We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #41 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here in May 2013 for 2 days on my business trip.
Rooms are very nice and spacious and well appointed.
Bathrooms are big too, staff is very courteous although they should learn a little bit more English.
Breakfast is great too!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    426
    97
    30
    19
See reviews for
79
121
81
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Was there on an official trip for 2 weeks, good confortable stay. Its truly a 5-star luxury hotel. The in-house dining and resturants little over priced, I am told this area is expensive than other areas in shanghai.... couple of food joints and shopping mall in walking distance. there is a shopping mall right behing the hotel with food court etc..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jchoudhri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic location beside the Jiang Temple, and beside Line 2 subway station. One block from West Nanjing Road where you can find Issomo Restaurant just several blocks away. Fantastic Italian restaurant. Other great restaurants just down the road also, all in walking distance (such as Dr. Wine). Staff is very helpful and friendly. The standard room is more than satisfactory and would not spend the extra $100.00 per night for the Swiss Advantage next time I go. Probably my favourite hotel and location in Shanghai after going there for 13 years. Did not discover this hotel until a year and a half ago. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Will return to stay at this hotel when I return in October 2013. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, and I hope this message finds you well.

My colleagues and I are very grateful that you took the time from your schedule to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. From your comments, I am pleased to hear that our location suited your visit purposes.

Furthermore, I am very happy to know that you would return to our property and we are your new preferred hotel in Shanghai based on the overall experience in rooms, restaurants and helpfulness of our staff.

My colleagues and I hope to see you back in October. Until then, please feel free to contact us directly with any questions or comments, as we would be happy to help!

Best regards,

Michelle Chong
Diretor or PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
268 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an elegant hotel just off Nanjing Road. It felt very quiet and away from the noise and busyness of Shanghai. Food was good, great breakfast, although service in the breakfast room was very poor. Room service food was great and much better staff attitude than restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Swissotel Grand Shanghai is conveniently located in the Jing'an District close to the Metro, shopping, and the Jing'an Buddist Temple. Restaurants are within an easy walk and a pharmacy is right across the street.
The rooms are beautiful with contemporary design, with comfortable furnishings and with state-of-the-art technology. It is easy to stay in the rooms - each has lots of space and comes with an espresso machine and coffee/tea maker. The bathrooms are well designed also. I will recommend the Swissotel to anyone traveling to Shanghai. Jing'an is a lovely area in which to spend time.
Staff is friendly and helpful. The Swiss Executive Club Lounge provides a substantial breakfast, lunch and evening snacks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I hope this message finds you well and sincerely thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to submit a review of your most recent stay with us!

From your comments, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and the treats that were waiting for you as well as your access to the Executive Floor Lounge. I am also especially grateful that your comments for location, and our colleagues have been so helpful and friendly.
Most importantly, your recommendation of our hotel.

Should you have any additional comments or questions, do not hesitate to contact us, as we would be eager to hear from you further! Look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai soon!

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

very good located in old frech qarter, neat by the temple, excellent connected by Shanghai Metro (Metro station behind the Hotel 25m away) 20 minutes to Hongquiao Airport and 30 Minutes to Pudong Airport by Taxi
excellent steak hous inhouse with best quality of steak, very good wine quality,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Detlef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Centrally located - three stations from Nanjing Dong Ru.
A few minutes' walk from Jinhan Station, Line 2.
Many restaurants within 10 minutes' walk.
Friendly and efficient staff.
Clean and well-kept rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce Shin Yin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#47 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#140 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
URBN Hotel Shanghai
URBN Hotel Shanghai
#37 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#23 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Property: Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#101 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing