We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Honeymoon”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Reviewed February 22, 2008

We arrived on Valentine's Day, the welcome was great, cool hand towels and a cold drink on arrival.
Our Penthouse suite was superb, magnificent ocean and island views. We were also fortunate enough to be able to watch a large local wedding on the Saturday night held at the resort. It would be a perfect resort for a wedding.
The staff were all professional and friendly.
The setting was idyllic, postcard perfect.
The Mantarae Restaurant was exceptional.
The atmosphere at the Resort is very romantic, lots of comfortable places to relax, trendy bars and the most fabulous golf course.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mandy022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for The Pearl Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 957 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2008

We are expats that live in Suva and have tried to give this place a go for a weekend getaway a few times and have given up, as have many of the Suva expats. On a positive note, the local staff are absolutely wonderful and hospitable, it is just a shame they are working for not so lovely foreigners.

The rooms are tired, old, moldy, and smelly. The resort looks nothing like the website. The food is terrible. The foreign management that we have come in contact with have been absolutely nasty and condescending when the dismal conditions and false advertising are brought to their attention. They have no interest in appeasing the customer, rather seem to take more pleasure in belittling them.

Unfortunately not much good can be said about this place - try the Uprising down the road, or one of the hotels on the Coral Coast (Warwick, Outrigger, Fijian). Much better value for money and they really want you and value you there!

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank suvalocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

I will keep this to the point and leave my personal emotions out of it. We arrived at the Pearl on our honeymoon and birthday expecting the usuall things you would expect on a 5 star honeymoon.
-airconditioning in room was broken
-when asked to get it fixed the staff thought we were just 'silly southerners from australia' not used to the heat. just for the recored, we live in NORTH QUEENSLAND AUSTRALIA (not exactly a cold part of the country)
-after 5 hours they finally moved us to another room
-the new room was on the bottom floor where they were doing renovations, we had payed for an ocean view room
-the room was discusting, hair on towels, dirt on floor and no soft furnishings apart from a bed
-asked to see manager and was told that was not possible and there was nothing else they could do for us
-woke in the morning to maintenance men at our window looking in
-went to breakfast that we were told was going to be a full buffet breakfast, it was only continental
-came back to room to find 4 inches of water all threw the room
-asked to see manager again and was told she was out of town for the day, i asked to leave a message for her to contact us when she returned
-they gave us a temporary room for 'a couple of hours' while they fixed our original room's air conditioning
-while we were laying on the bed watching t.v another maintenance man climbed up on the balcony to work and stood there looking in the window at us
-8 hours later we finally moved back into our original room
-went to have a shower to get dressed for dinner and found that the shower didn't work and the toilet didn't flush
-went and asked for the manager yet again and was told she had returned from town that afternoon but had gone home (she did not contact us like we asked). I asked for her to contact us the next morning at 9am
-the next morning at 9.05am she still hadn't phoned us so we went to reception and did not leave until she came out to see us. 20mins later the hotel manager (helen from australia) finally came to talk to us. She spoke to us like we were 'pain in the [--]' customers. She then proceeded to yell at the front office manager in front of us (very unprofessional) telling her she should've fixed this. all Helen offered us was a seafood platter at dinner that night, she would arrange everything. She told us that there were no pent house suites available as they were all booked out (I asked all the staff if there was anyone staying in them and they said no)
-we went to dinner that night and the staff at the bistro restaurant did not know anything about it. they treated us like [--] and did not serve us for half an hour until they came and slammed down a 'seafood platter' and some bread in front of us. they did not ask us if we would like a drink or anything. the 'seafood platter' was quiet possibly the worst food we have ever eaten (did not eat half of it), it consisted of 10 deep fried fish bites and 5 UNPEELED THICKLY BATTTERED DEEP FRIED PRAWNS, totaly unedible.
-we had wanted to do our dive certificate while we were there but after 48hours of been stuffed around it was too late to book so we missed out on doing that (we had been saving for months)
-from breakfast to dinner the only music you heard throughout the whole hotel was dance/techno music
-we met the owner of the hotel, a pretenious snob from Australia. He said he wanted to 'own an Australian hotel on Fiji land' and that is why you will not find ANY Fiji culture anywhere in the hotel, the staff don't even speak fijian (not even BULA)
-the whole time we were there it rained and blew 40knot winds. If the hotel had been in a better location we would've just moved hotels but it is in the middle of no where. not another hotel for 40km. Unfortunatly we had also pre payed our whole stay, lesson learned.
-The ONLY good thing to actually come of this hotel is their upstairs restaurant called Mantaray's. The food here is 5 star and silver service. Food and staff are fabulous. At the time we were there they did not have a 'head chef' because the owner was trying to find an expat as he believed Fijians weren't good enough cooks. Well i tell you, the food that we ate was cooked from a Fijian and it was the BEST food we have ever eaten, from steak to lobster to chicken it was perfect.
-the facitlities of this hotel are not too bad but unfortunatly due to terrible rooms, bad service and poor location I would have to recommend NEVER going to this hotel. The pictures on the their website look great but unfortunatly are all computer enhanced.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank FiiFii84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Stayed for new years and the following day.

Value for money, Expat living in Fiji we recieved the local rates of $180 FJD (beachside) per night inc breakfast.

The newly built pool is great, the service was spot on, the food was top notch for fiji standards and the beer cold.

The rooms where average, and they are still in the process of upgrading, but as long as your not in the room all day it didnt really
bother us.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank domain44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We booked the Pearl for our honeymoon based on the magnificent pictures shown on the website. The resort is a 3 1/2 hour coach transfer from Nadi airport to the resort which is basically in the middle of no where. When we arrived at the resort the renovations were still underway. The hotel is nothing like the pictures. The grand bar with cascading water was not even completed and the pool that they show on the website is tiny. The rooms were old and smelled of mould. The day that we arrived the airconditioner broke down. The ceiling was leaking right on top of the beds and their were cockroaches the size of your palm (not joking). There is nothing to do around the area and any cruise tours we may have wanted to do could not be booked as the coach transfers do not travel that far. We had no running water for one of the days and for the rest of the days the bathroom dowlights were leaking water (very dangerous). After a few complaints we were transferred to a "better room" with not much improvement until we cut our stay short and relocated to the Warwick resort (amazing place-highly reccomended).

As someone who wanted to experience fijian culture I was very dissapointed that the owner did not have any tradiational fijian nights or food. The place is extremely westernised and for the price you pay you may as well just go to a resort in Queensland.
The service is terrible at the bistro and the food is less than desirable for the price you pay.

The only thing this resort has going for it is the exceptional food and service at the one restaurant (not 4) they have-Mantarey.

If you are hoping for a bit of night life dont even bother-nothing to do!!!
Definately give it a miss until they finish all the renovations (probably mid to late 2008)-the hotel then may be worth staying at.

Stayed: November 2007
7  Thank KarenV81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We have just returned from a week at The Pearl resort situated between Nadi and Suva in Fiji. Although the web site is lovely no one informed us of the terrible room conditions or of the current renovation that is in process. Almost everything was out of use . The front lobby has recently been completed and has a bar with a waterfall. Neither was operational during our stay. the Pool bar was under construction and the Beach Bar was used for Happy hour but nothing else.
We were there to celebrate our son's wedding. On that the hotel came through for us and it was a lovely day. The food was delicious and presented beautifully.
The web site shows rooms that look very nice AND CLEAN! This is not true. The web site is the Penthouse suites and even they need some design help.
Our rooms were old and tacky. They smelled moldy and musty. I know that these climates can be moist but this was beyond that. Every bathroom sink counter was broken and glued together. We had difficulty even staying in the rooms.Although the staff are lovelyand friendly people Not all of them understand what you are saying and often as not they just nod their heads and smile. They are not properly trained to clean to our standards. We are not fancy people but I do not feel that one should spend the top dollar and find such unhealthy conditions
We had a very heav,y rain and encountered a flood on the main floor ( where our rooms were located. We had to squish over very wet carpet to walk to the dining area and it didn't occur to the hotel to take out the carpet to avoid the smell and more mildew. They did so after a couple of days but still left some wet carpeting and a fan operating.. This was still operational until we left( 5 days later)
The 5 restaurants were not to be found, nor were the 4 bars, the Spa etc. If you want to play golf I understand that the golf course is lovely. You can pay for Jet sking or Wind surfing or boating etc., but nothing is right there as indicated
There are not miles of Beaches as indicated on the web site. There is about a mile and then it ends.
The restaurants in the area are not great very greasy and not of the best quality. The Japanese restaurant across the main highway was inedible and most of the 25 of us left our meals
I do feel that when the current management finishes the renovations , the training etc. it will be a Boutique type hotel. Under its current conditions I would not recommend it
Ask if the renovations are complete and get it in writing

Sharon Toronto Canada

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank zeesle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We travelled from the UK to Fiji in August 2007 and particularly picked the Pearl South Pacific as both the diving and hotel looked excellent.We chose to go in Fiji's winter,which meant we experienced some tropical downpours,none of which lasted long and were more like a warm shower.
I chose to dive with Aqua-Trek Beqa as i had emailed a number of times,received speedy and good information and I had really reviewed their website.The diving was amazing,Brandon and the team at Aqua Trek were the best i have ever dived with,friendly,awe inspiring and made the experience more than just diving,their knowledge of sharks and the area is exceptional and everyone made me feel part of something incredibly special.The highlight is the Shark dive where you can see up to 8 species of shark on 1 dive,Bull Sharks included and the possibility a Tiger shark may just turn up(she did on my last dive).Aqua Trek at Beqa was a finalist in the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards this year,recognising and highlighting their excellent work in Conservation in the area.A small levy from the shark dive goes to the village responsible for protection of the reef,so you can give something back.
The Hotel was good,the people were absolutely fantastic,from Ana on reception to Amelia,Cassandra and the team in the restaurants,to Tony and Coely in the bars,and Maria on activities as well as the rest of the team,we could not have wanted for a more friendly environment in which to stay.
The hotel sits on a palm fringed beach,which stretches for miles overlooking Beqa lagoon and Beqa Island,the hotel grounds are beautiful and very well kept,with lush green lawns and vegetation.
The rooms were clean and tidy,with simple decor and the housekeeping team regularly checked to make sure everything was ok.
Activities in the hotel consisted of a variety of things on a daily basis,from football,volleyball, snorkelling to fish feeding,kayaking up the river adjacent to the hotel,boat trips,jet skis,fishing,even frog and crab racing of an evening.If you want to do it,then just make sure you let the team know and they will organise it.You could even get a relaxing massage or workout in the gym.The swimming pool was clean and suitable for all.The Pearl is currently undergoing development to improve on its exisiting facilities in all areas.
Also in the grounds Aqua-Trek Dive Centre and Rivers Fiji are based for adventure tours and adrenalin packed diving.
The food was excellent,a variety of dishes with very generous portions(at reasonable prices),including 'fiji size',which was enough to feed everyone! We found the service was fast and efficient.BBQ on a Sunday afternoon was delicious(choices of steak,chicken and seafood),accompanied by good music.
The Pearl is in range of some great experiences(book through the Coral Sun Desk in the Hotel) and we chose to visit Suva(Fiji's capital),which had lots of shopping opportunities,plus a visit to the museum and government buildings as well as the handicraft centre where you could pick up carved souvenirs.
We also visited the Arts Village(which houses the cultural centre ,shops and restaurants),just 10 mins walk from the Pearl,where we saw Fire Walking,did the Boat and Temple tour,which we found both informative and enjoyable.
We also did the Namuamua river tour,which took us up the Navua river(19km inland by boat) past beautiful and refreshing waterfalls to a Fijian village,where we spent time with the people, enjoyed lunch,dancing and music,learnt about the history of the village and Fiji and even played rugby with the children.A truly fantastic day.
Nadi airport is 2.5 hrs away,so we organised private car transfer to and from the resort and again the service was excellent.
Overall a great hotel,fantastic diving and a choice;kick off your shoes and relax or enjoy an adrenalin filled adventure with the most warm and friendly people you would wish to meet..

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Gary-sharkdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
643 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,661 reviews
18.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#7 of 9 in Sigatoka
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,228 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
24.7 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: $81 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing