We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #103 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here in May 2013 for 2 days on my business trip.
Rooms are very nice and spacious and well appointed.
Bathrooms are big too, staff is very courteous although they should learn a little bit more English.
Breakfast is great too!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Was there on an official trip for 2 weeks, good confortable stay. Its truly a 5-star luxury hotel. The in-house dining and resturants little over priced, I am told this area is expensive than other areas in shanghai.... couple of food joints and shopping mall in walking distance. there is a shopping mall right behing the hotel with food court etc..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchoudhri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic location beside the Jiang Temple, and beside Line 2 subway station. One block from West Nanjing Road where you can find Issomo Restaurant just several blocks away. Fantastic Italian restaurant. Other great restaurants just down the road also, all in walking distance (such as Dr. Wine). Staff is very helpful and friendly. The standard room is more than satisfactory and would not spend the extra $100.00 per night for the Swiss Advantage next time I go. Probably my favourite hotel and location in Shanghai after going there for 13 years. Did not discover this hotel until a year and a half ago. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Will return to stay at this hotel when I return in October 2013. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear valued guests,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, and I hope this message finds you well.

My colleagues and I are very grateful that you took the time from your schedule to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. From your comments, I am pleased to hear that our location suited your visit purposes.

Furthermore, I am very happy to know that you would return to our property and we are your new preferred hotel in Shanghai based on the overall experience in rooms, restaurants and helpfulness of our staff.

My colleagues and I hope to see you back in October. Until then, please feel free to contact us directly with any questions or comments, as we would be happy to help!

Best regards,

Michelle Chong
Diretor or PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an elegant hotel just off Nanjing Road. It felt very quiet and away from the noise and busyness of Shanghai. Food was good, great breakfast, although service in the breakfast room was very poor. Room service food was great and much better staff attitude than restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Swissotel Grand Shanghai is conveniently located in the Jing'an District close to the Metro, shopping, and the Jing'an Buddist Temple. Restaurants are within an easy walk and a pharmacy is right across the street.
The rooms are beautiful with contemporary design, with comfortable furnishings and with state-of-the-art technology. It is easy to stay in the rooms - each has lots of space and comes with an espresso machine and coffee/tea maker. The bathrooms are well designed also. I will recommend the Swissotel to anyone traveling to Shanghai. Jing'an is a lovely area in which to spend time.
Staff is friendly and helpful. The Swiss Executive Club Lounge provides a substantial breakfast, lunch and evening snacks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I hope this message finds you well and sincerely thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to submit a review of your most recent stay with us!

From your comments, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the treats that were waiting for you as well as your access to the Executive Floor Lounge. I am also especially grateful that your comments for location, and our colleagues have been so helpful and friendly.
Most importantly, your recommendation of our hotel.

Should you have any additional comments or questions, do not hesitate to contact us, as we would be eager to hear from you further! Look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai soon!

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

very good located in old frech qarter, neat by the temple, excellent connected by Shanghai Metro (Metro station behind the Hotel 25m away) 20 minutes to Hongquiao Airport and 30 Minutes to Pudong Airport by Taxi
excellent steak hous inhouse with best quality of steak, very good wine quality,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Detlef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Centrally located - three stations from Nanjing Dong Ru.
A few minutes' walk from Jinhan Station, Line 2.
Many restaurants within 10 minutes' walk.
Friendly and efficient staff.
Clean and well-kept rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Bruce Shin Yin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#62 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,518 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#26 of 5,159 in Shanghai
609 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#97 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#166 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $141 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing