cabbing distance from the French Concession, Xintiandi and Tian Zi Fang.

Room Tip: Higher, the better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear DEVsg,

On behalf of the Hotel, I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for your wonderful feedback on your most recent experiences with us. It is always so rewarding for the entire team to hear from guests with loyality like yourself. It will give me great pride and pleasure to recognize the team here and share this feedback with them.

From your comments, I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed our breakfast and location. Please feel free to contact us further with any additional comments of plans to return, as we would be grateful for another opportunity to serve you better. At the same time,thank you for your further suggestions about our hotel.

Also we are so gald to know that you will recommend our hotel to your friends. Wish we will do better in the future! And We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,


Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is perfectfly placed to experience the sites & sounds of Shanghai and its standard of facilities is the best I've ever experienced for the priced paid. I was only in Shanghai for two days for business and I was able to unwind and be relaxed upon reaching this hotel and utilise its facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Elliot James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Elliot James,

Many thanks for your review. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.I appreciate your comments about the relaxing staying. From your comments, I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed our hotel standard facilities.

My team and I look forward to having you back at our property soon.

Best Regards,


Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#36 of 5,105 in Shanghai
587 reviews
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#58 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#160 of 5,105 in Shanghai
202 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#39 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Property: Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#117 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing