We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveler rating
406
220
72
27
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
220
72
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower garden villa beachfront bure arts village rugby team dorm room beqa island feejee experience shark dive river rafting viti levu beach bar breakfast was included fijian style ceiling fan our night stay the pearl
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 750 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Uprising Beach Resort in Late May. We had a fantastic stay and participated in several activities offered by Freedive Fiji, which operates a tour desk at the resort. We went on a fishing charter, an island day cruise and also a snorkelling trip out of Beqa Island,which was amazing!! The snorkelling there is second to none, and I even got to snorkel above a 2 mtr white tip shark ~ it was incredible. We got to know the Freedive Fiji staff at both the Uprising and The Pearl South Pacific Resort which is another resort down the beach from Uprising. All of the water based activities we went on were based at The Pearl, but all activity costs include pick up and return to the Uprising.

Our accommodation was beautiful, we stayed in a beachfront villa, which is reasonably new and we were very impressed with both the villa and the outlook/position. The beach is beautiful and directly in front of the villa is a beautiful swimming beach that is the pick of the beaches along the Coral Coast area, it has sandy beach and beautiful clear waters with a sand bottom, ideal for swimming, unlike most beaches that are crushed coral on the "Coral Coast".

There is alot more on offer at Pacific Harbour than other destinations on the Coral Coast further north towards Nadi. It may take longer to drive there, but once there, you won't mind.

The feel of Uprising is true Fijiian, unlike other resorts that are more westernised, you get to experience the real Fiji here, and we honesltly loved everything about the resort. We even had the Fiji Uprising Under 20's rugby team staying the week we were there, who were very entertaining on their last night, and put on a performance for the guests which was fantastic.

To everyone who whinges about the speed of service etc in Fiji, "take a chill pill!!!" It's Fiji Time ~ just go with the flow and enjoy, look around you at the local smiling faces, do you think they get this relaxed from living our lifestyle? ~ I don't think so ~ and it's not just Kava either, they are happy and we pay good money to be a part of their lives for just a little while so kick back and enjoy!!!

We are returning to Uprising this October and can't wait to go back, see you soon everyone.

Vinaka vakalevu to Alfie and staff,

Wendy & Gavin

Room Tip: Go for a Beachfront Villa, they are new and the location/view is awesome. The outdoor showers are amazing.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussie-wendy-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Bula Vinaka Wendy & Gavin, thank you both very much for taking time to review your stay here with us at Uprising Beach Resort. We are very pleased you enjoyed Uprising Beach Resort, and also all the activities available within the resort, and around Pacific Harbour also. I will be sure to pass on your thank s and appreciation to the team for making your Fijian holiday a memorable one. We look forward to having you back with us someday soon, and once again, on behalf of everyone at Uprising Beach Resort, Vinaka vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Uprising has beautiful grounds. If we would have not stayed at 5 star Coconut Grove in Taveuni, and the Blue Lagoon in the Yasawas we would have possibly better ratings. Their restaurant cooks were the most friendly in all of the resort, a special thanks to Sunny who was very sensitive and accommodating to my food allergy. It took a long time to check-in and much longer to check-out. They didn't really seem like we mattered as much. From our experience in Fiji thus far it seems incredibly rare. We don't need to be pampered but they didn't seem very attentive. We had a few issues which were more contributed to the weather than anything, but overall the value for what you get here vs in other resorts are incredibly not comparable.

Room Tip: We splurged on the ocean view villa and it was beautiful. Only problem is that our shower broke and we didn't have hot water. Would not have been an issue on a sunny day as they run their water heater through solar energy. But than again, we would have not needed hot water as much on a warmer day.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Bula Vinaka Myrella. Thank you taking time to review Uprising Beach Resort and thank you for your kind words and appreciation. All review points are valued equally and we sincerely appreciate the good points raised, and we value your feedback on the areas we have fallen short. I will be sure to pass on your appreciation and thanks to Sunny, from the Restaurant. Thank you. I could only wish, during your stay that this same hospitality and warmth, could have been experienced equally throughout the resort. This is something we value each day. We sincerely appreciate your time and review, and from everyone at Uprising, Vinaka vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Came here last summer with a group of 10 friends and had a great time! My fiance and I stayed in a Burre which seemed like a dream come true at first..until our outdoor shower did not have hot water for 2 days, we found geckos crawling around the walls, and you have to go outside to get to the bathroom which is not fun in the middle of the night. It is a really fun experience being in the Burre for a night or two, but after that I was ready for a clean real hotel room.

The beach here is incredible and the grounds of the hotel are dreamy. There is a cute bar and pool table area where the breakfast buffet is served. ONE MAJOR HINT!!!! The hotel staff is not transparent when it comes to drink prices. They would take my friends order at breakfast for coffee and suggest we make it an irish coffee and not tell us that each shot of alcohol is $12 Fijian dollars, when it was all said-and-done a normal sized Irish Coffee was $38 USD!!!!! Even at the swankiest bar in the US that is a very overpriced drink...so be very careful when it comes to asking the bartenders to make you a drink..just stick to a bounty rum and coke which is what we drank our whole time in Fiji. Bula!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Bula Reena_A, thank you for taking time for review Uprising Beach Resort, and we hope you have arrived home safely. We are fortunate to be located on a very nice stretch of the Fijian coast, and we are glad you enjoyed this. We have also taken note of the points raised regarding the Irish coffee, and would like to assure you once again we have taken strong note of this. I thank you once again, and from everyone at Uprising, vinaka vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing. I enjoyed my stay in the beautiful villa by sea more than the five-star Sheraton resort. Room was new, spacious and clean.
Kayak, snorkelling equipments are all free to use.
However, the pool is too shallow and small for adults to swim. It's safe for kids though.
Location of the resort is good. Close to the jetski and water rafting place.
If you stay in this resort, make sure you book the jetski tour in advance. It is absolutely worth going. You get to ride your own jetski out to sea and all the way to an island in the middle of nowhere. There is lunch provided and after lunch break on the island, you ride your jetski all the way back. The tour lasts for around 4 hours.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claireliu0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Bula Vinaka Claireliu0830, thank you for taking the time to review uprising, as well as the area of Pacific Harbour and the activities available. We are happy you enjoyed your time here with us, and also that you enjoyed the jet ski safari to the nearby island of Beqa. The tour is a one unique one, and is a must do, when staying in Fiji’s Adventure Capital. On behalf of the team here at Uprising, vinaka vakalevu for your review, and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently joined a group of friends for a short retreat in Fiji. We booked through Fun in Fiji and stayed at the Uprising. What a wonderful time! Although the facilities at the resort are beautiful and the food and drinks are wonderful, the staff is what really made my stay. Everyone was so kind, helpful, and always smiling.
Uprising is not a pretentious place. If you want "foo foo" go someplace else. It IS perfect for relaxation and a great base to enjoy the activities around the Pacific Harbour area.
Since we were a group, I staying in a Villa with 2 other women and we had plenty of room to spread out and never felt cramped. The outdoor shower off our villa was amazing, especially on a starry night. The rooms were kept very clean by the housekeeping staff as well. There are 3 options for housing, the large villas, a bure, or the bunk house.
The resort has a variety of things to do and more options are soon to come such as SUP and more kayaks. I would check with them before booking if you have a particular interest in an activity. They don't provide daily culturally focused entertainment but we went out on some local tours and to a school which were amazing. To experience real Fiji, you need to get out the resort anyway.
My only complaint was that my trip was just too short.
Thank you Uprising for a great time!

Room Tip: This depends on what you want. Some are ocean front and some are garden view. If you have extra people (more than couple) you will want a villa. If you are going hard and cheap, try the bunk house.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sailgirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Bula Vinaka Sailgirl62, firstly thank you for you review, and we are also very happy you enjoyed your time with us at Uprising, within the resort and sight seeing around our little part of island. We are lucky to be locked in a region of Fiji, truly alive with local culture, as well as a side of the island still considered very much as the real Fiji. The local community, villages, churches and schools are a great way to see Fiji, and something we take a lot of pride in. We will be sure to pass on your thanks and kind words to the team at Uprising, and we thank you once again for taking time to review Uprising, and Pacific Harbour. From everyone at Uprising Vinaka vakalevu and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews