We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #51 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Clean hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 8 nights at the Shanghai Swissotel from 20 - 28 April. I was a solo traveller. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. The hotel provides complimentary wifi and it was fast. I had several meals at the hotel including room service once. The hotel cafe was very average. Buffet dinner was RMB 288 nett per pax but the selection of food leaves little to be desired for the price charged. The food was not refilled often as well. I did enjoy Yuan Yuan, the Chinese restaurant which is part of a restaurant chain in Shanghai. The red cooked pork is to die for and is also their signature dish. Room service was pretty good taste wise but took over 45 minutes to get the food up to me and it was only a simple beef burger with fries. The hotel is located next to a subway which makes it very convenient to go around town. It is also right behind a upscale shopping mall with the famous London chinese restaurant , Royal China, housed on the 8thfloor of the mall. There is also a supermarket in the basement of the mall to pick up some beverages. Would tray there again when I am next in Shanghai.




Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank selsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest impression of your recent stay experiences with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I am happy to hear that thelocation suited your trip as well. Although I am pity to hear that your feelings regarding the food selection at Cafe Swiss is not that much satisfied, I am very grateful for your note. Your comments will certainly prompt us to upgrade our products and service in the area you mention and give us the opportunity to make efforts to improve.

Please know that we'd like to hear from you directly should you have any additional comments or more detailed feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    463
    102
    32
    21
See reviews for
92
131
81
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Faro
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very good contions for business travels with all the necessary comodities. The location if perfect with very good restaurants and shops nearby. The rooms have a lot of space and create a good environment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very well located hotel. In my opinion a "medium range" Swissotel when I compare to some other Swissotels in the World. I have been to Swissotel Bosphorus in İstanbul and Swissotel Grand Efes in İzmir last year and Shanghai was quite average in comparison.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sertac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent a week here for the Formula 1 and stayed with a lot of other Kiwis at this 5 star hotel. Although in fairness the language barrier in China is what you would expect, the staff here were brilliant and most were able to understand totally what we required. Except for a total confusion of why we would want milk in our tea, room service was quick and reasonably priced. We only tried one restaurant in the hotel and this turned out to be a great night again with excellent service. The concierge we seemed to strike most days was 10 out of 10 with advise and directions.
Footnote: Taxis are very cheap in Shanghai and the traffic wasn't too bad considering.

Room Tip: We just had a standard room with a queen bed, no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel was clean, smart and friendly. Very well appointed bedrooms, with slightly hard beds, but thats a small gripe. Staff were just great, able to get us all over the city with notes in Chinese for the taxi..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Bradly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was there recently for the formula one in April.
Great hotel, great location, friendly and inviting staff, would highly recommend this hotel to others.
The beds were quite hard however.
The service in the flow bar was quick and prompt, the concierge was very helpful especially to a bunch of kiwis who didn't speak any Chinese, with directions and even writing up instructions for taxi drivers.
All in all a great hotel, great location, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bund are the best a friend was on the back side and overload a car park building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatP361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear valued guests,

I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai.

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write review on Tripadvisor by submitting your such great impression of our hotel.

It's alway so nice to hear from great and valuable comments like yours. Your positive comments of your recent stay experience on our location, and friendly team members. I'm also very pleased to know about your great comments especially for the Flow Lounge & Bar and concierge including service from our team members, as well as highly recommended will definitely be shared in our team and encourage us to continue focusing on guest satisfaction at any time in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us further with any inquiries you may have or whether you are considering a future reservation with our hotel.

Kind regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were a group of 260 Kiwi's in Shanghai for the Formula One Grand Prix. The Hotel was the hub for our group travels, events, tours, dinners and much more. The concierge team were rock stars (one in particular but unfortunately I cannot remember his name) and the room and facilities were perfect. We were close to the underground, gourmet shopping, wine, and we felt safe. Everything was very cheap; converting from New Zealand Dollars. This means Shanghai, and Swissotel, is comparatively inexpensive for most western civilisations.

Fantastic location, service, facilities and cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#32 of 5,069 in Shanghai
584 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#58 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,436 reviews
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#165 of 5,069 in Shanghai
201 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Property: Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#96 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing