We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super delicious!!!”

Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road)
Ranked #15 of 16,893 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: People’s Square
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Super delicious!!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a "must visit" food shop for me at Shanghai, whenever I go travelling to Shanghai, I have to visit this shop at least once!

The steamed bun is excellent, the skin is just of the right thickness, neither too thin nor too thick! The fillings are excellent too, pork mixes with crab meat, a perfect match!

The price, extremely reasonable, the quality is even much better than those served at famous restaurant, but the price is much much much cheaper!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    210
    59
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonable and good XiaoLongTangBao.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

They only sell dumplings and several varieties of them. If you are looking for more, you might want to visit DingTaiFeng instead.

The dumplings were fresh and tasty. We have 3 varieties at a fraction of the price at DingTaiFeng.

It is a small restaurant serving the locals so don't expect some swanky ambience. You might have to share table when the restaurant is packed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travvelbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always the best”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Best xiaolongbaos EVER.. no frills!!

Morning run (stayed at Radisson 5 mins walking away) for breakfast had more variety, little line-ups

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank leekaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small place but tasty”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

You can't believe I went to Jia Jia Tang Bao at 6:30 and waited for opening as I heard that some types of Tang Bao would be sold out if late. But they start it from 7:30am. I ordered crab meat and shrimp Tang Bao. I am very satisfactory and enjoy them although it's a little pricy comparing with other locals. It can hold only 8-9 tables with 40 people. So if you want to try it. Pls go there a little early before peak time. When you get out of Jia Jia Tang Bao I recommend you to buy some Butterfly cookies/puff pastry at the Bakeshop of Park Hotel which on the same street by 2 mins walking. It's also very delicious and Shanghai taste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaganini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
217 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“delicious and worth the wait!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I learned about this place from a travel show and decided to give it a try. Arrived at the store on Sunday around 1pm, and there was a long queue. Most of the different types of xiao longs were sold out already, and only the crab + meat and crab options remained. The turnover at the restaurant is relatively slow, as the restaurant is small (seats under 50 people), and mainly because the xiao long are made and steamed to order.

We each had one order each, which is 12 pieces. The most traditional meat xiao long is RMB 13 per dozen, and the most expensive the crab xiao long, RMB 99 per dozen. Do visit the restaurant earlier to avoid the queues and have the luxury to choose between more options! Definitely order the ginger vinegar, which I believe they added some sugar to it, and the slight sweet taste complimented the xiao long well. They charge an addition RMB1 per small plate. They also have a few soups on the menu, which were a bit on the salty side for my taste. Note that their menu only offers xiao long, soups and drinks, nothing else.

If you are looking for a xiao long meal, I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeni_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing