We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uprising Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Uprising Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights in villa number 5 at this fantastic resort. It is conveniently located just off the Queens Highway and within short driving distance of many venues and activities in the Pacific Habour area.

The resort has 12 cabin accommodations and 12 villa accommodations, the latter are recent additions and all are set in a well laid out, lovely garden. Whoever designed these villas should receive many kudos! The base structure is made of sturdy materials and painted a colour to blend in with the vegetation. The roof is made of typical thatch. The villa had a huge sitting area, a large bedroom, a good sized kitchnette area, a huge bathroom and an enclosed garden shower. The ceiling had open beams inside and the typical Fijian construction was employed. It was interesting to be able to see this construction.. Sliding glass doors in the lounge and bedroom also had sliding, slated wooden doors thus allowing guests to have as much light as desired and privacy, when needed. The furniture and furnishings were attractive and of the highest quality. We also had a front and back porch. The front porch was furnished with rattan funiture and we had a view of the sea as we sat and sipped our coffee! No expense has been spared in the construction and furnishings of these villas.

The reception area bure had a nice lounge and several computers for client use. The reception staff was friendly, efficient and willing to do whatever was necessary to make their guests' stay a pleasant and memorable one. A large swimming pool was located adjacent to the bar/restaurant/dance floor. The open air dining room served breakfast (included in the room price) buffet style and it consisted of both hot and cold dishes. The lunch/dinner menu gave guests a large selection and the food was quickly and efficiently served; quantity and quality were very good and prices very reasonable.

Located next to the beach was a thatched roof bar/snack bar; several other bures were also located here and included a massage spa and a tour/activitiy bure that rented jet skis, boats, snorkel equipment and organized dive and other sightseeing tours. One of the evenings we were there, they had a bonfrie on the beach. This was fun to attend. The sandy beach was clean and had chaise longue.

All in all, there was absolutely nothing one could fault about this resort and we can highly recommend it. It was excellent value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Request a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank azulferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Bula Vinaka Azulferro, and thank you for your very descriptive review of Uprising Beach Resort. We sincerely appreciate your time and review and will be sure to pass on your thanks and appreciation to the designers of the villas. A truly value for money Fijian holiday is something we always do our best to offer all guests staying with. We thank you once again for taking the time to review Uprising, on from Everyone here, vinaka vakalevu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    182
    54
    21
    20
See reviews for
122
246
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Only stayed1 night our last, very handy to Suva airport for connection to international flight home, great for all, couples, families, singles. The outdoor shower was great. We stayed in the beach front bure good size fridge, big kitchen sink and lots of tea, coffee and sugar supplied.
A must stay even if only 1 or 2 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for LouiseHarry thank you for your review of Uprising, our location and resort facilities. We hope you enjoyed the time in Fiji overall, and we definitely look forward to having you with us, next time maybe for a few more days. From everyone at Uprising, Vinaka vakalevu, and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in the beachfront Bure, the staff were friendly, the amenities were great, and the food and drinks were reasonably priced.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and its much nicer than the Pearl and has a better atmosphere.
Personally I wouldn't stay in the dorm room, its exactly like any other dorm room - noisy and with lots of people, especially when the backpacker bus rolls in. But if you don't mind that kind of thing then its actually a nice dorm room - and its located a bit away from everything else so the noise from it doesn't really affect the other guests.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: The beachfront Bure's were worth evey cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaronlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Bula Vinaka Aaronlovestravel, and thank you very much for taking time to review your stay at Uprising, and our resort. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in your private beachfront bure. We thank you once again for taking time to review Uprising, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes from everyone at Uprising.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a great time we had at Uprising Beach Resort. A little gem!! Great location to do pretty much everything on offer and only an hour by bus to Suva, an easy day trip. The staff were great (Mia, Jone, Atu) and a special thanks to Alf, Kesa and all the staff who were working on Tuesday night for making our 18th wedding anniversary so special! The Bures are great but make sure you ask for a pedestal fan if you don't have one (no AC in the bures). It stays warm at night and if the breeze is missing you will need it. All in all a great place to stay if you want to get away from the big resorts!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Bula Vinaka Travis Travellers, and congratulations once again on your 18th Wedding Anniversary. We are happy to have been able to celebrate this with you both. We are happy you enjoyed this special day, and also your stay with us. Once again congratulations. On behalf of everyone at Uprising, we thank you for taking time to review your stay and Uprising Beach Resort, and most definitely look forward to seeing you again very soon, vinaka vakalevu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Uprsing as part of FeeJee Experience. We payed a little extra to get a private room. Wow were we glad! It was beautiful! It was a very big room, it had a double bed and a single. A lounge room, kitchen, ensuite and an outdoor shower. We also had a verandah at the front with a table and two chairs. It was the best resort we had stayed at our whole trip. The beach was very big, the pool area was large with lounge chairs. The restaurant served great food! There was also a bonfire on the beach. I'd stay here again in a hear beat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FreelyVivacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Bula FreelyVivacious, and thank you for taking time to review Uprising. We are happy you enjoyed your private bure accommodation, and stay with us. On behalf of everyone at Uprising Beach Resort, Vinaka vakalevu, safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Uprising Beach Resort is an amazing resort for all types of parties - singles, couples, families. If you're planning to stay here and are accustomed to weather similar to Fiji's, you don't need to invest in the villas. Dorms are also available, where a lot of backpackers stay for a much cheaper price. My boyfriend and I stayed in the beach and garden villas (5 nights in the beach villa, 2 nights in the garden villa), which are newly renovated homes located either in the garden or on the beach. The other houses are not air-conditioned and are not renovated, but you can still choose either a beach or garden house. The villas have one master bed, a living room area with a couch and tv, large bathroom, outdoor shower, and a small kitchen area that consists of a counter, sink, small fridge, drawers, and electric kettle. The villas are air-conditioned for the hot, humid days or you can open both sliding doors from the living room and bedroom to let the outdoor breeze in. These also have a nice-sized porch with chairs and a small table.
If you're wondering whether the beach and garden villas are due to their locations, the differences are minor. Beach villas have a view of the beach, and you can access the water within 15 seconds of walking. The garden villas are located behind the beach villas, but you can access the water within 1-2 minutes of walking. The beach is still in view of some garden villas but if not, you have a nice view of the garden in the center. Picture the letter "D"; the straight line of the letter are the beach villas, and the curved portion of the letter are the garden villas.
The restaurant and pool are nearby, and each morning you can enjoy continental breakfast to start your day. The staff is very friendly and often ask about yourself or the excursions you've been on during your trip. The front desk is extremely helpful, and if you didn't pre-scheduled any of your excursions (like us), they can call the companies for you and inquire about prices and reservations. I suggest planning beforehand for guaranteed reservations and because the staff earns commission on what they assist you with, so you end up paying about 10% more for certain excursions as opposed to the prices listed online. Regardless, they helped us plan and luckily for us, we were able to book everything we desired. We followed tripadvisor's suggestions for the scuba and shark dives and the jetski tours. These were about a five minute drive away. What's even more convenient is that these companies provide transportation to and from the resort.
If you don't want to spend too much on food, you can go to the Arts Village (10-15 min walk or a short cab ride) and go to the grocery store. Otherwise, you can eat at the resort or at the restaurants nearby. The bank is also located in the Arts Village if you need to pull additional funds or to exchange currencies. Any other place you wish to visit can be arranged via the resort cab, or you can walk to the front of the resort near the road for the next bus to take you there (aim for the large tour buses, they are air-conditioned if you don't like to ride in vans!)
I love Uprising Beach Resort, but to be extremely picky, I wish it was located closer to the airport. It takes about 2 hours to get there from the airport :( If you can, to make the driving arrangements easier, ask if the resort cab can pick you up from the airport. Our cab driver told us that they make trips to and from the airport a couple times during the day to pick up/drop off guests, so hopefully that can work out for you. But once you're at Uprising, almost everything is nearby and is easy to get to.
Like I stated previously, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The guests, whether they be backpackers, families, honeymooners, or divers, were very friendly and were never shy to share their stories with us and also join us on our excursions. The water was very comfortable to wade or swim in, no shivering here! I would definitely return the next time I come to Fiji :)

Room Tip: Beach and garden villas are air-conditioned, you can keep your windows and doors shut to prevent ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeighNikole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Bula Vinaka LeighNikol, and thank you for your informative review of Uprising Beach Resort, as well as Pacific Harbour, Fiji’s Adventure Capital. You are correct in saying we are very lucky to be located in very nice little beachside town, with access to a range of resort facilities, and tours, as well as extras such as banks, supermarkets, restaurants, post office, handicraft market and more, for everyone’s convenience. We like to say we showcase a truer side of Fiji, allowing our guests to enjoy Fiji on a different level. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and most definitely look forward to seeing you all again very soon. From everyone at Uprising, moce mada for now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were a little more adventurous than usual on our latest trip to Fiji. We tried quite a few different types of specialty and back packer accommodations.
We stayed in a Beach View Bure (without air conditioning) it was wonderful. The breeze blew straight through the room from front to back, side to side. No need to waste money on an AC.
I was amazed by the beautiful location and the rooms were very spacious. The outdoor shower was much more pleasing than I had imagined.
The pool, restaurant and bar areas were great. Food was well priced and good.
The only let down was the linen. Most of what were supposed to be white sheets and towels, were old and mostly stained with rust color.

Room Tip: Take your bug spray with you. The mosquitos are savage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGatesClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfredUprising, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Bula TheGatesClan, thank you for reviewing the Uprising Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Uprising, in the Adventure Capital of Fiji, Pacific Harbour. We have taken note of your recommendations regarding Linen renewals, and can confirm that the resort has just recently purchased linen in replacement. We are happy also that you enjoyed the resort facilities and thank you once again. On behalf of everyone at Uprising, safe travels and vinaka vakalevu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
35.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
35.2 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uprising Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uprising Beach Resort

Property: Uprising Beach Resort
Address: Beach Rd, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uprising Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly nestled on 2 kilometers of sandy beachfront between tropical palms, Uprising offers adventure, relaxation and sheer natural beauty all in one stunning safe location. Imagine a fun friendly place right on the beach where the young and young-at-heart come to play.Authentic Fijian accommodation options range from traditional thatched beachfront Villas and Bures (cottages) to fun tree-house shared facilities. Choose to relax on the beach or by the pool, and have a beachside massage, or take advantage of the many activities on offer. Scuba dive world famous Beqa Lagoon and experience shark diving and soft coral scuba sights, or head into the mountains for a whitewater rafting trip. Other daily activities include game fishing, jet ski island safari’s, golf, shopping at the Arts Village & Cultural Centre of Pacific Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Uprising Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uprising Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
Hotel Uprising Beach
Uprising Beach Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing