We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
407
221
72
28
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
221
72
28
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower garden villa beachfront bure arts village rugby team dorm room beqa island island night shark dive river rafting viti levu beach bar fijian style the pearl staff were so friendly food and drinks kava ceremony
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 753 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at Uprising for 4 nights at the end of our trip to Fiji. We wanted to be in Pacific Harbour as we were shark diving with Beqa adventure divers, and had already spent a week at a hotel up the road. We loved the Uprising. We had a beachfront bure with windows everywhere which meant the sea breeze kept the room cool and we definitely didn't need ac. The room had a traditional feel, well designed and really homely. The outdoor (hot water) shower was fab. The beach was literally on our doorstep and we spent a good few hours on comfy sunbeds in front of our bure. We ate in the hotel restaurant, the buffets were good value and tasty, as were the pizzas from the a la carte menu. Drinks were expensive but not extortionate like some places in Fiji.
The pool looked lovely, but having spent so much time in the sea diving, we never felt the need to use it.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, as seems to be the norm for Fijians.

Room Tip: You really don't need ac so I would recommend the beachfront bures rather than the more expensive villas, which seemed to be set back from the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Bula SnowyBennet and thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Uprising Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we are also glad you got to experience the famous shark dive with Beqa Adventure Divers. We are happy you enjoyed the uniqueness of the classic beachfront bures, and enjoyed the bar and restaurant offerings also! Maintaining an affordable and authentic Fijian resort experience is important to us. We thank you once again and wish you safe travels. Vinaka vakalevu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed 7 nights at the Uprising Beach Resort in a BeachFront Bure.

When we first arrived by bus from Suva on Queens Rd. We discovered the front security gate is 100m from the main road. We had to drag 2x25kg bags of luggage to the reception, no arrival service for arriving guests. A golf buggy would be good. Strike 1

We proceeded to the reception to check in only to be greeted by a blank face. The Receptionist had no record of our booking which was pre-paid through (Escape Travel aka Flight Centre) thankfully the resort was not booked out and our booking was able to be honoured. Strike 2

We checked into our Beach Front Bure which is nicely situated 30m from the beach. The view is fantastic and on a hot day these Bures have huge potential.

Bure PROS:
- 30m from the beach and water
- Fantastic View
- Close to restaurant and bar
- Secure (electronic locked with security patrolling)

Bure CONS:
- No Telephone
- Toilet outside (locked ourselves out twice)
- Shower Outside (not heated, no HOT showers even at highest setting)
- No bathmat to wipe wet feat
- No Chux for cleaning up mess
- Beds really uncomfortable (2 singles pushed together, hard cheap mattress)
- No TV, not that you need it but would have been nice
- Lighting very dim
- 1 Roll of toilet paper (ran out twice and had to ask for replacement) Strike 3

Could not fault the service at this resort. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The barman Alex makes awesome cocktails. Jane & Wendy at the restaurant were a pleasure to deal with and made our experience a little better.

This resort is definitely for the budget traveller and set up for hot weather. July is quite cool and cloudy don't epect much sunshine. Stay in NADI this time of year unless you like cooler holidays.

Would NOT stay here again or recommend this resort to our friends. If we came again would stay at THE PEARL, a lot nicer and better atmosphere compared to UPRISING.

2 STARS

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Villa if you have to stay here but would recommend the PEARL over this resort
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Motion2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Bula Vinaka Motion2082, your review is very important to us. We regret sincerely to not have met many of your expectations, but thank you for these to our attention, as well as the good points raised. The access road to the resort, does connect off the Queens Highway, a distance of just over one hundred meters. Your recommendation for shuttle service between the bus stop and resort reception has been noted, and we wish your arrival could have been brought to our knowledge, so your pick up could have been pre-arranged. Upon arrival, not having your reservation is completely unacceptable and we are taking this very seriously to determine how this has occurred. Our sincerest apologies. The classic bures both beachfront & garden view are unique in design, with the open air private landscaped showers being enjoyed by many guests. These classic bures are our simpler accommodation option, and do not have televisions, as our villas do, so thank you for recommending the villas as different option for guests seeking these facilities. The recommendations you have put forward are valid and appreciated and we thank you once again. I will be sure to pass on your thanks and appreciation for the service provided by Alex, Wendy & Jane, and their making of great cocktails. We do wish to have to you back with us someday soon, to redeem our shortfalls and to deliver a much better experience. Once again, we thank you for the good points raised, as well as the not so good aspects requiring improvement. On behalf of everyone at Uprising, vinaka vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed 5 nights with 2 friends in the commadore villa which had a nice big tiled outdoor area off the lounge and bedroom looking over the garden with a peek of the sea even! We enjoyed a relaxing stay here, warm weather, lovely tropical surroundings, swimming in the ocean right out front no need for reef shoes on this sandy beach! Friendly staff who always offered smiles (a reminder to relax and enjoy the slow and unwinding pace) the food was great most of the time and i had one of the best mojito's from the bar too! We choose the Villa because it was spacious and had a kitchenette (hoping to have the option to make some basic meals or snacks for ourselves) but the kitchenette was not equipped for what i was expecting as there was no cutlery, plates extra cups or glasses it was just an empty bench space with 6 bare cupboards and small bar fridge? So we ended up eating at the restaurant every night... i can't complain about not having to cook :) Breakfast which was included in the rate was always a great start to the day, a selection of fresh fruits, interesting breads, cereals, island style bircher and great coffee (esspresso from the bar) if you are a coffee lover you must try the local fijian grown coffee.

I would highly recommend having a massage or two at the Bure on the beach. Barbi put me to sleep with a full body massage using the most beautiful smelling oils from Fiji and it was only $55 fjd.There are plenty of massage options to suit everyone.

It is a bit of a drive to get there but well worth it i thought, its a scenic drive and nice to see all the different villages dotted along the way, you get a sense of Island life by chatting to the driver about what you see it's also a good opportunity to ask any questions about what you want to do/see while you're staying, our driver who was organised by the resort was very helpful and full of info!

You can get a Taxi anywhere you want, reception will organise it for you and tell you how much it will be. It is cheaper to get a Taxi to or from the resort you can probably save $50 fjd rather than using the resort transfer service.

There is an Arts Village down the road about 10 minutes walk where there is a small super market it has everything you need also a few little souvenir shops and restaurants one worth stopping at for the BEST "Kokoda" or raw fish salad is called Waters Edge you can not go to a pacific Island and not try this dish!

It was a great place to stay for relaxing and unwinding, as much as i would love to take my children (preschoolers) to this resort i feel the drive to the Coral coast would be too long and bumpy for them to endure after the flight.

Thank you for the lovely and memorable holiday :)

Room Tip: If choosing a Villa i would spend that little bit extra and go for a beachfront Villa :) Although the Garden Villa's are just fine too.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you Cheboo and Bula from everyone at Uprising Beach Resort. Thank you for taking time to review our property, and your recent holiday. You are correct regarding limited cooking facilities in our villas. We offer all our meals through the restaurant, with the rooms being equipped only with coffee and tea making facilities, and stocked mini bars in the villas. The server counters are provided for guest convenience for storing light snack items and refreshments. Thank you for your compliments on the services provided by the Bar & Restaurant Team, and the Massage Ladies. We are also happy you enjoyed the tour around Pacific Harbour, and explored the many establishments available in our town. We definitely look forward to having you back with us soon, and from everyone at Uprising Beach Resort, vinaka vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We began our 6 night stay pretty late at night but still received a warm welcome & personal service on arrival. As we wound our way through the softly lit gardens to our amazing Commodore Villa, we couldn't wait to see the rest of the resort in the morning.
Our villa consisted of 2 spacious rooms, a huge bathroom, outdoor shower area and wide verandah. The living area has a sofa that converts to a bed (and enough room for an extra rollaway), a kitchenette with mini-bar (but nothing in the cupboards - water/wine glasses at least would have been useful) we had 1 water glass and 2 coffee cups for the 3 of us........ Our king size bed was very comfortable with good quality linens however let down by the fact of trying to squeeze QS sheets on a KS bed and only 2 pillows. Towels were soft & fluffy but not consistently so throughout our stay. Pool towels are available with a $20 refundable deposit. Wi-fi charges are a little on the expensive side for short term access. Better value to buy a multi day access suited to your stay.
The grounds here are paradise and the gardeners should be commended. The palm dotted beachfront is just picture postcard perfect and the 4km long beach is perfect for walking, running, horse riding and of course swimming. Just beautiful and great for kids to play & explore.
The pool & bar areas are casual and relaxed. Meals in the restaurant were of a consistently high standard. Unfortunately there is little difference between the lunch & dinner menus however the Chefs specials each day were a treat (when the serving staff remembered to give us the menu) but it would be nice to see more variation between lunch & dinner as many of the dinner offerings remained a bit "snacky" so after a few days, guests are tempted out to dine elsewhere.
I can honestly say I had the best sirloin steak I've ever had at Uprising. Not a huge steak eater, I enjoyed it so much I ordered another the next evening which unfortunately was one of the worst I've ever had. The chef recognised the poor quality of the meat and compensated us with one of his most delicious desserts.
During our stay we enjoyed the Rivers Fiji rafting trip and Arts Village Show booked for us by the resort. We also walked down to the village a few times for shopping & meals despite advice from a receptionist that we would need a "guide" - you don't - although at night it is sensible to get a taxi ($3) to return to the resort. The resort massage service was fantastic and reasonably priced and there was a good selection of snorkelling, diving, fishing & other day trips available from the on site Freedive Fiji desk who operate from The Pearl at the other end of the beach. Unfortunately the fleet of catamarans was out of action during our stay due to lack of trained operational staff...... Some kayaks would be a good addition to available activities at the resort.
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay at Uprising and it is one of the few places we would consider returning to in Fiji. The relaxed, casual atmosphere combined with the stunning setting is idyllic. It is just a little let down by the apparent lack of any "hands on" management which results in the "little things" becoming neglected. As is usual in Fiji, housekeeping was pretty haphazard and probably our biggest "issue" during our stay. Having your bure serviced at 4pm is too late in the day and consumables need to be replenished. Service in the restaurant was a little "muddled" sometimes but again - not bad for Fiji. In the big picture, these were minor inconveniences and did not distract too much from our stay. I would give this resort 5*'s if these minor service issues were remedied as the location, ambience and options here are excellent.

Room Tip: Commodore villas are larger & newer with A/C. All are very close to the beach. Garden bures more protected from the winds.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tez823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Bula Vinaka Tez823, thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and thank you for the great points noted in your review. Thank you for the points raised regarding glassware in the villas to compliment the minibar service and I will also be sure to follow up with housing keeping regarding the sheets used in the villas, as these should be king sized bed sheets you are correct. We will be sure to pass on your appreciation to our landscaping team here at Uprising for their hard work and attention to maintaining the resorts unique landscaping. I will be sure to communicate and follow up with the kitchen also, communicating the good points as well as the not so good points raised. Thank you once again. We are also very happy you got to enjoy the many activities onsite and offsite here at Uprising. Being located in Fiji’s Adventure Capital, there is as much or as little activity as one may desire. The catamarans unfortunately are the property of the Fiji Hobie Association, who will be holding a Championship Regatta from Uprising, over Beqa Lagoon in August. We have definitely however taken note of the number of Kayaks available and will be working with our tour provider through this. Working towards ensuring everyone has an enjoyable and memorable experience here at Uprising, is our purpose. We thank you once again and on behalf of everyone at Uprising, best wishes and Vinaka vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days in the garden villa and loved it. The villa was spacious and private, only issue was the lighting was a little dim. The staff were always really friendly and helpful, happy to share a laugh. The grounds were always stunning. The serenading was my favourite thing, beautiful guitars and singing. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Meals and cocktails were amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessyMaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Bula Vinaka JessyMaca and thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay at Uprising Beach Resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us, and shared many fun moments with the team also. I will be sure to pass on your thanks and appreciation to the serenaders for the sing songs, as well as the team in the bar, restaurant and kitchen. We look forward to having you back with us very soon, and best wishes from everyone at Uprising Beach Resort. Vinaka vakalevu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews