We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Day Fishing 10/10/2013”

Freedive Fiji Charters - Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dare to take the plunge? Think your Fijian experience couldn’t get any better? Think again! Charter today with the #1 adventure that everyone is talking about. Get stretched and join Freedive Fiji for the adventure of a lifetime. Whether you chose Spearfishing, Gamefishing, Island Excursion, Village Excursion, Snorkeling, or Sunset Cruise, you can rest assure our crew will lead you on a H₂0 experience you won’t forget! Freedive Fiji has come together combining the oldest tradition in the country with techniques and technology of modern day fishing, opening the doors to a haven of unspoiled territory right at our doorstep. Freedive Fiji Charters is headquartered in Pacific Harbour, the "adventure capital of Fiji". In addition to providing our guests with the very highest standards of service, we aim to make our charter trips educational, informative and fun. We are dedicated to delivering the highest value to our customers while striving to meet and exceed all expectations on every Freedive Fiji charter. Our guides have over 15 years experience so our customers can relax knowing that all their needs will be exceeded, the charter will run smoothly, and that the instruction from the training arm of Freedive Fiji is second to none. Freedive Fiji Private charters can be fully tailored to suit your needs taking into account desired species, locations, trip duration and dates and can include any of the following: Spearfishing, Sportfishing, Gamefishing, Surfing, Island hopping, Bucks Parties, Wedding Celebrations, & Island Transfers. Custom charters are offered daily, please contact us for details and availability.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Half Day Fishing 10/10/2013”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked a half day deep fishing trip there were six of us on board. Fishing, like no other trip ever I fell asleep and only got to touch a rod when there was a fish on one. I got to pull in a mackerel one of two caught. A very large Spanish mackerel was caught. At the end of the day the large fish was filleted on one side and we got a couple of pieces each. The other fish were not even offered to us. I could sense the reluctance of the person filleting the fish to part with too much. I asked one of the crew what was happening with the other half and was told it would be used the next day to feed people on a day trip. The crew were well aware that my husband intended to give any fish we caught to the village next to our resort. Feeling upset yes angry I didn’t pay to fish for someone else’s lunch On a positive note the crew were friendly and helpful

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    14
    2
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Once in a Lifetime fishing experience”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

After reading reviews written by other tripadvisor users I booked a full day fishing charter for my husband and daughter. They were not disappointed. My daughter caught a dolphin fish, and my husband a 220lb+ blue marlin. It took him and the two other men on the charter 1.5hra to bring it in. Although the freedive crew tried to revive it, the marlin died, and was then donated to the local village.

My husband would have been happy catching fish the size of the bait being used. He spoke highly of the crew stating they did not worry about fuel although there were only four people on the charter. The crew did as much as they could to ensure a catch, trying various areas and tackle. We were told it was the first Blue Marlin for the season. A great day for everyone involved. Thanks to everyone - a one in a lifetime experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladybird1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Game fishing private charter 8pax”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

One of the highlights of our trip!
Highly recommend this trip. Tasty homemade lunch and snacks provided. We were allowed to take our fish home with us also which was a bonus. Caught plenty of Mahi Mahi which was awesome.
The crew were fantastic which made our day even better!

Helpful?
Thank Swankiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ripped off and frustrated.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We saved for over twelve months for our trip to Fiji, booked in to a 5 star resort and organised our first ever fishing charter through the tourist activities office at the resort. We were assured "110% you will catch a fish with Freedive, they are the best in Fiji". How wrong was this advice! We had to hire transport at an additional cost of $160 and leave the Warwick Resort by 6.45 am to travel to the Pearl Resort at Pacific Harbour (which meant we missed out on having our prepaid breakfast, served between 7-10). Upon arrival we were greeted and lead to the boat where everything seemed to be in order. Once we were aboard and heading out to sea the Captain told us that we would be "spotting birds" to guide us to where the fish would be. However before we even saw any birds one of the engines seized. After unsuccessfully trying to repair the engine the Captain made the decision to cast the lines and troll around the reef line back into the dock of the Pearl Resort and from this point on it was clear that it would be a small miracle if we caught anything. As we neared the starting point the Captain stated "if we get skunt you guys are welcome to come back tomorrow afternoon to go snorkelling and have a picnic". This was the last thing we wanted, all we wanted was to go fishing and feel that we got our moneys worth. When the engine seized the Captain should have been up front and said we could not go where he planned and offered to reschedule or even refund (fully or partially), rather than treat us like mugs who had no idea what was going on. During the boat ride the Fijian deck hand was more concerned with giving his contact name, number and face book details to my daughter to try and hook up with her rather than ensuring we were getting our Fijian fishing experience! Extremely disappointed with Freedive Fiji Charters, don't let the name fool you there's nothing 'Free' about it. The most expensive boat ride and chicken sandwich I have ever encountered.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobar, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Engine failure costly "boat ride" !!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

As a group of 7 we were excited at the thought of catching descent fish, even though we was led to believe we where going "deep sea fishing" and not game fishing. After being told we would be fishing in 200 m waters we commenced our search for birds. After a short distance ,pass the reefs and in far shallower waters one of the boat motors "blew up" and our 'fishing' adventure drastically changed to trolling along reefs with the remaining motor, for a couple of hours!, with no birds in sight !, let alone fish!!!
Consequently we caught no fish, and wasted a half day being frustrated and disappointed with the captains decision to continue the charter. In my opinion it should have been abandoned and possibly rescheduled when the boat was FULLY functional. Originally we where going to fish for a full day SO glad we didn't !!!!!!!!
Not only did we not even look like catching fish, we where returned to the jetty 40minutes early where we had to wait for a driver to collect us for an extra $160FJD.
During our "boat ride" the captains only concern was speaking on his phone to discuss insurance for his motor and repairs, not our comfort or alternative arrangements to fish on another charter.
We where """offered"""" a snorkelling trip 'on them' but having to pay extra for transport and having snorkelling facilities at our resort, why risk further disappointment! And expenditure .
We complained to the booking desk who followed up on our behalf but the company had our money and didn't care to reschedule a trip or refund.
I understand engine failure was unforeseen, however, in our opinion the trip should have been abound ended , reschedule or half / full refund given. And it was the captains role to make that decision which he chose to ignore.
My advise for fellow travellers is to look around, check for engine failure plans/refunds and support the local people as its their land / seas not big money grabbing companies .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Treen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedivefiji, Owner at Freedive Fiji Charters - Day Trips, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are truly sorry you are upset about your experience with our company and your gamefishing charter. Unfortunately in this type of business we have several things out of our control, and sometimes need to adjust based on what is handed to us, i.e. weather, sea conditions, engines, fish biting in the sea, etc. When you went out on charter, at 7:30am, after running 8 miles, one of our new Yamaha 250HP engines did sieze, that is why we operate all of our boats with twin engines. You started trolling immediately, and fished from 8am - 11am and returned back to dock at scheduled time, not 40 minutes early. You had asked the captain if you get a full refund if you don't catch any fish, unfortunately, sometimes that happens, its fishing not catching but we can not offer a refund for not catching fish. The 4 hours is dock to dock not 4 hours when you get out to the fishing locations, and because you were upset about your experience, the Captain did offer you a snorkeling or island excursion for the whole family due to the fact we were already fully booked with other gamefishing charters for the rest of your time you were in Fiji. Given the conditions of the morning you left, the decision was made to run further than normal on a half day charter, and again, we try to optimize whatever conditions and situations are handed to us to make sure guests are fully satisfied with their experience, but unfortunately, fuel was burned, food was eaten, the charter did run, and we are sorry you did not catch fish as we always try our best but understand when one is disappointed when returning to dock without a catch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedive Fiji Charters - Day Trips also viewed

 
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
 

Been to Freedive Fiji Charters - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing