We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanghai Luxury Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Ranked #49 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Qingdaosh�
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shanghai Luxury Value”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed at 5 star hotels all over China and in Shanghai and I found this to be the best of the bunch for the value. We stayed on the executive lounge floor and found the lounge to far exceed our expectations. From near all day refreshments to cocktail hour, to use of business service, it was all exceptional. The upgraded amenities in the room included a Nespresso coffee maker, which was such a nice improvement over run of the mill brewers or instant coffee found in most Chinese 5 stars.

I have to give accolades to the buffet in the Swiss Café, with the standout being the whole wheat sourdough bread (best bread ever had in China, right next to the Swissotel's croissant). The healthy choices, made keeping my diet routine easy.

We loved the location being near a subway, JIngAn temple and Fumin road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank laohulili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time from your busy schedule to share your impressions of your recent stay with us. We appreciate any and all comments from our guests, as we are eager to provide a Swiss Hospitality consistently to all guests.

I am very pleased to know that our location has been convenient for you and that you enjoyed our Executive Club Lounge and Nespresso coffee maker in the room during your business trip. Furthermore, I am happy to hear your positive experiences with our Cafe Swiss, especially your highly recommendation of whole wheat sourdough bread.

Should you have any further comments, please feel free to contact us directly. My colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back some day in the near future!

Best Regards,

Michelle Chong
Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    451
    100
    32
    21
See reviews for
90
129
81
616
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have just finished a stay at this hotel and it was faultless. The location is excellent.... restaurants galore and for shoppers it is right in the heart of all the designer brands and for those of us with a more modest bank balance within an easy 30 minute walk/ 10 minute taxi to the "fake markets" where a bargain awaits all. The bedrooms are well equipped and offer Free WiFi. The beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of room to spread out. The showers were great with a rain shower head on the ceiling and wall mounted shower heads in the shower cubicle and also in the bath....the bath was used often to alleviate the aching body after a hard day shopping. There are lots of mirrors and also a magnifying mirror perfect for the ladies to do their makeup. The gym and pool areas are fist class with modern equipment, a large lap pool with numerous different spa pools. The buffet breakfasts had plenty of variety offering both western and Chinese options as does the buffet dinner on offer in the hotels own Cafe Swiss restaurant. Perfectly cooked to order steak, lamb chops, pizza and noodles round out a great buffet selection. But the best thing of all are the people. The team they have speak good english and nothing was ever a problem whether it be giving advice on the best places to go or writing chinese instructions for the taxi drivers. The doorman were particularly good, we were always greeted with a big smile and they often went beyond the call of duty once standing in the middle of the street on a Friday night flagging down taxis for their guests. This hotel and it's people deserve every accolade they get. Would I stay there again....You can bet on it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neillayyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It was an excellent hotel with great facilities and service- I thought that the price (although expensive by Chinese standards) was worth it.

I stayed in a Club Room on a higher level floor (25th I believe). The room was large and beautiful, the bathroom incredible and access to the club lounge was a nice feature. Breakfast was served every morning in the club lounge and although it doesn’t seem as extensive as the downstairs buffet breakfast, it did include a nice mix of western and Chinese breakfast food. They also had light snacks available in the evening at around 5pm.

The bed was soft and big and the room was very clean. Wifi worked well, although sometimes it was a bit slow- I had no trouble accessing it using my phone or laptop. Water was provided daily which was a nice touch. I didn’t watch TV, so I can’t comment on the channel availability.
The hotel bar was nice- prices were expensive but not outrageously so. Wine list wasn’t extensive, but covered the basics. The fitness facilities were great- they had a two rooms that were well equipped with treadmills, elliptical and bikes and free weights. I thought the spa and pool were great- I loved using them and found them very clean.

As I single female, I felt safe staying here. Also (and this may not be relevant or important to everyone) staying at a “western” style hotel for my first few days in China did help lessen the culture shock. I ended up liking the Swissotel chain so much that after a few days at another hotel in Beijing, I switched to the Beijing Swissotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
It's so great to have you sharing with your experience in details and be a fan of Swissôtel. Safty and security is our priority to guests, and we hope you will enjoy your stay in Swissôtel Beijing as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I am currently here for the F1 GP and love this hotel. The people are very professional in general and extremely friendly. It is close to a range of shops and transport. The only feedback I would give is to look at the running of the bar in the foyer area. The range of drinks isn't great and why have the desk where the bill is settled completely opposite the bar? However that's a small thing compared to what the place offers. Thanks to everyone for a clean well managed friendly Hotel where I would stay again in a flash.

By the way.. the breakfast is to die for... simply stunning

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hotel is in strategic location. Couple of minutes walk to mrt station(subway). Near to Nanjing Road for shopping and the Bund. Taxi about less than 30yuan to either places. Luxury hotel. Facilities in room very adequate. The toiletries provided are comprehensive. Best of all for coffee lovers, there is a coffee making machine inroom. Wifi provided in room. The bed is comfortable. A very surprising fact for a hotel bed in china. Normally, all hotels in china has very hard bed (which they claim is good for the back) . The staff are very courteous. However, all these good points are offset by the low water pressure in bathroom. This is not confined to my room only. In fact, all my group who were there complained of same. We cant even take a decent shower. So what is the point of a bathtub in the bathroom. By the time the water fills up, it will be cold. :(
Additionanally, the lighting in room is a bit dim. Overall, despite all the luxuries, would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are sorry that you and your guests happened to face water difficulities when staying in the hotel this time, and we hope you could visit again for a better stay, as our team members make effort to provide a comfortable stay for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I travel a lot and sometimes when I travel I want to stay at "locals" place. But sometimes I just don't want to deal with the stress of a nation's customs and go to a familiar place. When I travel to Shanghai I always stay at this hotel. The price is right. The breakfast is ridiculous!! You know the places in the US that have make your own waffle irons? Well this isn't it! The breakfast probably has 100+ fresh items on it. In NYC the breakfast alone would be $50.

The rooms are very nice - staff spoke english and very helpful. For me I have meetings at Plaza 66 and it is very easy for me to stroll on down there. Just make sure you understand how to cross a street in China....

I've stayed here 3 times and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMullholand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Swiss Hotel, very professional, great location, clean. I definetly stay there. Rooms are very comfortable. Staff very friendly. Close to all major shops and shopping malls. Subway is on the step, can go both airports quickly without traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Suleyman O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#58 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#163 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#38 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Property: Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#126 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing