We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveler rating
396
217
70
26
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
217
70
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showergarden villabeachfront burearts villagerugby teamdorm roombeqa islandfeejee experienceshark diveriver raftingviti levubeach barbreakfast was includedfijian styleceiling fanour night staythe pearl
Filter
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 734 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2008

I highly recommend this spot for those travellers who want to mix and mingle with everyday Fijians in lovely surroundings with plenty to do.

Uprising is owned and staffed by locals who are all friendly and very helpful. It also serves as a gathering point for the wider community with many people coming out from Suva and surrounds to use the facilities, especially on public holidays.

A new addition to the resort is a massage therapist and her team. Ever so nice, to get a neck and shoulder massage with a view of the islands off the beach!

While there we also did the Luva River trip offered by Rivers Fiji, who are based in Pacific Harbour. This was a fabulous trip, perhaps made better by the fact that there were only us two as guests that day! The scenery is beautiful and the village people very welcoming and the guides were excellent. Certainly something I would like to do again.

We had a lovely time and have gained some good friends we hope to stay in touch with.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ravtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Uprising was our first stop for our honeymoon in Fiji and a wonderful overall experience. The staff exuded all of the qualities of Fijian hospitality and friendliness - from the servers in the restaurant, to the activity team, to the manager (Alfie?). The manager in particular went above and beyond what was necessary and provided us with excellent customer service.
We stayed in a beachfront bure and it was very comfortable and spacious. I especially loved the shower! One drawback was the lack of air conditioning in our room. Due to the humidity all of our clothes and linens felt damp. (FYI – it rained every day we were there, apparently this is the wet side of the Island)
The food in the restaurant was consistently good and the menu always had nice options.
The location is excellent. It was central enough to do any activity we were interested in - Shark Diving, Arts Village, visit to Suva, village tour, etc. One thing that we thought could be improved is the addition of some evening activities. The days are beautiful and action packed but once it gets dark there really isn't much to do.
The resort itself is very picturesque, the buildings, the landscaping, the pool, and the gorgeous ocean front views.
And all this at a GREAT price. In fact, we really didn’t appreciate just how good it was until we stayed at other resorts in Fiji.
In summary we thought that Uprising was an excellent value. We would definitely go back and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ComingFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed here for a couple of nights - and wished we had booked for longer. Arriving late at night after a long cab journey in pouring rain, we were pleasantly greeted and swiftly processed to our rooms.

The rooms are phenomonal! We stayed in a beach front bure, and the quality is incredible. Lovely beds, very well maintained gardens, excellent seating areas. Great outdoors shower - made you feel you were participating in a Timotei advert with all the plants around you and the sky above. I cannot rate the value for money highly enough for these rooms. Had a great night sleep. Our experience here contrasted with the couple of days we had on Beqa, where the rooms were nowhere near as good, for the same price.

The grounds and surroundings are excellent and very well maintained. Lovely atmosphere at night with the torches lit along the pathways.

Funky bar / restaurant area - maybe a little overpriced, but not disastrously so and certainly on a par with other resorts in the area. However, food was excellent - great breakfasts and very fast and friendly service.

The resort had the service well balanced between friendliness but not too overbearing.

Lots of variety with the water sports - again seemed a little pricey. We went horse riding along the beach - excellent ride and reasonable price.

The resort is also very close to Aqua Trek divers (about 5-10mins drive away) who do the famous shark diving experiences. If you're a qualified diver, this is well recommended!

The only complaints I would have is 1) that the transfer booked back to the airport was the worst drive of my life - a very dangerous driver and a car that broke down on the way, nessescitating us to hitch a lift to departures. However, this was an external cab company that they booked, rather than their own driver, so may not have had much control on this. Wherever possible though, book this in advance and ask for the hotel's bus if it's available!
2) Their online booking process is a bit suspect - we found that online it was saying no vacancies, but there were plenty when we emailed / called to book. Lesson here - contact the resort directly, they were very helpful on email.

All in all, I cannot recommend this highly enough. It's a beautiful place and great fun to stay at.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

It is trully a wonderful place to see and to hangout. I am a resident of Pacific Harbour and i now reside in L.A. The resort is off the hook and the staff are great. They will always try to help you out best they can. I look forward to going over for a holiday just to see how things have improved.
Nothing beats a yummy cocktail and a lie in the sun at Uprising Beach Resort...Good job Rene....

Stayed: November 2007
Thank frahnise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

This was our first trip to Fiji. We were absolutely amazed at the resort, the people, the whole experience.

The grounds were perfectly maintained and beautiful. Everything was clean and the food was always excellent, and plenty of it. Breakfast was the only area that we could say needed any improvement at all, maybe a small buffet?

The staff was always willing to go the extra mile to help. The resort has a real homey feel, the staff seemed to be having as much fun as were the guests, and really tried to keep everyone involved. You never seemed to " get lost in a crowd", they always tried to remember your name, where you were from and really made you feel at home.

We always felt safe, and comfortable. Our son (12) was able to wonder around by himself, without any worrys.

The beach is unbelievable, cleaned constantly, never too rough, never too crowded, nice and warm.

We were in Fiji for 3 weeks and stayed at the Uprising for 1 week, then went over to Beqa for 3 days, then stayed in a private Villa for the remainder of the time. I have to say that even when at the Villa, which was great, we almost every day walked over to The Uprising to have a meal , visit with the staff, and relax on the beach.

The bures are right next to the beach,practically on the beach and you have your own porch. The bures are quite large, comforable beds, and you also have a sitting area. The rooms were kept very clean.I must say I was a little unsure of the outdoor shower!! but let me say it was a really neat experience.

This is definetly not a place to miss, if you go to Fiji. For some reason, maybe it is just in British Columbia, Canada, but we found it very hard to find info on hotels, or resorts in Fiji. Luckily we just fluked upon in , while surfing the net.

We are hoping to plan another trip to Fiji this year and can't wait to see everyone at The Uprising.

Great all round holiday experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BCFamilyChilliwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews