We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawa-I-Lau Caves

Sawa-I-Lau Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$543.80*
and up
Majestic Sawa-I-Lau Caves Day Trip by Seaplane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Always fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I have visited Sawa-i-Lau caves about 8 times now. Going back 15 odd years ago when the Yasawa Island were hardly heard of, when we visited we could scale the walls with the local Fijians and walk into the rock crevices before emerging some 7 metres above the water and diving back down.

These days it is a lot more controlled for safety (understandably) and geared towards large group of tourists.

It is still a fantastic trip to rock caves and, for those that watched the move 'The Blue Lagoon', to visit a part of the movie set.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Schwabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    11
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had no idea what to expect, and it was a bit scary at first but once you realised what was going on and got use to it, it was amazing and very unique. I would not recommend it for anyone but confident swimmers however. Very unique, natural attraction, not commercialised etc.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sez9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Trip Not to Miss!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was a long boat ride to the caves and rather scaring going into the dark part of the caves until the flash lights were lighting the area. A very unigue experience. Be sure to take a mask to swim into the dark area as several people had to take turns sharing one.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingKeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"adventure with a bit of Mystery"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The cave was very exciting with a bit of mystery. The first chamber was easy you just walk down some stairs into the cave where you can take some nice pictures.The second was a bit spooky. It takes about 7 seconds to swim underwater under rocks. you really can't see where your swimming so it is a bit overwhelming if your not a good swimmer or if you have a fear of the unknown. I highly recommended you bring a waterproof camera so you can take some pictures of the second chamber it is really amazing. Remember you also have to swim back underwater to get back. After swimming in the cave there is a little outside gift market to buy jewelry and beach wraps so bring some money. Ladies Fijian swim wraps are $25/ $30.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKYLADY131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usti nad Labem, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cave visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Funny, scary, amazing. I had a great time in the caves. It's a real fun. I can only recommend it :) From Long beach it's for about $55 (30min boat trip) + $10 entrance fee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fidjicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawa-I-Lau Caves also viewed

Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
 
Castaway Island (Qalito), Mamanuca Islands
Yasawa Island, Yasawa Islands
 

Been to Sawa-I-Lau Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing