We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yasawa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had the time of our lives here. I did not want to leave. Aaron and Bridget ( managers) treated us like gold and Aggie and Kathy ( spa ladies) made us feel special the minute we walked in the door. Paul took us on a nature walk and was so helpful explaining everything to us. Manasa was so gracious taking us to the village and explaining the customs to us. Joe,Ana and Wati were always there to anticipate our needs.The food was delicious with lots of variety. I so enjoyed my morning walks along the beach collecting shells while my husband and sons went fishing. My son caught a big barricuda and my husband caught a couple of red bass and a tuna fish.I loved being put to sleep by the sound of the waves and looking at so many stars in the sky. I miss everyone and everything about this place. Oh and I can't forget the kava ceremony. Very enjoyable.Thanks again for such a wonderful time and we will be seeing you soon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terri149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasawaResort, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Bula

Thank you so much for your review.

Our staff our our greatest assest and really make the Yasawa experience something special. Aaron and Bridget are a fantastic addition to our team and are doing great things in their short time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the resort soon.

James McCann - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 302 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We did a lot of research before deciding to go to Yasawa. Previously we had stayed at smaller resorts, which we enjoyed, but the weather was not good there at that time of the year and we had heard that the Yasawa's were much better endowned with sunshine. We were not disappointed. Initially some of the negative reviews of the resort made us a bit hesitant, but in the end decided that they sounded just a bit silly. The island had just one airstrip and this was the grassy private strip for the resort. The only way to get to the resort is by air; there is no other way to get there. The short ride to the resort was with a van that had seen better days and the unsealed road on the bumpy side, but that was part of the fun, anything better would have been a disappointment. The grounds of the resort are beautiful. The main bure and the individual bure's were fairly modern with the main bure just recently rebuilt after the fire. The new managers, Bridget and Aaron, had just been there for a few months and were absolutely lovely people. The staff was amazing and everything good we have read about them was absolutely true, and the same names could be mentioned every time. Manasa, at his bar, Wati, Bill, Sami(s), Aggie and pretty Cathy at the Spa, etc. The infinity pool was beautiful but not used very much with one of the most beautiful beaches a few steps further. Although the beach at the resort was stunning, the picnics to one of the 11 unspoilt and deserted beaches on the island should not be missed. Our favourite was Lovers 2 and Yawhini Island with its beautiful corals. One of the highlights was our visit to the village with Manasa, who is also one of the main Spokesmen of the village, an important position. Manasa was involved with the resort right from the beginning when it was originally built and the important connection with the resort became quickly clear. Of the 200+ inhabitants of the village, 40 work at the resort and the land lease that the resort pays is an important source of income for the village. We visited the church on Sunday and the village school one of the following days, a fantastic experience, impossible not to fall in love with those kids. Back to the resort, the bures are spacious, modern and clean and all face the beach. Yes there were the odd little visitors, but this is the tropics, nothing unusual here, certainly no "infestations" as in some reports. Don't worry about insect repellent and flash lights, the former is all provided and the latter not necessary. Do bring sunscreen! The food was good, usually a number of choices for every meal. Alcoholic drinks a bit on the pricey side, I would suggest a visit to the duty free store prior to coming for use in your bure, but the social contact at Manasa's bar is not to be missed and you cannot come with your own bottle there of course. We did a lot of snorkeling, but talking to some of the experienced divers we met there, they were telling us that the diving sites were the best in the world with incredible corals and clear waters. The only slightly negative thing, although it didn't interfere with the enjoyment of the place, is the poor state of the thatch on the roofs, but they were working on some of the bures when we were there. Definitely not a place to miss

Room Tip: We took the deluxe beach bure, worth the extra money. Bure's 15 and 16 are the most private with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 26Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasawaResort, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Bula Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely detailed comment about your stay with us.

We read out your comments during our morning staff meeting and everyone was really pleased and proud that they had provided you with a great experience. We hope to see you back on island in the future!

You will be pleased to know that we have nearly completed the thatching of all the bures.

Vinaka,

James McCann - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very happy to recommend this absolutely beautiful resort. A very smooth operation with great management, fabulous, friendly and happy staff and sensational food. The beaches are superb and everything is perfect for a restful, laze-about holiday or a fun packed and exciting time. We enjoyed it all.

Room Tip: All rooms are super special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zlata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have been to this resort numerous times and it gets better each visit.
Everything about it is superb; the staff, the bures, the beaches, the food, etc.
The new main bure, restaurant and bar add to the place, although it was sad to see the old building gone.
Wati, Manasa, Sami, Bill, Atu, the list goes on. All great staff and cannot do enough for the guests.
I did six scuba dives this trip and the last two were up with the best anywhere in the world; Lovers Leap and Fantastic Reef.
We will be back, hopefully next year. Thank you Yasawa!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently returned from our 4th visit to Yasawa Island Resort. We just can't seem to stay away as it is truly a hidden jewel in the South Pacific. The bures are spacious, the staff is so wonderful and accomodating and the food...well the food...what can we say. We were a little hesitant to return after the old pavilion burnt to the ground. We were worried that we wouldn't like the new, more modern building and boy, were we surprised. It is every bit as beautiful as the old structure, but allows even better views of the ocean and more of the wonderful sea air to surround you as you enjoy your meals. It was so nice to see so many of the old staff and we really feel like family when we are there. The snorkeling is wonderful and the private picnics are to die for. Imagine being dropped off on your own private beach with a cooler full of wonderful food AND beer, and an unbrella with mats and towels....talk about a relaxing day of just floating around, looking for shells and snorkeling. It doesn't get any better than that. We just can't say enough about this resort and the owners, managers and staff are top notch. We are already planning our 5th return trip for the spring of 2013. Thanks so much to all our "family" on Yasawa for making our stay so memorable. P.S. We didn't use the spa but got to know the spa girls and they are lovely!!!

Room Tip: Think all the rooms are spacious and have great views of the ocean. We don't think there is suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasawaResort, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Bula Sandy,

Thank you for your guest comment, we really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

You are always a part of our Yasawa family and we cant wait to see you again next year.

Vinaka,


James McCann - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a wonderful lovely place and the thank goodness new owners. The previous owners I feel ran out of money and skimped on quality even though they said it was 5 start! I don't believe any one can expect 5 star in fiji when 99% of the population are on bula time!
Dont take the kids here it's not the place for children..why can't anyone do it well with kids I don't want to do yuk with kids as it's hard enough with children!

Beautiful staff at Yasawa but needs a bit of cash spent on it to give it a Vam Moo look!!

Room Tip: Ask for a full Bure there are half huts and for a bit more go for a full bure down the Northern end!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 66hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YasawaResort, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Bula

Thank you for taking the time to write a response on Trip Advisor.

I note that you stayed with us nearly a year ago so unfortunately you have not been able to experience the tremendous upgrades and improvents we have made in the past 12 months.

The vast majority of comments on Trip Advisor and directly on island in the past year attest to the fact that our staff are amazing and deliver incredible service with a true Fijian flair and are very passionate about the resort . Our family periods are some of our most popular times of the year, with many repeat guests.

I hope we can welcome you back to experience the "NEW" Yasawa.

Vinaka,

James McCann - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had 8 days at the Yasawa Island Resort and Spa in the July school holidays. I highly recommend it. What a fabulous welcoming place. An exciting small plane flight starts the adventure. Aaron, Bridget and every single member of the staff are so welcoming, friendly, helpful, pleasant. You honestly feel like you are visiting your extended family, and by the end of the visit they ARE your extended family! We loved the food, the beach and water activities. Thank you Bridget for your amazing skill and patience with PADI instruction for our 12 and 16 year old. Thank you Aggie & Cathy in the spa - my favourite spot! And thank you to chef for the big fuss made of my husband on his birthday. Accommodation is lovely and tropical. I especially enjoyed the visits to the local village. The church service was awe inspiring, and the school children brought smiles to our faces with their singing and joyful nature. May that relationship with the village continue to be an integral part of the resort and its ambiance. We hope to return another time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Benelong5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasawa Island
14.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,421 reviews
19.9 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
16.3 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Turtle Island
Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Turtle Island
338 reviews
16.6 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya Lailai Island
538 reviews
14.0 mi away
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
Oarsman's Bay Lodge
#2 of 3 in Nacula Island
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yasawa Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasawa Island Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box 9779, Nadi Airport, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Yasawa Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yasawa Island
Price Range: $895 - $2,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yasawa Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yasawa Island Resort & Spa is an exclusive retreat on one of the most remote and unspoiled islands of Fiji. Just 18 luxury bungalows are hidden among luscious tropical greenery, each only a few steps from a pristine, silky white-sand beach. Celebrated for its pristine location, Yasawa Island Resort & Spa has offered guests from around the globe unique, authentic and enriching travel experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yasawa Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yasawa Island Hotel Yasawa Island
Yasawa Island Resort And Spa Yasawa Islands, Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing