We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the long transfer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Well worth the long transfer”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Pearl in August and we loved it. 4 star but the rooms were simple but really clean. We were impressed at the quality of the food, cheap but good quality. Only one overcooked seared Tuna steak and they quickly replaced it when they saw I was unhappy. The Kokodas is to die for. The staff were amazing and couldn't have been nicer. We loved our stay and will definitely be back. A big thanks to Barbara in the spa and Savai, Lola, Serephina and the ever smiling Maria. Keep the good work up, you are doing a great job.

Room Tip: The gardens rooms are better because you don't get the noise from the loud partying aussies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    319
    134
    53
    54
See reviews for
233
400
39
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had never been to Fiji as family, we have been Thailand (Krabi, Koh Samui, Kata Beach, Mayalsia, Singapore) and loved it. Fiji not so much.

Firstly the hotel - had a garden view room, not great but we normally only sleep in the room on holidays so we didn't care and from photo's we didn't expect much. Room was made up each day and no drama. We were hoping to really relax and swim in the pool with the kids all day, this was not the case. The pool was FREEZING. We took our 3 year old son in and thought he would be fine as kids normally don't care are get used to it, when he jumped in he came up and his eyes were the size of smarties and he jumped straight out. Really you think when there was a great pool and not one person was swimming in it day after day you would start to think about adding some solar heating instead of speading money on big plasma's in reception. This really dampened our holiday as we were only left with the beach. The beach water was much warmer than the pool but for 2 days huge winds blew in from the south and it was so strong the sand whipped our legs, 2 other days the beach was fine. We ate buffet breakfast each day which was included in our package and a couple of dinners at the hotel which was enjoyable. One was a dinner with Fijian dancer's at $50 AUD an adult, kids enjoyed this.

I would only recommend this hotel to people who like going to a resort and just staying at the resort the whole time as there is nothing anywhere around this hotel, you can go 15 - 20 minute walk up the road to a Habour Village that has 3-4 great places to eat that are cheap, relaxing and great food, supermaket and few shops. That's it other than booked tours such us snorkling, going to an island or husband tried to book fishing but that was booked out. The resort offers fish feeding each day at 9am, then volley ball at another time, crab races, then something else etc. each day so if this is your thing you will love it.

We did hire a car to drive from Nadi to the hotel, took 3 hours in total and cost $440AUD with extra insurance for 6 days. So glad we hired a car as we would have been very bored on the days we couldn't go to the beach. We drove to a fews little village's and to Suva for a day to get a better feel for Fiji but there is not much to feel as there is nothing really there or in the way of sight seeing to do.
If you wanted to hire a car driving is no issue, infact they have better road manners than in Australia, just a few pot holes you need to watch out for and we took our own car seats for the kids.

Not my idea of a holiday as we like beach/pool for 1/2 day and tour, sight seeing, wandering etc for other 1/2 but we couldn't do any as Pool was FREEZING, we got blown off beach and no sight seeing to do, so sorry we won't go back to Fiji.

Room Tip: Go the extra for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozzyj1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Pearl South Pacific can be deceiving from the outside. After passing the sign into the resort (which is very outdated) I worried about the state of The Pearl, but fear not! It is quite beautiful inside with manicured gardens, a lovely pool & swim up bar/restaurant. The foyer has huge ceilings, completely open with panoramic views from the Mantaray restaurant of the grounds & beach. Sunken in circular lounges line the walls & air conditioning fills the entire building. The Pearl is a very westernized resort..

For the perks: There is a cinema room which no other resort we had been too in Fiji boasted. We booked this out almost every night after buying $3AU dvd's down the road from the artists market and shopping village (which is worth visiting.)
They have room service & modern bathrooms (at least on the second & third floors) Another visitor did say the bottom level was very outdated.
Plasma TVs can be found in your room also with a balcony that faces the beach.
Food ordered from the pool bar was very good.
The romantic dinner we booked in advance was FANTASTIC and so much better than the day-to-day meals from the Mantaray restaurant. If you can fork out a bit more cash, organise one of these in advance and order the Lobster!
The championship golf coarse is worth a visit, even for people that don't play golf, its beautiful and good fun. A pool, day beds and country club are all available there. Hiring of a golf buggy is very cheap, around $30AU for the whole morning.

Now for the disappointing:
Activities organised through the resort like Zip Lining & White water rafting were very expensive.
There are not enough day beds around the resort & no hammocks.
It is extremely windy! What is with that? We came from the Fijian Islands to the main land & avoided the beach as much as we could..
Mosquito's are everywhere.. I got bitten every night. Other resorts we stayed at use a machine/spray thing every afternoon to get rid of them. Pearl doesn't use one of these.
Food from the Mantaray restaurant is bland & overpriced. Go downstairs & order from the Bistro. It's more laid back, affordable & the Indian-inspired dishes were delicious. Probably because they had an Indian chef working who knew how to make a colourful, authentic dish.
The day spa was somewhat disappointing.. Got my nails done, it was cheap but not done properly & the massages were just OK. Compared to the Island resorts we had just come from, they did not compare.
And finally, the other visitors.. wow. I am ashamed to be Australian sometimes because the tourists visiting this resort were absolute bogans, or hicks. Disrespectful, smoked on the day beds so it blew in your face. Classless. I think resorts like this that are very westernized attract bad crowds. So if you want a more private, romantic Fijian experience, head for the Fijian Islands off Port Denarau. Worth the extra money! My preference is Malolo and Matamanoa Island resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second and third levels as apparently the rooms on the ground floor are stuffy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Codydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent a relaxing week at Pacific Harbour recently and the resort is well away from the touristy western side, which suited us well.

What did not impress us was the calibre of the food. We ate in both restaurants and in the top restaurant, three of the four mains of beef (imported not local) had to be sent back - there were so overcooked they were almost impossible to cut.

In the main restaurant, the kokoda was watery - it needed more coconut milk to enrich it, and our tuna sushimi was great chunks of tuna - a radical difference to the lovely sushimi entree a few nights previously. We all asked for two entree size meals as opposed to an entree and a main- they all came out together as opposed to one after the other.

Training is required - the staff are lovely but just not professional enough.

One real bonus though - the Spa is great

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Karorigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Pearl has a fantastic setting but unfortunately is was not backed up by good service by all staff. An area of particular concern was difference in how the staff responded to requests from my wife and I. When l asked nothing was too much trouble ...ie i would ask for my sons soup to be warmed and it would be done with no hassle.....my wife would ask the same staff and would be told there was no microwave. I can only put this down to the fact that l am white and my wife is malaysian. Breakfast was good but never changed for the week....mid week some food was reheated from the day before and the rice had also began to sour... (After being in restaurants for 18 years l know what l am talking about)

We book 2 rooms for our family and they were put on different levels....the booking was placed 6 months before the arrival.

Overall expected more for $1500 for six nights and am disappointed with the service towards non white customers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atheuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from a week in Fiji. Pearl resort was a great relaxing place to stay. Yes, the drive was pretty long, but you can see that on the map! Don't rush it, and think of it as part of the holiday! Food pretty simple, but fine, and breakfasts great way to set up for the day! Also found the curry house across the road had nice cheap curries. Staff very friendly and activities low key but fun. All in all, very relaxed time and perfect break.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms looked fab...we had a very nice garden view, much cheaper..we also had a great deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwihol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have stayed here 2 years in a row now and have found it to be a very enjoyable and a good valued holiday. Do nothing or enjoy the hotel activities - Kayaking, snorkelling, fishing, volleyball, football, petanque, hermit crab and frog races (hilarious) limbo and more...
Book through Expedia for a great package including Breakfast.
Pro's
* Perfect for a romantic couples getaway
* Excellent service always with a smile
* Comfortable rooms with prompt room service
* Great views, grounds and activities both within the hotel and in the local area in general
* Great value for money
* Great food and cocktails
* Proximity to the Arts Village up the road with local art and carvings, restaurants and bars
* Good Wifi $8AUD for 24 hrs
* Happy hour complete with live music
Con"s
* Long way from Nadi (2 hr drive)
* This side of the island can be prone to high winds and rain, you never know how the day will be by the weather in the morning, it changes all day, one minute windy and overcast the next sunny and still
* Never enough towels both in room and by the pool
* Housekeeping take the towels and don't replace them sometimes (housekeeping will give you more if you call for them though) think this has something to do with laundering problems...
* The bathrooms need a complete renovation, the showers have no door and the whole bathroom gets wet with every shower, the water rots the bathroom doors as it sprays towards it, same in both rooms we have stayed in.
* Slippery tiles coming out of the wet bathroom, bit dangerous
* Some meals will be over cooked especially the fish, disappointing as the produce is so fresh and good! Seems a shame to ruin it...
* Not enough pool lounges when the resort is full, get down there early to avoid missing out
* The hotel needs a bit of a tidy up with wood work and paint but hey its not 5 star and you get what you pay for!
Highly suggest going next door to Jet ski safari which take you over to Beqa Island for snorkelling and lunch, its a 65km trip on the jet ski and not for the faint hearted, rough on the way there and back but beautiful and calm once you get there, Beqa island is breathtakingly beautiful and the reef is pristine! Great varieties of reef fish and coral!
Awesome restaurant down at the Arts Village called the Baca Blues Cafe, great cajun, southern American inspired food with a fantastic wine list, local beer and Coopers beer!
We love The Pearl and its staff and we hope this review will assist the owners to restore this hotel to its full potential as we plan to come back for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MamaDan2481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,424 reviews
34.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
979 reviews
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
181 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
34.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Property: The Pearl Resort
Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing