We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day cruise to Yanuca island”

Fishing Charter and Pleasure Cruises
Nadi
1 review
“Fantastic day cruise to Yanuca island”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

On a recent trip down to pacific harbor to visit some friends i had the pleasure of being invited on a day cruise to Yanuca island. The company i chose was Fiji Fishing charters. They were wonderful and friendly and the crew and the islanders made me feel very welcome and made my day special. I had so much fun out there with the friendly staff,LOVO(traditional Fijian barbecue cooked underground),snorkeling just beautiful.would like to thank Mr Hinds and the crew for the wonderful trip.,vinaka!

Josephine Ryland

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoJoRyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpc, Owner at Fishing Charter and Pleasure Cruises, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks Jo Jo glad you enjoyed yourself and the beautiful snorkeling reefs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't speak highly enough!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

What an amazing trip!!!
We would like to thank Michael and all the staff of Fishing and Pleasure Cruises as they contributed to making our holiday an amazing experience. We spent a glorious day on Yanuca Island. This is a must see for everybody. We were on the most amazing beach, white sands and aqua water surrounding us. Lunch was a traditional Lovo-cooked and served by the locals on the island. The conclusion of the trip was past Bird Island which was breathtaking. Snorkelling a must for everybody. My husband also spent another day Fishing. He still cant wipe the smile off his face after catching 2 Mahi Mahi fish. Overall all staff were very accomodating and went out of their way to make bookings and the days trip run smoothly. In particular the interaction with our children was fantastic. The kids loved all the staff and are planning our next trip.
Thanks again
Taryn, Cori, Tannah and Sonni

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Taryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpc, Owner at Fishing Charter and Pleasure Cruises, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It was our pleasure having you all for the week. Glad you enjoyed the various trips and Kava ceremonies. Shall never forget Cori's smile after catching the Mahi Mahi,, beautiful, thanks for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“No friendly Bula service, No fish, No crabs, But bad languge lesson”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were relly looking forward to a relaxing morning 3 hours river fishing with crab pots. we were picked up and taken to the boat landing 15 mins late , only to listen to the boss, call his captin and speak to him with some very verbal swearing, at this point we should have just canceled. but we were driven back to the jetty by where we were picked up from. getting on board boat 45 mins later.
The captin was a very nice polite man,maybe a bit embarrased! we then took a boat ride back up the river to where we had been in standing 15 min early. ( lots of wasted time)
Droped the crab pots, and off fishing, Fishing in the river was non existent, there was noting to cut the bait with, and no help with getting the rod's right. 1x had no sinker and was floating, 1 x heavy and sinking.
At 11.30 Captin had a call from the boss asking where we were at and that it was time to come back. even though we lost 45 mins at the start of our 3 hours. Very disappointing ad a complet waste of time and money. No one has the right to speak to any staff nember like he did. I di not need a lession on verbally abusing people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpcfiji, Owner at Fishing Charter and Pleasure Cruises, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Sorry Mr Expert Fisherman? Firstly we enhanced your chances of catching Crabs by dropping the Nets the night before, sorry they did not obey your orders and climb in? Any Angler in the WORLD knows that Fishing is a sport and is also luck. Any Lake or River Angler understands that you have a floater and a sinker? Not sure of your comments here as some fish feed from the bottom others from the surface that's why we gave you both opportunities. You choose the time to go? Fishing depends on many variables being, sun, moon, clouds tides etc, you should understand this. NO FISHING CHARTER IN THIS WORLD will guarantee a catch in inland rivers and lakes?

Your clock must have a problem also with regards to being late 45 minutes? Your memory obviously deceives your comments as you forgot that I personally picked you up from your Resort in my own Car not from the Jetty? As far as rude comments made when in Rome do what the Romans do! My Fijian Family are extremely pleased with my efforts in educating their father and expect me to tell him off when he is wrong or makes a mistake, it's a learning curve but did not realize you we ear dropping.

We were not late and these comments are completely false please supply your real name and address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

On our recent trip to Fiji we spent a week in Pacifiic Harbour. We had a magnificent day with Mikelly, Fiji Pete, Litty and others. The trp to Yanuca Island is a must for all visitors you are treated to a wonderful LOVO meal,beautiful greetings from the locals, snorkelling, swimming and beautiful weather. Congratulations Michael you have a wonderful team who generally care about you and go out of their way to make your day the best ever.
Highly recommend this attraction to all.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpc, Owner at Fishing Charter and Pleasure Cruises, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks Kate glad you enjoyed yourself along with your other family members. Hope you never forget the "Piggy Back" ride Fiji Pete gave you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Amazing trip”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was the highlight of our family trip to Fiji. We did the 6-hr trip to Yanuca Island. Started off with snorkeling in the bluest water I have ever seen. Then we went to the island resort which included snorkeling, swinging in hammocks, relaxing on the beach, and a "lovo" lunch (traditional Fijian meal). On the way back, we tried fishing. No luck, but still fun. The staff were super-friendly. We saw a lot of wildlife including a blue and black sea snake, large crabs, and a squid. I would totally recommend this to anyone visiting Fiji! Best money I spent during my time here! Thank you to all the staff for such a great day :o)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank April_B258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpc, Owner at Fishing Charter and Pleasure Cruises, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
It was our pleasure having you on board we are all very happy that your Family enjoyed themselves so much. Welcome back anytime, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishing Charter and Pleasure Cruises also viewed

 
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing