We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road)
Ranked #17 of 16,926 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: People’s Square
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Delicious. To enjoy some of the best steaming soup dumplings in the city, get to Jia Jia Tang Bao before they sell out.
Be warned. They usually sell out by one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DM_Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    216
    59
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Shangahi Style steamed buns (with hot soup inside!!)”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great taste and good value - good selection of style including pork meat buns (Rmb 10.5 a dozen), pork and shrimp buns, pork and crab meat buns,.. and, the most luxurious of all, pure crab meat and crab roe buns (Rmb 99 a dozen).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KoonT2343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great bang for the buck”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

really delicious xiaolongbao and incredibly cheap. the downside is long lines and no ambiance. the place is tiny, loud and very warm in summer. you probably have to share a table, but at these prices, it's worth it! all the varieties are great, but my personal favorites are the pork and pork with egg.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tribecamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“most delicious xiao long bao”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Tried the crab pork xiao long bao and the seaweed soup. The seaweed soup is all right. The crab pork bun is very delicious and juicy. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bngsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best Xiao Long Bao ever. Period.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I ate Jia Jia three times in 4 days, and could have eaten it three more times without getting sick of the flavors. Fresh crab dumplings with a juice inside that will literally make you moan. Me and my fiance shared several different types of these amazing soup dumplings and decided we could die happy after a death row meal of the crab dumplings. They are so delicate, and a perfect bite size. You can opt to bite them open to let some steam out, or put a little sauce and ginger on your dumpling and eat in one mouth full (which is my preferred method). As I write this review I am itching to go back to Shanghai if only for these dumplings. I would literally take a flight there to feast on these XLB, even if i had to come back to New York immediately. Truly incredible.

**GO EARLY - like 9/ 10 am because the line gets VERY long for these gems.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Trey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing