We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of The Pearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
SUVA
2 reviews
“Value for money”
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Stayed for new years and the following day.

Value for money, Expat living in Fiji we recieved the local rates of $180 FJD (beachside) per night inc breakfast.

The newly built pool is great, the service was spot on, the food was top notch for fiji standards and the beer cold.

The rooms where average, and they are still in the process of upgrading, but as long as your not in the room all day it didnt really
bother us.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank domain44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    327
    137
    56
    56
See reviews for
242
409
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We booked the Pearl for our honeymoon based on the magnificent pictures shown on the website. The resort is a 3 1/2 hour coach transfer from Nadi airport to the resort which is basically in the middle of no where. When we arrived at the resort the renovations were still underway. The hotel is nothing like the pictures. The grand bar with cascading water was not even completed and the pool that they show on the website is tiny. The rooms were old and smelled of mould. The day that we arrived the airconditioner broke down. The ceiling was leaking right on top of the beds and their were cockroaches the size of your palm (not joking). There is nothing to do around the area and any cruise tours we may have wanted to do could not be booked as the coach transfers do not travel that far. We had no running water for one of the days and for the rest of the days the bathroom dowlights were leaking water (very dangerous). After a few complaints we were transferred to a "better room" with not much improvement until we cut our stay short and relocated to the Warwick resort (amazing place-highly reccomended).

As someone who wanted to experience fijian culture I was very dissapointed that the owner did not have any tradiational fijian nights or food. The place is extremely westernised and for the price you pay you may as well just go to a resort in Queensland.
The service is terrible at the bistro and the food is less than desirable for the price you pay.

The only thing this resort has going for it is the exceptional food and service at the one restaurant (not 4) they have-Mantarey.

If you are hoping for a bit of night life dont even bother-nothing to do!!!
Definately give it a miss until they finish all the renovations (probably mid to late 2008)-the hotel then may be worth staying at.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank KarenV81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We have just returned from a week at The Pearl resort situated between Nadi and Suva in Fiji. Although the web site is lovely no one informed us of the terrible room conditions or of the current renovation that is in process. Almost everything was out of use . The front lobby has recently been completed and has a bar with a waterfall. Neither was operational during our stay. the Pool bar was under construction and the Beach Bar was used for Happy hour but nothing else.
We were there to celebrate our son's wedding. On that the hotel came through for us and it was a lovely day. The food was delicious and presented beautifully.
The web site shows rooms that look very nice AND CLEAN! This is not true. The web site is the Penthouse suites and even they need some design help.
Our rooms were old and tacky. They smelled moldy and musty. I know that these climates can be moist but this was beyond that. Every bathroom sink counter was broken and glued together. We had difficulty even staying in the rooms.Although the staff are lovelyand friendly people Not all of them understand what you are saying and often as not they just nod their heads and smile. They are not properly trained to clean to our standards. We are not fancy people but I do not feel that one should spend the top dollar and find such unhealthy conditions
We had a very heav,y rain and encountered a flood on the main floor ( where our rooms were located. We had to squish over very wet carpet to walk to the dining area and it didn't occur to the hotel to take out the carpet to avoid the smell and more mildew. They did so after a couple of days but still left some wet carpeting and a fan operating.. This was still operational until we left( 5 days later)
The 5 restaurants were not to be found, nor were the 4 bars, the Spa etc. If you want to play golf I understand that the golf course is lovely. You can pay for Jet sking or Wind surfing or boating etc., but nothing is right there as indicated
There are not miles of Beaches as indicated on the web site. There is about a mile and then it ends.
The restaurants in the area are not great very greasy and not of the best quality. The Japanese restaurant across the main highway was inedible and most of the 25 of us left our meals
I do feel that when the current management finishes the renovations , the training etc. it will be a Boutique type hotel. Under its current conditions I would not recommend it
Ask if the renovations are complete and get it in writing

Sharon Toronto Canada

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank zeesle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing,West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We travelled from the UK to Fiji in August 2007 and particularly picked the Pearl South Pacific as both the diving and hotel looked excellent.We chose to go in Fiji's winter,which meant we experienced some tropical downpours,none of which lasted long and were more like a warm shower.
I chose to dive with Aqua-Trek Beqa as i had emailed a number of times,received speedy and good information and I had really reviewed their website.The diving was amazing,Brandon and the team at Aqua Trek were the best i have ever dived with,friendly,awe inspiring and made the experience more than just diving,their knowledge of sharks and the area is exceptional and everyone made me feel part of something incredibly special.The highlight is the Shark dive where you can see up to 8 species of shark on 1 dive,Bull Sharks included and the possibility a Tiger shark may just turn up(she did on my last dive).Aqua Trek at Beqa was a finalist in the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards this year,recognising and highlighting their excellent work in Conservation in the area.A small levy from the shark dive goes to the village responsible for protection of the reef,so you can give something back.
The Hotel was good,the people were absolutely fantastic,from Ana on reception to Amelia,Cassandra and the team in the restaurants,to Tony and Coely in the bars,and Maria on activities as well as the rest of the team,we could not have wanted for a more friendly environment in which to stay.
The hotel sits on a palm fringed beach,which stretches for miles overlooking Beqa lagoon and Beqa Island,the hotel grounds are beautiful and very well kept,with lush green lawns and vegetation.
The rooms were clean and tidy,with simple decor and the housekeeping team regularly checked to make sure everything was ok.
Activities in the hotel consisted of a variety of things on a daily basis,from football,volleyball, snorkelling to fish feeding,kayaking up the river adjacent to the hotel,boat trips,jet skis,fishing,even frog and crab racing of an evening.If you want to do it,then just make sure you let the team know and they will organise it.You could even get a relaxing massage or workout in the gym.The swimming pool was clean and suitable for all.The Pearl is currently undergoing development to improve on its exisiting facilities in all areas.
Also in the grounds Aqua-Trek Dive Centre and Rivers Fiji are based for adventure tours and adrenalin packed diving.
The food was excellent,a variety of dishes with very generous portions(at reasonable prices),including 'fiji size',which was enough to feed everyone! We found the service was fast and efficient.BBQ on a Sunday afternoon was delicious(choices of steak,chicken and seafood),accompanied by good music.
The Pearl is in range of some great experiences(book through the Coral Sun Desk in the Hotel) and we chose to visit Suva(Fiji's capital),which had lots of shopping opportunities,plus a visit to the museum and government buildings as well as the handicraft centre where you could pick up carved souvenirs.
We also visited the Arts Village(which houses the cultural centre ,shops and restaurants),just 10 mins walk from the Pearl,where we saw Fire Walking,did the Boat and Temple tour,which we found both informative and enjoyable.
We also did the Namuamua river tour,which took us up the Navua river(19km inland by boat) past beautiful and refreshing waterfalls to a Fijian village,where we spent time with the people, enjoyed lunch,dancing and music,learnt about the history of the village and Fiji and even played rugby with the children.A truly fantastic day.
Nadi airport is 2.5 hrs away,so we organised private car transfer to and from the resort and again the service was excellent.
Overall a great hotel,fantastic diving and a choice;kick off your shoes and relax or enjoy an adrenalin filled adventure with the most warm and friendly people you would wish to meet..

  • Liked — Oceanview room gave great sea views,Fantastic People.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary-sharkdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The experience with this hotel is very different and it will depend on what you will be using it for, See point 3 "Activities".

ok. lets talk about the look and feel of the hotel, F$129 (got a special local rate) normally it is about F$155 for garden view.

(1) Look and Feel

first of all, i chose this hotel because of it ultra-stylish website which made it look very new and modern. I was disappointed when i got here as everything was a lot smaller and older like the pool for instance is smaller than what i had expected. The rooms were older than expected as well. but the design of it was very modern and they do still have clean rooms. The beach is not a white sand beach and the waters are not very clear. so do not expect turqoise blue waters on white sand. the waters are only very very clear near Beqa Island where all the snorkelling and dive sites are. oh their so called Free internet, didnt work the whole time i was here and every time i asked, they were fixing it.

(2) Food

my advice is dont stay here for more than 3-5 days, the menu doesnt change and you may get sick of eating the same thing over and over again.

the website which states that they had 3 restaurants and 4 bars is a lie. there is really only 2 restaurants and 2 bars (one of which is closed on sun and mon) serving only ok food which looks but does not taste nice.

i met a family from melbourne had full of compliants in this aspect. They were here for 10 days holidays and had apparently booked a suite but it turned out to be just an ordinary room. They were extremely unhappy for many other reasons (not enough kids, no activities, nothing to do, bad service).

Breakfast is strictly continental very basic, dont expect much. sometimes they have pancakes but then they strangely dont serve it with maple syrup or honey and when you ask, they go we dont have it. one of the worst breakfasts i had in all the hotels i stayed in Fiji.

The pasta i had was horrible and though grilled fish and chicken were ok options. Their servings of fish and chips is rather small, two small pieces and some fries as a side. i had expected more as i got a lot more out of my fish and chips on the Yasawa Islands in the Octopus Resort even though it was on a remote island.

(3) Activities

Unless you are a planning to do dives with Aqua Trek (a very good dive outfit) with access to world class diving sites (i dived at the "Pearl Rock" and it was awesome soft coral diving. i didnt have the guts to do the shark dive with tiger and bull sharks. they have a dive school there though i thought the dive resort at Vila Ombak Hotel, Lombok ran their dive school more professionally with better instruction than Aqua Trek, did half the course there and half at Aqua Trek.
OR
you want to go river rafting with Rivers Fiji, both of which operates in the Pearl (though a distance away). i dont recommend staying here. No comments as i didnt try this. though i know it is a fim location for "Anaconda" with Angelina Jolie.

The staff here dont know much about any activites (i seem to know more than them) and they have an activity board which looks totally the same for every day of the week. So dont depend on the hotel for entertainment or activities, you really got to plan and decide and BOOK what you want to do ie dive or river rafting. there is no hobbie cat sailing, no jet skis, no nothing except fish feeding and like basket weaving. dont even think about a kids club. My driver was an ex-staff of the Pearl working at the activities centre and he used to be in charge of the picnic lunch to the islands organised by the hotel. there is no such thing now. perhaps to save on cost? i heard that the hotel is not doing well. only average of 25% occupancy so they are cost cutting. thats how my driver got retrenched.

The other thing you can do, which i know some people do, is charter a fishing boat for F$450 a day. The people i met in the hotel caught a 40 pounds yellow fin tuna, barracuda and walu fish. all of which was cleaned and cooked for dinner that same day. I was kindly invited to feast with them. The fish was really fresh and yummy. Though i wished they hadnt thrown the tuna belly away which is a delicacy in Japan called "Otoro" sashimi. oh and they had served wasabi which didnt taste at all like wasabi.

The other activity which i really wanted to do but didnt get a chance to due to the lack of participants is the snorkelling trip to the Yanuca Islands (just beside Beqa Island) with Dive Connections tour company where they will bring you to a small island with white sandy beaches and good snorkelling. a pity that i didnt get to do that.

there is a golf course which i hear from my uncle is the best in Fiji. but i dont play so no comments there.

the massage was not too bad as the girls are being trained by 2 thai trainers which they flew in from thailand. but having said that, i definately had better. the spa was on renovation so we had the message in room 110.


(4) Service
Very slow. do not expect to be served. i had to run up to them most of the time asking for menus, ordering and getting the bill. they take like 30 min to bring you a glass of ice water. oh they refused to serve us tequila shots just because the bar was "closing".

In conclusion, i think you should only consider this as an option if you want to dive with Aqua Trek or Rivers Fiji. if you are depending on the hotel for activities. DONT COME. Its like coming to a empty shell without a heart.

I hope this advice is useful to all and i didnt mean to be so critical but i just got to report the truth and what i and the other people i met thought of the resort.

oh i hear of a newer better resort beside the pearl called "Uprising Resort". Maybe that is a better option. Not sure as i have not been there myself.

  • Liked — Access to the dive shop Aqua Trek and my wonderful dive at Beqa Island
  • Disliked — the service and the horrible unhelpful activities desk
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lionian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Stayed several times at Pearl when it was formerly Centra Pacific Harbour, it was then family oriented with horse rides, huge turtles, free tennis, boat rides up the canal, glass bottom boat, a carver who would take bookings, etc, etc. It is now quiet and dead, totally lacking in atmosphere. The new owners I think have missed the point, peple will not travel to Pearl when Denerau is so handy, and their children can be taken off their hands as in the Warwick, Fijian, etc. All I saw were bored people by the pool, and they told me they were bored, could not even get enough people to gether for a game of volleyball. Thank goodness my 18 year old daughter was not with us, she likes activities as she experienced formerly there and at the Warwick. Also it is Fiji NOT JAPAN, the decore is out of place the main restaurant bland, not as before. Where are the beautiful carvings the Somerset Maughan type cane furniture ( now looks like a New York lobbywith ugly furniture,) the wonderful lights and shades??
It is now very modern but sterile and has lost its personality. It was a great place for a FORCED rest however and we caught the bus to Suva and took several walks to the cultural centre where we could mix with locals for a meal. The gardens are world class and the beach, probably the best we have experienced in our world travels; the staff exceptional, mean on the soap though, however we bought more from the shops down the road. Think we may return in perhaps a years time to see if any changes have been made and more activity is present. Kind Regards, Peter Virtue. petervirtue@hotmail.com

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

This is a great hotel. Staff are extremely helpful, grounds are cool, lots to do in the area and the prices are hard to beat for the quality of food and drink selection (although I will admit I'm saying that from a very American point of view).

However... when we booked here we thought we were going to spend a week lounging by the pool. After the first day of rain the staff (who really were some of the best we found in Fiji) informed us that it rains like hell here! Our 5 days were spent sitting on our balcony playing cards as it rained the whole time. The locals all admitted that this area of Fiji is famous for the constant rain. If you are looking for sun, head out to the outer islands for the sun!

Despite the rain, Rivers Fiji was one of the best travel expreiences I've ever exprienced. Despite the rain, I always recommend a quick stop at the Pacific for those people interested in visiting Fiji. It is extremely convenient having the Rivers Fiji office located on the Pacific's grounds and the river trip is really a once in a life-time experience.

In summary... my recommendation is that you stay there long enough to go on the river tour, but then head out to one of the outer-islands for some relaxation in the sun. Everyone here seems to claim that the resort enjoys the sun, but based on my stay, and the word of the locals, this area of the island spends most of the year under cloud cover and rain... not the ideal tropical destination you travle to visit!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
21.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
630 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,023 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
184 reviews
24.8 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Resort

Property: The Pearl Resort
Address: Queens Road, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of Fiji's longest sandy beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, The Pearl Resort is an idyllic escape in the heart of Fiji's adventure capital of Pacific Harbour. The chic and stylish Fiji accommodation will set the perfect mood for your perfect holiday with Ocean, Marina or Garden View rooms and Penthouse Suites available to choose from while Internationally acclaimed chefs create diverse menus that reflect both local and international cuisine in no fewer than six on-site restaurants including the signature fine dining restaurant, Seduce. Synonymous with romance, The Pearl Resort is the perfect location to host a Fiji wedding and provides couples with some of the best wedding packages in Fiji. These include a variety of venue options such as the elegant beachfront chapel and a dedicated wedding coordinator to help ensure everything runs smoothly. Whether you're looking for an adrenaline charged adventure holiday or a luxurious vacation to relax, unwind and recharge, The Pearl Resort is the ultimate holiday destination for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing