We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor front desk service and will not stay again and will not recommend!”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
san antonio texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor front desk service and will not stay again and will not recommend!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Advertised fully equipped kitchen but not true. Room did not have a can opener. Inquired at front desk and was told they would find one and bring it up. 2 hr later...no opener. Not answering phone so I went down to inquire and was told by front desk they did not have anyone available to go to the kitchen to pick one up. I told her that is unacceptable considering the high price we are paying to stay here. She then told me she would go to kitchen and bring it up herself. Never did. 45 minutes later my son took our canned items to the kitchen and asked if they could open them for us. They REFUSED!!! We had ti drive to local grocer to buy one at that point. Very poor customer service. The front desk never showed up to the room nor did she notify us she was not able to provide it. Very disappointed with service. If they really cared about the customer they would have sent someone out to provide one. Fully equipped kitchen no way! Many other basic items should be provided by hotel such as paper towels, dish soap, coffee filters, etc especially since we are spending over $1900 for just 3 nights. Poor management!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsaavedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    325
    137
    55
    56
See reviews for
239
406
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, NZ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beautiful resort, with really friendly and helpful staff. Stunning views where ever you look. Great pool. Food was good, service was great. Beach was large and lovely. The resort ran a free activity program & offered daily activities, most of these for free. We did a free bike tour, garden tour through the luscious tropical grounds & fish feeding.

It is worth spending money to do a boat trip to an island for a snorkelling trip.
The resort was about 2-3 hours drive from nadi, we hired a car 7 drove there and back, however other than this we actually didn't need to have a rental car, it probably would have worked out better to pay for a transfer.
approx. 10 minute walk to the local shops for great value gifts from the gift shops, a supermarket & cafes etc. Any dairy foods were really expensive, as were the snack foods, if you have room it is a good idea to take your own. Mosquito repellent is a definite must pack!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We bought a voucher from Getaway Lounge and so it was value for money. Free breakfast but after 5 days of eating pretty much the same stuff, i think i definitely won't look at bacon and egg for a while. They did change the choice of veggies everyday but still, they need to have more variety for breakfast (or least mix it up a little). Theme night dinner at the bistro is on Mon/Wed/Fri so if you are there from Friday night, you are stuck with the same menu on the weekend. Dinner on Monday night is Fijian night so it was something different and we enjoyed that. Happy hour is good although the cocktails were not consistently made. Too much alcohol in one and not enough on the other and sometimes it was not what it was supposed to be called.

Room definitely could have a make over. The staff went in our room one night to check the plumbing cause apparently there was a leak in the downstair room. But we didn't have water overflow or anything like that.

Staff were lovely although we got different information from different people all the time. So you need to double check on tour details, etc. There were not many kids around and some staff made an effort to remember my children's names. I thought that was nice. We have the free village tours and that was very good value. We booked a full day beqa island tour and that was very good, the picnic lunch was surprisingly yummy with free alcohol the whole day.

Book your massage early, as soon as you get in because even though the resort is not very crowded, the spa always seems really busy. Definitely don't order potatoes wedges (it's more like baked potatoes) for room service. There's a supermarket across the street so get your supply (water, alcohol, snacks) from there.

I probably won't come back here again mainly because it's quite far from Nadi. It took 3hrs transfer to Nadi, 3 hours waiting at the airport then 3 hours flight back home. It seemed like you lose a whole day travel for a destination that is close to home. Having said that we all had a great time and really enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: The ocean view room is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uyenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Most of our holidays are in Asia,where you get a lot more for your dollar.This is the reason for the "average rateing".
The staff are very friendly,there is a good selection of area's to have a drink & or something to eat for most budgets.
The resort is quite isolated,apart from a cultural village about 20 minutes walk up the road which has restaurants,souvenir's,supermarket,massage(can recommend) & a bank.
Don't make the same mistake as we did with your flight out from Nadi.It is a 2hr drive from the resort plus a 3hr check in before departure.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenA910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Pearl Resort for 9 days, 2 adults with a 3 year old toddler. We had a lovely time and every person that worked at the hotel was super friendly and accomodating. We never experienced "Fiji time", everything was always done promptly and always with a smile :-)

It will be great once they have completed all the renovations they are doing, as although the resort is still nice, it is in need of a makeover and update. We had an ground floor ocean view room which was adequate, tidy but is in need of a makeover.

The only down side to our trip was the weather unfortunately. I dont know if it really is out of the ordinary but it was constantly windy, sometimes stormy and although we still used the pool - it was not the days upon days of lying by the pool in the sun that we had in mind! which was a shame. Due to this I dont know if I would risk staying in the Pacific Harbour area again and would probably opt for the Western side of the island not central Fiji.

My husband dived with Bull Sharks which he really enjoyed and we did an 1 Day Island excursion which was great.

We will be back to Fiji - just probably not the Pacific Harbour region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papunya
Level Contributor
321 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a great spot. This was a great time at the pearl. It was probably the most relaxing holiday we have ever had and it was due to the beautiful hotel and the great staff. The staff were so friendly and helpful and entertaining that our holiday went by so quickly it was sad to see it finish. The pool has a swim up bar and the beer was cold and really nice Fiji bitter. The garden surrounds go right to the beach and there are so many hammocks around that either hold one or two people and it is so relaxing. The beach is great and the just out from the resort is a great reef to go snorkeling on and the fish and the coral are fantastic. The hotel itself has many rooms and they are extremely relaxing and the beds are great and the furniture is well suited to the room. The rooms are very clean and the view from the rooms is out to the ocean.
The food was fantastic and fresh and the waiters were so attentive and friendly it made dining so enjoyable. One of the things they do is take you fishing for a cost and then they will cook your fish for you in the dining room so it is as fresh as. I am probably sure there are better resorts in Fiji but this is very special. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Any room is good as they face the ocean and the view around the garden area at night is great with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

First impression was that it was all bit of a concrete jungle for a Fiji resort and the rooms a little hotel like but the beach, which was super close, and pool area make up for it, loved the swim up bar!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessyMaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
34.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Property: The Pearl Resort
Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing