We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is a Pearl”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Auck, NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It is a Pearl”
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Have just returned from a week in Fiji staying at The Pearl.

To make it easier I'll break it down and make sure I don't ramble on.

Grounds - beautifully landscaped and immaculately kept. There are hammocks and seating placed all round the gardens where you can relax and enjoy the scenery. The pool is lovely with lots of loungers and different areas to enjoy.

Rooms - ours was a bit tired but I suspect it may be a one off as i asked to look at another and it was alot better but we were on the ground floor which meant we could walk straight out into the garden from our room and we had a daybed outside to use. The ones on the first floor would be ideal then you could leave the door open at night instead of using the old/noisy aircon.

Food/drink - it was average, certainly didn't live up to it's fine dining billing but it did match the prices. Average $17 fiji in the pool, casual dining rooms and $23 - 30 in the fine dining. I'd recommend sticking with the casual. drinks are expensive and a couple of glasses of wine that we had were corked. Breakfast is the usual tropical fare of fresh fruit, yoghurt, limited cereal and toast unless you order separately. I'd recommend the overly priced but very good pancakes and bacon!

Activities - great range of complimentary activities. Kayaking, windsurfing, fishing, snorkelling etc and plenty of other activities can be arranged from the tour desk. The onsite dive shop does sharking diving (we didn't go with them but used a company across the road, you see more fish and coral shen you're not 23m down with a bunch of sharks swimming round you).

Service - pretty patchy. they didn't really have it together. Heard alot of "I'll need to ask my supervisor" and "I'll get back to you" with no feedback. Didn't think they were particularly friendly overall.

Location - great. Didn't think much of Suva, half a day was certainly enough there but haven't seen Nadi. The beach is beautiful which is rare for resorts on this island and Beqa Island is a short trip out with the lagoon in between for great snorkelling and diving. There is also a small village a 5 minute walk away with several cafes, coffee shop and internet cafe so you can get out of the hotel to eat. Just across the road are several small shops and quite a good curry house where you can get a meal for $6.

Overall - I'd be happy to go back, 7 days almost wasn't long enough. Just don't expect attentive service or 5 star dining but the grounds, overall hotel ammenities and the location make up for these small things.

  • Liked — Not the usual Pacific floral nightmare - very chic
  • Disliked — Along with chic very minimalist
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank SpeedyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    325
    137
    55
    56
See reviews for
239
406
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Stayed here for a travel agent familiarisation for 2 nights. Enjoyed the stay quite a lot. Has very friendly staff and has many acitivities on site available. Great for diving and fishing and river rafting not far away. Great for a relaxing holiday as well as for travellers looking for adventure!

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank AmyMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 12, 2006

This not the sort of resort where you will be bombarded with activities, but you will have a completely relaxing time with a lovely pool and an excellent beach. The beach is sandy and has waves unlike much of the beaches on Viti Levu which are surrounded by coral reefs. If you are interested in coral reefs, you can take a day trip to the nearby Bequa Island. Unlike other reviewers, we did not find the food to be exceptional. It was served and priced like fancy resturants, but the actual taste of the food was quite dissapointing. Eating there for an entire weekend was dissapointing and expensive. The breakfast buffet was especially dissapointing, I can understand a lot of typical american breakfast fare may be difficult to find or prepare in Fiji, but you would expect at least the pineapple to be ripe (it wasn't), the selection of cold cereal was limited to rice crispies and bran and the milk was sitting at tropical room temperature! But asside from the food, the resort is beautiful, sophisticated and quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Rooms are more 3 star than 4 and need redecorating we were in an ocean view room. Grounds and reception are good and staff are really friendly. Food is good but over priced.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n00sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2006

My boyfriend and I recently returned from a trip to Fiji where we stayed at the Pearl South Pacific. It was (and will remain) without doubt one of my most pleasurable and memorable holidays. The resort itself was fantastic, the pool was a clear sparkling blue and the facilities, tennis courts, were great and readily available. The cuisine at Mantarae was immaculate - similar to Sydney's top fine dining restaurants. However, one of the main highlights of my trip turned out to be the staff at the Pearl, and the Fijian people. The staff went above and beyond their duties to be friendly and make us feel welcomed- and we were frequently invited to visit staff members villages and drink kava!(my bf loved it).Never have I experienced such incredible service before. I actually felt sad to be leaving people who I now considered as my friends. One other thing I should mention, is that my boyfriend has been to fiji 3 times and stayed at the Shangri-La, however, he found he much preffered The Pearl as it is more suited for couples and honeymooners due to the relaxed and slightly more sophisticated atmosphere of the resort.I highly recommend the Pearl. We cant wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2006

I stayed at the Pearl South Pacific last month, for a brief stay with my teenage son. It is located in the Pacific Harbour area of Fiji. This was previously The Centra Resort. The new owner totally re-did the resort, and it is being billed as "the coolest resort in Fiji." I agree. This was one cool resort. The staff is spot on. Rooms are hotel style rooms, but very clean and comfortable. It is not Fijian in flavor, so if you are looking fo that little grass hut, this will not be the place for you. But it is contemporary and stylish, and the food is something to behold. It is excetional, and gorgeous as well! The beach is lovely, and kept clean, pools are nice, everything very well maintained. Unfortunately we had to leave before their big New Year's Eve bash which sounded like THE place to be in Fiji. THey had sevveral food booths, jazz bands, fireworks, and unlimted drinks until 3 a.m. IF you are looking for a sophisticated place to stay for a few nights, look no further. It's just great. I loved it!

Helpful?
21 Thank Fiji-Suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
34.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Property: The Pearl Resort
Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing