We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel for all eventualities....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uprising Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We hadn't researched the area particularly well...if we had, we'd have found out that Pacific Harbour is the rainy part of Fiji. We were predominatly here for the shark diving with Beqa Adventure Divers, who we have reviewed separately

We pretty much enjoyed our stay at the Uprising, you can't knock a hotel for the bad weather. Food was pretty reasonable, although the lunchtime & evening menus were very samey, so we found ourselves going out to eat during our week's stay as the menus got a bit repetitive - there are 3 or 4 restaurants, ATMs, supermarket etc about 20 minutes walk from the Uprising

Our room was nice - we opted for the Commodore Beach Villa which was spacious with separate lounge & kitchenette, covered verandah with table & chairs & a good ocean view across the beach

The hotel caters for all types of traveller & includes a dormitory where backpackers stay up to the Commodore beach villas

Overall, we would recommend the hotel but would probably not return if we stayed in Pacific Harbour, as one or two other hotels are better positioned for the diving

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason_and_Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Bula Vinaka Jason_and_Suzanne and thank you for your review and recommendation of Uprising Beach Resort. We are happy you enjoyed overall your stay with us, and we are also happy you enjoyed the dive at Beqa Lagoon, with the team at Beqa Adventure Divers. It was unfortunate that a wet spell had come through during your time, and we hope maybe one day to have you back with us to experience more desirable conditions. On behalf of everyone at Uprising, Vinaka vakalevu once again, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 666 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here with my husband in a beachfront bure in June for 7 days. The weather was almost perfect, we had a few rainy & cloudy days but most of the time it was sunny & warm.

We paid around $150 AUD or $255 Fijian a night for the renovated bure no 5. It was furnished with a double bed, a single, there's a sitting area & a small kitchenette (coffee, tea & sugar was provided) and a very small bar fridge & a kettle. The room was clean but the bedding looks old, the curtains are dirty & the fan is filthy. The bed wasn't that comfortable. We loved the outdoor shower though & being able to see the water from the terrace.

We arrived at around 8.30 pm & it was raining, which was not a great start to our holiday. When we got to our room, there was no kettle & there were items left inside the kitchen cupboards that might've belonged to the previous occupant. We thought this was odd, maybe they don't even clean inside the cupboards.

In the morning it was cloudy so we decided to head to Suva which was around 1 hour on a local blue express but which cost around FJ$5 one way. There's a supermarket, restaurants & shops around 10 minute walk from the resort, you can walk along the beach or on the road to get to the shops.

The room was adequate & I guess for the price I paid I can't complain much, but I would recommend getting a villa that has air conditioning & is newer. During the nights it can get quite hot, so we had to use the floor fan to blow on us when we were sleeping. The bures are quite close together, one night we could hear the next door neighbour screaming at each other.

We had to ask for a kettle which was missing from our room & they provided one around 6 hours later & it wasn't working properly. It didn't switch off automatically, which is quite dangerous, we told this to the receptionist but I don't know whether she paid any attention to me. I asked twice to borrow a hair dryer & the same lady said, we don't provide hair dryers for the bures only Villas. She said that maybe I can borrow one but it has to be returned. I never got the hair dryer, so I had camping hair when I was flying back to Sydney. She didn't go out of her way to help us. One one occasion house keeping didn't even give us toilet paper & I had to ask for it from the reception as there's no room phone. She didn't apologise but just gave me a blank stare & said that she'll get me one. 4 days after we were there 2 glasses turned up in our kitchen & also a box of tissues. Previously, we only had two cups & saucers & two teaspoons. I thought that was odd. Maybe the first few days, they ran out of tissue boxes & glasses?

There were lots of pluses:
- The food from the restaurant was good, the cocktails were sublime, try the Mojito.
- The staff other than at the reception were great. Thanks to Weiss, Jane & the guy working on the grounds who put the cushions on our lounge chairs every day.
- The beach was great, the water was clean.

The minuses
- Having to drive around 3 hours to get there.
- The pool was ok, it was shallow, when we were there hardly anyone used it.
- The bed wasn't comfy.
- There wasn't much information on what's happening in the resort, some nights there would be a bonfire but we didn't know unless we asked a staff.

We also went on an excursion to Paradise Island which we loved. I would recommend it, maybe we just had a really great group of people which made it even better. I had so much fun snorkeling & just enjoying the locals.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Bula Vinaka InVilia, thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us here at Uprising. We are happy you have enjoyed many aspects of your holiday, and we also do regret the not so favourable notes raised also. We sincerely regret to have fallen short on so many very simple aspects of our service, and we are working to rectify these points raised. Ensuring a quality holiday at Uprising is extremely important to us, as well as ensuring true friendliness and helpfulness by our team members. We thank you once again very much for taking time to review Uprising, and we hope we will be able to redeem our service in the not too distant future. Once again Vinaka vakalevu from the team at Uprising.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a Commodore Garden View Villa and loved it. The lighting in the villa was pretty dark at times but I believe this was due to the villas being solar powered. The beach was beautiful and the gardens and pool area well kept. The staff are were very welcoming and friendly. We loved the spin around television/mirror in the villa. Nice to be able to watch some movies either in the lounge area, or in bed after a hard days relaxing. We ate dinner every night at the resort and had very delicious meals that were mostly very reasonably priced. One thing to note: Being that it is a tropical island, there will be little harmless lizards that come to hang out around the villas/bures etc and at night, you will notice frogs jumping around. Expect to see these on a tropical island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Bula to you Tahzan, and thank you for taking time to review your stay here with us at Uprising Beach Resort. We have taken note of the in room lighting being a little dime, and thank you for this note. The swivel television in the villas is definitely a unique feature, and something enjoyed by many guests alike. The Uprising Friendliness demonstrated by our team members is something we take pride in and we are happy you enjoyed this also. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Kitchen team, and Head Chef for ensuring your meals were just as you like them. We definitely look forward to having you back with us soon, and once again Vinaka Vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

‘My New Trusty’ go to place when I need to get away from Melbourne winters. I was here in January, loved it so much have just returned from a week sunning myself and lazing by the pool. This is my favourite place in Fiji. The staff are friendly (and some even remembered me), the cocktails are some of the best I have tasted (hello my dear friend Pina Colada) and they have a very talented new head chef that had me dreaming about the scrumptious red snapper after I returned to the cold.

I am a massive fan of deluxe villas with great service, exceptional food, cocktails that rock your world all sitting in front of beach!

If you want to REALLY relax and chill out, Uprising has got you covered.

Love this place and can’t talk highly enough about it. I am heading back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaHigginbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Bula Vinaka Patricia, it was a pleasure having you back with us and great to see you again. We are very happy that you enjoyed your second stay with us, and most definitely look forward to having you back at Uprising again very soon. We will be sure to pass on your appreciation and thanks to the Bartenders for mixing up your local favourite cocktails, and to Rajesh, our Head Chef for the delicious red snapper meals. From everyone at Uprising, we hope to see you again very soon, and best wishes from all at Uprising, to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently had an opportunity to stay at Uprising with a group of 10 travel agents. We where doing site inspections at various resorts in Fiji. This was my 5th time visiting fiji and most of the other agents also had previous experience with Fiji.

We arrived about 7 PM from a long day of traveling and where shown to our villa, first impression just OK. Nice large room in newer section of the resort with air condition. Definite change from old section to new section, not overly impressed. New section has not established a personality yet. Area too new looking and vegetation looks planted.

The next morning we woke up refreshed from a good nights sleep and went to breakfast, what a change day light can bring. New section still needs some maturity and more Fijian personality but the rest of the resort was fantastic. Nice walk ways mature landscape and well maintained Bures.

At breakfast we discovered the true beauty of Uprising, the people. Smiling fun enjoyable and very helpful. The general manager Alfred Christofferson welcomed every guest personally. Every encounter with the staff was pleasant. We felt more like family than guests.

The meals where really good and with the low cost that made them fantastic.Good variety to choose from well prepared, served. The prices where the most reasonable I have seen in the islands. Beer was COLD.

Had a tour of all the room categories and really liked the beach front Bure no A/C but has a good ocean breeze blowing through. For a couple these Bures will equal your dreams of what a beach Bure should look and feel like.

I could go on and on about Uprising But I will finish with the consensus of 10 experienced travel agents.

Not fancy but very fun with a great feeling. Not only would we be happy to recommend to our clients but we personally would like to return for our own vacations. The best VALUE we have found so far.

Room Tip: Beach front (no A/C but great breeze) great view. New section for A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PTDIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Bula Vinaka PTDiver, and thank you taking time to review your recent stay with us here at Uprising. We definitely try our best to ensure an affordable quality for money holiday, and it is our staff that most definitely make everyone’s stay with us a truly Fijian experience. We will be sure to pass on your thank you’s and appreciation to the team here at Uprising. We look forward to seeing you again very soon, and once again Vinaka Vakalevu to you and your team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Uprising Beach Resort in Late May. We had a fantastic stay and participated in several activities offered by Freedive Fiji, which operates a tour desk at the resort. We went on a fishing charter, an island day cruise and also a snorkelling trip out of Beqa Island,which was amazing!! The snorkelling there is second to none, and I even got to snorkel above a 2 mtr white tip shark ~ it was incredible. We got to know the Freedive Fiji staff at both the Uprising and The Pearl South Pacific Resort which is another resort down the beach from Uprising. All of the water based activities we went on were based at The Pearl, but all activity costs include pick up and return to the Uprising.

Our accommodation was beautiful, we stayed in a beachfront villa, which is reasonably new and we were very impressed with both the villa and the outlook/position. The beach is beautiful and directly in front of the villa is a beautiful swimming beach that is the pick of the beaches along the Coral Coast area, it has sandy beach and beautiful clear waters with a sand bottom, ideal for swimming, unlike most beaches that are crushed coral on the "Coral Coast".

There is alot more on offer at Pacific Harbour than other destinations on the Coral Coast further north towards Nadi. It may take longer to drive there, but once there, you won't mind.

The feel of Uprising is true Fijiian, unlike other resorts that are more westernised, you get to experience the real Fiji here, and we honesltly loved everything about the resort. We even had the Fiji Uprising Under 20's rugby team staying the week we were there, who were very entertaining on their last night, and put on a performance for the guests which was fantastic.

To everyone who whinges about the speed of service etc in Fiji, "take a chill pill!!!" It's Fiji Time ~ just go with the flow and enjoy, look around you at the local smiling faces, do you think they get this relaxed from living our lifestyle? ~ I don't think so ~ and it's not just Kava either, they are happy and we pay good money to be a part of their lives for just a little while so kick back and enjoy!!!

We are returning to Uprising this October and can't wait to go back, see you soon everyone.

Vinaka vakalevu to Alfie and staff,

Wendy & Gavin

Room Tip: Go for a Beachfront Villa, they are new and the location/view is awesome. The outdoor showers are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussie-wendy-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Bula Vinaka Wendy & Gavin, thank you both very much for taking time to review your stay here with us at Uprising Beach Resort. We are very pleased you enjoyed Uprising Beach Resort, and also all the activities available within the resort, and around Pacific Harbour also. I will be sure to pass on your thank s and appreciation to the team for making your Fijian holiday a memorable one. We look forward to having you back with us someday soon, and once again, on behalf of everyone at Uprising Beach Resort, Vinaka vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Uprising has beautiful grounds. If we would have not stayed at 5 star Coconut Grove in Taveuni, and the Blue Lagoon in the Yasawas we would have possibly better ratings. Their restaurant cooks were the most friendly in all of the resort, a special thanks to Sunny who was very sensitive and accommodating to my food allergy. It took a long time to check-in and much longer to check-out. They didn't really seem like we mattered as much. From our experience in Fiji thus far it seems incredibly rare. We don't need to be pampered but they didn't seem very attentive. We had a few issues which were more contributed to the weather than anything, but overall the value for what you get here vs in other resorts are incredibly not comparable.

Room Tip: We splurged on the ocean view villa and it was beautiful. Only problem is that our shower broke and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Bula Vinaka Myrella. Thank you taking time to review Uprising Beach Resort and thank you for your kind words and appreciation. All review points are valued equally and we sincerely appreciate the good points raised, and we value your feedback on the areas we have fallen short. I will be sure to pass on your appreciation and thanks to Sunny, from the Restaurant. Thank you. I could only wish, during your stay that this same hospitality and warmth, could have been experienced equally throughout the resort. This is something we value each day. We sincerely appreciate your time and review, and from everyone at Uprising, Vinaka vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,017 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
216 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,141 reviews
30.2 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 10 in Sigatoka
428 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uprising Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uprising Beach Resort

Address: Beach Rd, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: $77 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uprising Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly nestled on 2 kilometers of sandy beachfront between tropical palms, Uprising offers adventure, relaxation and sheer natural beauty all in one stunning safe location. Imagine a fun friendly place right on the beach where the young and young-at-heart come to play.Authentic Fijian accommodation options range from traditional thatched beachfront Villas and Bures (cottages) to fun tree-house shared facilities. Choose to relax on the beach or by the pool, and have a beachside massage, or take advantage of the many activities on offer. Scuba dive world famous Beqa Lagoon and experience shark diving and soft coral scuba sights, or head into the mountains for a whitewater rafting trip. Other daily activities include game fishing, jet ski island safari’s, golf, shopping at the Arts Village & Cultural Centre of Pacific Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Uprising Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uprising Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
Hotel Uprising Beach
Uprising Beach Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing