We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uprising Resort - isolated, quiet, charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uprising Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
624 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Uprising Resort – isolated, quiet, charming”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

The resort is slightly east of Pacific Harbour, down a road towards the beach. It is nicely isolated, and we stayed there 3 nights. All the staff we interacted with were very friendly, helpful, and spoke excellent English. They had free internet access through two computers, altho only one was working when we were there. There was also free wireless internet access in the lobby and in the restaurant/bar areas. The book exchange library had 10 very old books. Instead of safes in the rooms, the front desk stored any valuables in a safety box.

There is a row of garden view Bures between the pool area on one side and new construction on the other with a row of ocean view Bures in front. Each garden Bure has a small grass front yard and a covered deck/patio with a table and 2 chairs. The Bure is one large room with one side as the sitting area and the other as the sleeping area. There are 2 beds on a raised wooden floor, a twin and a queen. Both beds are spring mattresses set on wooden slats; the queen was very soft, while the twin was firmer, as it obviously wasn't used as often. There is a closet with some shelving on one side, and a hanging area on the other, but no hangers supplied (wire ones delivered upon request). There was a mirror over a drawer next to the closet, and lights on the two night stands, each with a drawer and cupboard. The sitting area had a sofa and chair with semi-firm cushions, a roll-away bed, coffee table and a mini-kitchen with fridge, storage cupboards, electric pot, large sink, and coffee/tea packages with accessories. There was a ceiling fan with lights and lights on all of the walls. The windows on all walls were louvered with drapes for privacy and screened for bugs. The toilet and sink were outside the room in a separate space with small window. Shampoo, conditioner, and 2 soaps were supplied. The daily housecleaning emptied the trash and gave us new towels, even when we didn't put them on the floor. The shower was also outside in a separate enclosure that had no roof. A romantic outdoor idea that required the user to cross a patio and enter the shower area with a tiny roof to give protection to the towel and clothes during a rain storm. The water temp jumped around no matter what time the shower was taken.

The price included the room, continental breakfast, and access to the beach. They had a small restaurant with a larger bar area. It was situated back from the beach with views of the Lagoon, but there was a grassy area right in front where they had a volleyball net. There was also a small bar area right above the beach. Breakfast was cold/hot cereal, fresh fruit, fruit juice, tea/coffee, white toast, peanut butter, butter, and jam, and 6 different sweet breads or rolls. There was an all day menu (11-5) and a separate dinner menu, all reasonably priced (mains 18-26 FJD). Portions were normal, and the choice was wide. There were delicious light soups, salads with lots of veggies and fish, sandwiches, and dishes with meat, chicken, fish, and/or veggies, and not everything had a sauce with it. It was possible to order a salad/soup as starter and then a main without having to extend one's pants. Desserts were okay. The ice cream was store bought, and they ran out of flavors often. Also, their syrups were very watery and tasteless. All in all, variety of choices, good food, but not great food; more like they have a cook not a chef working there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    193
    56
    22
    20
See reviews for
127
257
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This place is a nice place to go if you want to have a chance to relax, catch some sun and mix with the locals at the same time, and not do much else.
A good resort, a little on the small side which can be seen as a good thing, however extensions are under way, these unfortunately ruined a night sleep as the work went on well into the night and then continued into the early hours of the morning. It only happen once, if it had continued I would have begun complaining. There is not huge difference between the beach bure and the non beach bures - only the sound of the waves is nice to sleep to. We stayed in both due to a mix up with our booking, they were both clean and comfortable.
Many of the adventure activities, that draws people to this part of Fiji are not offered within the resort these are ALL outside and require further bookings and transfers - a little frustrating. Any leisure activity such as kayaking, snorkelling or sailing requires more $$$ even for in house guests.
Food, bar service are all great and the staff were always smiling and willing to help.
There is the local shops that are with in walking distance, however I would have liked to have had a bowl/plate and cutlery in the rooms to allow you to purchase the fresh fruit they sell along the roads and eat it in your rooms, we managed anyway to do this - but it could have been easier.
It is a bit of a drive to get there, and is worth it to see some of the scenery, however I would break up the travelling if we were to do it again, getting off a plane and then in to a bus for another 3 hours is not that great, stopping/staying somewhere on the way is worth it to break it up a little. You do not nee more than 5-7 nights here - unless you are after some serious sun and doing nothing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n33d2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this resort for the majority of our stay in Fiji. While classed as a backpackers resort we found it all we could have hoped for. The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to assist any request. We spent time at the beach bar and also sampled the night life and met up with the staff who treated us like long lost friends. Personal service and assistance extended all the way up the line to the resort manager Alfie and even the owner Rene MUNCH (What a gentleman) The food, service and the setting was faultless. The buree's were great and the resort is building another 12 more luxurious buree's which will be finished by the time we go back next year. Real value for money and we will definitely be back next year.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doigy2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Recently had our 4th stay at the Uprising and included a wedding for our daughter.
On behalf of our family and extended family we want to thank Alfie, James and all of our friends / staff at the Uprising for their hospitality and organizational skills.

We have found the atmosphere always up, all staff are happy and friendly

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneBonett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

After reading some of the other reviews I was a bit worried about what to expect. But the Uprising Resort was very nice. The rooms (bures) are very clean and roomy. The food in the restaurant was so so. They change at least one entree every night but it was nothing spectacular. The free continental breakfast is very limited but the staff is exceptional in making sure you are enjoying your stay in FIJI. The resort is rather small but personal and unique. The beachfront bures have an excellent view of the ocean,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolamnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon, uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Very good accommodation and food, helpful staff, brilliant beach position, inexpensive, easy bus routes passing by, and no flies (sorry Pearl South Pacific).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed in uprising for 4 nights and had a brilliant time there.
I was put into a 'mini' 5 bed dorm for 3 nights which was a private bura with kitchenette, outside shower, veranda etc but just with 5 beds, then got moved to the 'big' dorm on the last night which was just as nice but a bit cramped.
The beach and pool are great for lounging around in the day but when the weather is crap (it rained for 2 days while i was there) there is only limited activities to do unfortunately so it can get quite boring.
The free internet works on and off so dont count on it!
The location is good, and it is only a 10 minute walk to some shops at the Arts Village which was good.
Overall a nice place with reasonably priced food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
908 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,541 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,022 reviews
30.2 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
355 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uprising Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uprising Beach Resort

Property: Uprising Beach Resort
Address: Beach Rd, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uprising Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly nestled on 2 kilometers of sandy beachfront between tropical palms, Uprising offers adventure, relaxation and sheer natural beauty all in one stunning safe location. Imagine a fun friendly place right on the beach where the young and young-at-heart come to play.Authentic Fijian accommodation options range from traditional thatched beachfront Villas and Bures (cottages) to fun tree-house shared facilities. Choose to relax on the beach or by the pool, and have a beachside massage, or take advantage of the many activities on offer. Scuba dive world famous Beqa Lagoon and experience shark diving and soft coral scuba sights, or head into the mountains for a whitewater rafting trip. Other daily activities include game fishing, jet ski island safari’s, golf, shopping at the Arts Village & Cultural Centre of Pacific Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uprising Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uprising Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
Hotel Uprising Beach
Uprising Beach Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing