We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had read some mixed reviews about this hotel so wasn't quite sure what to expect. I had emailed the hotel in advance asking that they book transfers for us and a cot for our 16 month old daughter. I emailed the week before we were due to arrive to confirm these things but did not get a reply and so we had no transfers or cot. This sounds like a bug deal but we found a taxi easily enough and ended up taking our own travel cot so it didn't bother us.

From the moment we checked in we felt right at home - the staff were the loveliest I have ever encountered in any hotel we have stayed in. They all knew our daughter's name by the second day and were always keen to pick her up and give her a cuddle which she loved! I wasn't sure how I'd feel about this as I'd read that they love kids in Fiji but they were so nice and genuine that we were happy to let them do this. When we ate our dinner at night if she got a bit fed up due to tiredness the waitresses would happily come over and take her, walk around with her and generally cheer her up - a welcome 10 minute break to eat our food! They never took her out of our sight which was great. One night one waitress, Mela, pretty much sat down and fed her her whole meal!
The hotel did have an issue with water for 1 day (not their fault) and they gave us a baby bath and water to make sure we could give our daughter her nightly bath which was really thoughtful of them. They did things like make sure there was hand sanitiser in all of the toilets whilst the water was off and the second it came back on the staff were frantically cleaning the place - you couldn't ask them to do anything more in the circumstances.
We ate in the hotel each night and the food was brilliant - not overpriced at all and plenty of choice for a week's stay. The kids menu was also good - not everything came with chips like some places tend to do. There is one restaurant across the road from the hotel and the Arts and Cultural Centre down the road (10 minute walk) but I'm very pregnant so didn't fancy waddling anywhere in the dark.
The grounds are very well maintained and the pool and beach are lovely - our daughter had a great time exploring and there are plenty of activities to keep you entertained.
People have mentioned the beds, and they aren't the most comfortable in the world, and yes, some of the towels were perhaps a little old, but nothing is too much trouble for the staff if you ask them, and the place was spotless so we had very little cause for complaint.
If you want a week of relaxation then this place is ideal - the spa is fantastic and reasonably priced. I would recommend it for couples and people with small children. There is no kids club so perhaps if you travel with kids that are a little older than ours and like that sort of thing it might be worth finding another hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have very small balconies so request a middle floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBCMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 995 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently had a wedding in Denaru and decided to head to the Pearl afterwards for five days to relax. What a terrible disappointment! The whole place was run down, worn out, ripped and tattered cushions, stained, worn out deck chairs, the rooms were empty, the beds were absolutely TERRIBLE. I've never slept on a bed so bad! Literally woke up in terrible pad after one night! The towels were paper thin and felt like cardboard. This is all ok if you are paying for a three star place- however they were charging full price for a back packers experience.
The place has potential but needs some serious dollars put into it.
Staff were ok - nothing special. However it took over an hour to check out due to a lack
Of knowledge by the reception staff.
I certainly will not be returning to the pearl!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ding12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The day before we checked in at The Pearl we'd read in the local papers that the resort had been sold - perhaps this is a good thing as it looks like a few cost cutting measures have been implemented. A couple of examples:

Towels: oh dear - time for some new ones as these are a bit threadbare. Bit of advice to visitors - hold on to your pool towel and use this instead.

Bedding: no blankets or doonas on the bed. Just a sheet and a runner which was a bit hard to share between two - beds are terrible and noisy and the pillows lumpy.

Minibar: none. Just an empty fridge. Not even a token carton of longlife milk for coffee - just some powdered whitener next to the tea bags.

Bottled water: in any location where you can't drink the water it is quite normal to be given a couple of small bottles each day. Not so at the Pearl - here apparently the bottled water we were given on arrival was the "welcome drink" and not another complimentary drop was provided during the stay... oh that's right - unless you request water when none comes from the taps.

Power cutoffs: OK - so this may not have been a deliberate cost cutter but, after the list above, we started to joke about the power being cut off every afternoon around happy hour time so that guests had no choice but to go down to the bar which was conveniently powered by a generator. Happened three afternoons out of four during our stay.

Also worrying were the lengthy water cutoffs which happened twice during our four night stay. Whilst it was fine to swim in the pool to freshen up instead of a shower, we quickly ran out of options for toilets. Hotels in locations where the water supply is not reliable really need to implement procedures that at least allow the main toilets to be flushed - a few buckets of river water in the cisterns would do the trick for the short-term.

On a positive note the restaurant, bar and activities staff were excellent - always friendly and engaging with guests. The happy hour cocktail range and prices were also good. The location is excellent and not as isolated as other resorts in Fiji - plenty of interesting activities in the reort and surrounding area.

The resort is beautiful but we felt let down by the experience.

Room Tip: Wait for a bit until the new owners become established.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coasties99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have just returned from spending 5 nights at the Pearl. It was one of the most relaxing holidays we have had!
The staff are extremely friendly, courteous and seem to really enjoy their jobs. We were greeted with a nice cold bottle of water, which was just what we needed after the long trip from the airport. Amazingly, the reception staff knew exactly what was included in our package, which was a nice surprise! Registering was quick and easy.
Our room (oceam view) was very comfortable, and the shower great. Unfortunatley, the bathrooms lack ventilation and exhaust fans, but a minor issue really. The resort is older, but extremely clean and very functional. We were worried our room would be noisy, as it overlooked the bar, but ot so at all.
There are lots of places to relax and we tried them all!! On a wet day, we lounged around up top on the wonderful sofas with our books, and the guy who was cleaning offered us drinks, which was perfect!
We tried all the Bures out and our favourite was the one with the 2 lounges overlooking the ocean! The pool is immaculate and a good size for all, with a great poolside bar and a shallow end for the littlies.
Happy Hour is great with a selection of cocktails at half price each day, as well as wine and beer. There is always entertainment and the Fijian singers were wonderful!
the food is good and there is a choice of 2 restaurants for dinner. We went to the Lovo dinner, which was followed by a Meke- a performance of Fijian dancers. It was a great night.
The Spa is lovely and we enjoyed a relaxing massage.
We would definitley recommend a visit and we will be returning!
Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing break!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzsunriseQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Pearl is a loong drive from the airport, so from Brisbane you pretty much waste two days travelling out of your holiday. Once there though it is fantastic, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the meals are great and happy hour is chill time with the local musicians! Definitely book ahead for any tours or activities before you go if possible as they're often booked out. I highly recommend the jet ski / snorkelling tour - it leaves from just down the beach and is a fantastic tour. We would have gone twice if we could have. The accommodation is a bit tired but adequate, the standard rooms are along the lines of a motel, clean and comfortable but nothing outstanding. Plenty of places around the grounds to lounge about with a cocktail or Fiji bitter though. The spa is awesome too, very professionally run.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We recently came to the Pearl , for our Daughters Wedding , the service and friendliness of all the staff , exceeded all expectations, the food was excellent , the atmosphere was relaxing , and we totally enjoyed every minute of the holiday , Robert & Wendy D

Room Tip: ocean view rooms ground floor, easy access to grounds and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Most 5 star hotels in Fiji feel like you've died and gone to heaven, and The Pearl is no exception. The resort is beautiful, the beds are so comfy, staff will always say "Bula" and are very happy to go out of their way to help you. The asian restaurant was our favorite for lunch and dinner!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
660 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,749 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#9 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
212 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: $75 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing