We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pearl had advantages and diadvantages”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We just returned from Fiji on Friday, after staying at the Pearl for a week.The hotel/resort is spacious and we liked the fact its not a stack'em and pack'em in resort, like some on the coral coast.Like others we wanted a less overcrowded place.The food was average price and average quality the buffet type breakfast same everyday but enough variety.The pool was great, and we liked the fact theirs lots of indoor and outdoor places to sit and read and or relax.The bedrooms were spacious but I found the beds far too hard,thus ended up not sleeping well.We had a garden view room which smelt a bit damp.The air-con is noisy and you can hear the people next door and their tv's,so a handy tip is -take good set of earplugs!

Room Tip: What ever level you go for- the higher the dearer- take earplugs esp if your a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 995 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

its a nice hotel from the outside, great location but needs to be modernized and renovated. rooms and bathrooms are a bit old. indian food was ok, could be better. staff is good and friendly, like most of fiji. surprisingly has wifi in the rooms, which usually is missing from most hotels in fiji.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We got a great price at only $75 per night, then where upgraded to the red passion penthouse suet for free.
The pearl was great value for money, the staff where friendly and helpfully.
Will be staing at the pearl next time we are in Fiji!
The beach the pearl is on is amazing, you can hire paddle boats and snorkelling equipment for free!
Food was to die!! ( but a little over priced)
The I house beauty spa was lovel!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Georgia5490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

stayed here with friends for 3 nights. this resort is situated right next to the beach. we stayed in an ocean view room on the 1st floor.

pros
hammocks, secluded private beach (can spot fishes in morning), indoor cinema, professional massages, ocean views, palm trees.

cons
shower has no screen. so gets very messy.
breakfast is average, lunch and dinner were a disappointment.
not enough pool lounges.
spa was fully booked - but managed to get 1 treatment.

overall an affordable place to relax and unwind with a good book.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms on 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Been here 3 times now. Pretty good value for money with OK rooms and pretty good facilities. Overall its a very relaxing place to spend a few days. Staff are very friendly.
The long open beach is great for walks, nice island views. Quiet pool area.
Restaurants (2) are of a high quality and there's a pretty impressive (but not inexpensive) wine list. Not a bad little gym.
There are enough activities in the area (Golf, diving, zip-lining, off road etc) to fill your day. The shark dive is a brilliant but perhaps once in a lifetime experience (my kids love the DVD).
Overall if you are closer to Suva on the coast then this is a great place to stay. Aircons are a bit noisy, and they could do with a pillow selection, but now I'm being fussy.

Room Tip: Face the ocean if you can (love the sound of the waves).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I used a Cudo voucher to stay at the Pearl for our first time to Fiji. We absolutely loved it! The weather was disappointing, but the staff were just beautiful and so accommodating. The food was delicious and it was a great place to relax, refresh, and unwind. The transport was easy to arrange although it was a long drive. Just wish we had a few more ds to stay!

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms have a great patio and large table to hang out and sit at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliciay98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My cousin and I decided to meet up in Fiji with her two boys (ages 4 and 7) and my two girls (ages 2 and 3) at the Pearl South Pacific. It was my first time traveling alone so I was a little nervous but it ended up being a fantastic vacation!

After being delayed by almost a day and half with Air Pacific (only airline that travels non-stop to Fiji from Cali) we arrived at the Nadi airport in the evening. We met with the driver who we'd arranged through the hotel. We had asked the hotel to arrange car seats but one of the car seats was too small so my daughter who is 4 had to sit in the back without a car seat. Pretty scary considering we had a 2.5 hour drive to the hotel but you will come to get used to the fact that people in Fiji rarely use car seats at all but to them it's totally normal. Anyway... due to the recent floods, some parts of the roads to the hotel were pretty beat up. The price to get from the airport to the hotel was $190 Fijian. Later in our trip, I met a man from the US who now lives in Fiji who told me that there is a bus that travels to and from the airport and costs a mere $20 (too late). On our return trip to the airport, we booked the taxi directly without the help of the hotel, and it was only $160 Fijian.

Now, I loved everything about this hotel except for the rooms. The open contemporary layout of the hotel is so beautiful. It has a beautiful pool, a pool bar, two nice restaurants with great food, great staff (so nice!), a beautiful beach, a beach lounge area, a cinema room (where you can book for free and watch movies - the hotel has a list of movies available but you can also buy some from the Arts Village for $3 or $4 US dollars)

As much as I loved the hotel, I hated the rooms. We chose a ground floor ocean view. We really didn't have an ocean view as there were plants in front of it blocking our view. It was probably a mistake booking the ground floor as my cousin and I (luckily not the kids) were devoured by the mosquitos!!!! (btw, I had tons of insect repellant on) The beds were very uncomfortable as I don't like hard beds. The pillows were super hard too. I guess it's a matter of opinion as I know people who love hard beds and pillows but for me they were very uncomfortable. The bathroom shower was uncomfortable as there is no door so only 1/2 of the shower is covered with glass and while trying to take a shower water splashes everywhere in the bathroom. In my opinion, the hotel should really think about renovating the rooms.

The hotel is minutes away from the Arts Village. You can either pay $3 Fijian or walk to the village. The village has a small park, restaurants, shops, a bank, and a supermarket. We went there many times during our trip. We had a traditional Fijian massage which was very nice.

We took a day trip into Suva, the country's capital and that was pretty interesting. We loved seeing all the villages along the way, did all our souvenir shopping at Jacks, went to mall, passed by the President's house, etc.

All in all, it was a great trip and the kids really enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shaq4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
660 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,749 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#9 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
212 reviews
43.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range: $75 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing